Mcist 1st Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 if you know the game rule, won't cost you too much. I sold my Altis at my original purchase price mean free use for last 3.5 years. Then change to Audi A4 because it is CAT B car and reasonable price (i am foresee Cat B will be relatively more expensive than CAT A). Now, my paper value is much higher (COE at 75k). If Audi A4 dropped to around 120k in 2-3 years time, i can change easily without top up any cash and my new 5 year instalment amount could be lower as well..... it happen before that those ppl bought car at very high COE then change their car less than 5 yrs without paying any extra cash (just continue pay same or lower amount of instalment) during the time COE was dropped significantly. Always remember, used car also appreciated if new car price is high. But it doesnt benefit too much if you current ride more than 5 years. That why, i always looking for opportunity to change car every 3-5 years if got any good lobang!! Wah... chiem arrh I dunno how to calculate like that arrh... I simple one... buy my car that time take loan 70%. When got $$$ make full payment save the interest & stop paying installment. Maybe thats the reason i still haven change car haha... Anyway no hurry la... spend $$$ things no need so quick hand Earn $$$ stuff then quicky must go... haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcist 1st Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 My 6 year old Stream... still can get $55k in SGcarmart. Loan... left a few k only. So, can cash $50k! So, A4 will be $110k only. But 50% loan max. So, still need to top up $30k cash. Then $80k loan over 5 years @1.5%. Monthly $1,433...... . . . . my back side not ichi anymore..... my case almost like yours lor... I think my problem is i dun earn 10k per month... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jckok888 1st Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 (edited) My 6 year old Stream... still can get $55k in SGcarmart. Loan... left a few k only. So, can cash $50k! So, A4 will be $110k only. But 50% loan max. So, still need to top up $30k cash. Then $80k loan over 5 years @1.5%. Monthly $1,433...... . . . . my back side not ichi anymore..... How much you bought the stream? ur OMV should be around 20k? COE around 15k? Edited May 9, 2014 by Jckok888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 How much you bought the stream? ur OMV should be around 20k? COE around 15k? $72k. Bingo for both! $17k for 6 years! actually.. should let go now and buy next year when the COE is lower.... $55k-10k(parf) =$45k for the next 4 years. $11k per year! Sell, sell, sell.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jckok888 1st Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 (edited) $72k. Bingo for both! $17k for 6 years! actually.. should let go now and buy next year when the COE is lower.... $55k-10k(parf) =$45k for the next 4 years. $11k per year! Sell, sell, sell.... Let assume future new stream price = 20k x 2.27 + 30k (COE, although i dont believe will drop so much) + 10k dealer profit = 85k car price. Deducted PARF rebate 10k so net car price paid is 75k. Compare to above A4 u have to pay 110k - PARF rebate 14k, so net paid is 96k. The difference is 21k for 10 yrs, so 1 mth is $175 or 2.1k per year extra depreciation, do you think worth to drive A4? Ur concerns is need to pay DP 30k and high instalment due to max 5 yrs loan. It is related to personal financial ability only you know whether can afford or not. (in fact you only need to pay 10k cash for DP, but higher instalment per month) Edited May 9, 2014 by Jckok888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 I apologize if my words bruised anyone. Pai seh pai seh. A4 is a good and nice looking car, my rich neighbor also driving one. Every time I see him drive pass me with his day running LED flashing, I will feel so envy. Please don't ask me to buy bcos I can't afford a $160K car. act his logic is like this - the 3 yrs driving altis he incur the 7.2k depn. then now, he got 30k extra back fr the dealer so in essence, to him this is like his A4 is 165-30k = 133k to him. so jus simple calc, his depn is agar agar 12k depn so its like jus top up 4k more depn for cat b conti car. vs in a normal situation, where pple usu lose money for selling car, then the new car is act much higher than the price they bot for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 (edited) walao ... so many formula so may calculation A4 $159K good buy or not? can hoot now or wait for coe $20k? muahahahaha ... if buy liao just drive la ... Edited May 9, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 TS mixed up A3 vs A4, is it? A3 = 1.4L turbo, 122bhp, Cat A A4 = 1.8L turbo, 170bhp, Cat B > skeptical that A4 drop to $160k screen grab from audi.com.sg The VW gearbox got big problem is which engine/ gear box model? Other than Scirocco using that engine which car also using this trouble engine? Passat not affected? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 walao ... so many formula so may calculation A4 $159K good buy or not? can hoot now or wait for coe $20k? muahahahaha ... if buy liao just drive la ... 156k now....its a fair price la....i usu buy car i calc fr dealer margin... 32*2.5 + 65K coe - 10K CEVS = machine cost 135K. roughly jus 20k margin...fair la... so tom 9am leng kee??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 He is busy laughing "muayhahaha" at property thread. No time for car talk. Oooi oooi oooi, A4 or Audi for that matter is not my thing lah....come in here talk so much for what. One or two post can liao lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 The VW gearbox got big problem is which engine/ gear box model? Other than Scirocco using that engine which car also using this trouble engine? Passat not affected? basically all 1.4tsi potential - touran, golf, jetta, passat. n of cos audi a3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 basically all 1.4tsi potential - touran, golf, jetta, passat. n of cos audi a3. From wat u say.. Too bad jetta and the new A3 also got problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged May 9, 2014 Share May 9, 2014 The Audi A4 list price is 200k, so you can loan upto 100k (50%), the balance (around 60k) will be paid by cash & balance value of trade in car. Only problem is loan upto 5 yrs.... Like my case, i traded my 3.5yrs old car (loan 90% for 8 yrs) at my original purchase price and get back cash around 30k++, so only top up another 30k cash for my new A4. Oh I think I missed out the number. So TS you actually top up an additional $30k for d/p, and will be paying around $2.2k instalment per month for 5 year, for your new A4. Very rich!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach23 2nd Gear May 10, 2014 Share May 10, 2014 basically all 1.4tsi potential - touran, golf, jetta, passat. n of cos audi a3. Understand from sales rep. models below 2L use 7 speed DSG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jckok888 1st Gear May 10, 2014 Share May 10, 2014 Oh I think I missed out the number. So TS you actually top up an additional $30k for d/p, and will be paying around $2.2k instalment per month for 5 year, for your new A4. Very rich!!!! My previous instalment was 800++ and Audi is 2k, so extra 1.2k for next 5 years. However, my Audi car paper value + body at least 75+ after 5 yrs, actually extra 1.2k x 60 mths will be recovered later. The DP 30k just paid to use A4 for 5 year is worth! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged May 10, 2014 Share May 10, 2014 My previous instalment was 800++ and Audi is 2k, so extra 1.2k for next 5 years. However, my Audi car paper value + body at least 75+ after 5 yrs, actually extra 1.2k x 60 mths will be recovered later. The DP 30k just paid to use A4 for 5 year is worth! But if you just drive your altis for another 5 years, you could have save $30k plus 5 year of the extra $1.2k installment. If you buy your A4 then, according to your reasoning, you can get a new A4 at $160 - $90k = $70k. So cheap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bimbocar Neutral Newbie May 10, 2014 Share May 10, 2014 From wat u say.. Too bad jetta and the new A3 also got problem. Not all... its all heng shui wan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerichol 2nd Gear May 11, 2014 Share May 11, 2014 Aiyo...so many considerations/calculations...dun buy car la! Anyway, we all "renting" car from garment for 10 years nia .... any way you calculate also lugi one la. At present COE value, got drive no drive one year lose at least 7K to 8K...LL. Like some here say....one word "SONG" can liao la. Can afford the "song" go ahead, cannot stand one corner suck thumb and dun buy new car or take public transport. Sigh......COE is really one sick and awesome money making system!! Transparent meh ... only the one who turn on the "switch" twice a month knows ba.....must touch his heart. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...