Gs_1984 1st Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Since u can't differentiate Maser & BMW 5, how valuable is your comments? Do you know the number of cars sold by both factory worldwide? That has an influence on cost of parts hor. Diff of 1k is an understatements. Heng, my HDB is more ex than my car. If you are asking me can I differentiate them physically, obviously I can. But if you are asking me if there is any difference in the amount of cash you need to put upfront, I would say there isn't any much difference. Additional 1k/mth will be be more than enough unless you include part changes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs_1984 1st Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 If a 5-year old Maser costs same price as a new BMW.......... The per year depreciation is different. One over 5 years and another over 10 years. Again, I am just saying the money you need to put upfront as that is the only thing you need when buying the car. You will only need to worry on depreciation if you are selling you car. If you cannot take that expense, you can always sell it midterm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 I don't play games liao.. No life de, me.. Which cars would those be? If I'm looking at a convertible MR, the cheapest I know is the MR-S.. 10K depre a year, 4K ins (for me), 1K road tax, 1K parking, 2K maintenance.. 18K liao.. Not including fuel and ERP and office parking.. Maintenance numbers I give an estimated. @davidtch used to own one, can tell if it's correct? Same for me! Haha, McD used to be a real treat when I was younger.. Always envious of those who during P / lower Sec school can ownself go and eat McD daily.. Haha.. btw some of the GTR owners looking to sell their rides. believe should be '08 to '09 ... if you're looking to buy let me know, put you in touch with them! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aishin 2nd Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 (edited) i got a friend who married a malaysian gal few years back. this malaysian gal was divorcee and has 2 kids. as she was from humble background, kids hardly have any life indulgence. so he related to me that when he brought them to eat at macdonalds, its like dream meal for them. similarly, you see those indian or bangalah workers eating huge packets of plain rice with curry sauce daily, u wonder, perhaps we have taken alot of things for granted in life. err... u mean nowadays P1 registration criteria also look at cars the family use? Maybe atas car can get in via phase 1 triple A? Edited May 4, 2014 by Aishin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs_1984 1st Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 its a GTR, dun whack the bugger, buy for F? [laugh] i wont know before i dont own one yet. maybe can let you know in the future but based on estimates, insurance - 10k, roadtax - 6k, servicing 15k, you should be looking as 30k maintenance a year? I am really not very sure either since I haven't own one yet. I think the figures you gave are overly inflated or maybe you are looking at the servicing for maserati granturismo cambiocorsa which requires a clutch change now and then. But based on what I know, the breakdown is as follows. Model: maserati ghibli s Insurance - 4k Servicing -around 2k per 20000km Road tax - under 3k These figures should be pretty recent since I just got a new ride a few months back. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 btw some of the GTR owners looking to sell their rides. believe should be '08 to '09 ... if you're looking to buy let me know, put you in touch with them! Haha, even if I could handle the depre, I couldn't handle the insurance.. =X Not yet ba, GTR is a dream, but will remain a dream for a few more years or so.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Haha, even if I could handle the depre, I couldn't handle the insurance.. =X Not yet ba, GTR is a dream, but will remain a dream for a few more years or so.. couple of the bros paying about $2k now. i got mine down to $3k now ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Maybe atas car can get in via phase 1 triple A? first, please define atas car [laugh] couple of the bros paying about $2k now. i got mine down to $3k now ... wah... 2k insurance for GTR? that is farking cheap! sure boh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 what is the excess for GTR? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 I am really not very sure either since I haven't own one yet. I think the figures you gave are overly inflated or maybe you are looking at the servicing for maserati granturismo cambiocorsa which requires a clutch change now and then. But based on what I know, the breakdown is as follows. Model: maserati ghibli s Insurance - 4k Servicing -around 2k per 20000km Road tax - under 3k These figures should be pretty recent since I just got a new ride a few months back. so which is which? anyway, congratz on your new ride! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aishin 2nd Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 first, please define atas car [laugh] wah... 2k insurance for GTR? that is farking cheap! sure boh? Per earlier post, apparently that's a new merc... B class minimally I presume for an atas family oriented drive to the atas school in the atas neighbourhood. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 first, please define atas car [laugh] wah... 2k insurance for GTR? that is farking cheap! sure boh? ya couple of the bros paying around that amount. mine is low 3k. forgot the exact number. i know a gallardo owner paying about $2k ish as well ... but i think thats probably because he owns multiple cars and probably can only drive one at a time haha ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 I think the Elise SC has enough power.. 4+ secs to 100.. Maybe can get the MR-S and lup a small turbo inside? Haha.. LTA inspection.. [knife] Oh yes, i was just referring to the base Elise... the SC, the Exige etc are [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 I can't remember.....!! You said it was at your place. Where is this "your place" leh ? my place includes places i hang around often.... too many to mentione lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 If you are asking me can I differentiate them physically, obviously I can. But if you are asking me if there is any difference in the amount of cash you need to put upfront, I would say there isn't any much difference. Additional 1k/mth will be be more than enough unless you include part changes. If maintenance cost does not include part changes, what do u maintain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 (edited) i got a friend who married a malaysian gal few years back. this malaysian gal was divorcee and has 2 kids. as she was from humble background, kids hardly have any life indulgence. so he related to me that when he brought them to eat at macdonalds, its like dream meal for them. similarly, you see those indian or bangalah workers eating huge packets of plain rice with curry sauce daily, u wonder, perhaps we have taken alot of things for granted in life. err... u mean nowadays P1 registration criteria also look at cars the family use? Bought the car to commence with start of P1 daily commute, maybe a small C class more comfort for the 20 to 30mins journey to Bukit Timah as compare to a old Hyundai Matrix. What has a atas car got to do with P1 registration criteria? In 2 yrs time, is my daughter turn to start P1, dunno can she made it to atas school. I was having thoughts of getting a 8/9 yrs old boxter/cayman and renew COE (hopefully PQP soften to $50k or less). Have to "act" atas in front of the other Richies' parents. I think doesn't make sense renew my 9.5ys old E60 which is not atas nowadays. But my E60 is a cheap ride only, loss $40k depreciation driving it for 5years, $8k per year depreciation driving a BMW. Edited May 4, 2014 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Bought the car to commence with start of P1 daily commute, maybe a small C class more comfort for the 20 to 30mins journey to Bukit Timah as compare to a old Hyundai Matrix. What has a atas car got to do with P1 registration criteria? this is wat you wrote "2/3 years back, my bro was driving a Hyundai Matrix and stay in a FH terrace bought in 2010. After much nagging from wife, finally bought a new merc, their reason is "need to send daughter to atas school" in Bukit Timah for P1, whereby some parents sent their kids in Porsche/Ferrari/ new 7series" so question is, what car = what school? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 couple of the bros paying about $2k now. i got mine down to $3k now ... So low! Can ask your excess / NCD / etc? I checked A***a online, quote is 10K. I see ... Oh yes, i was just referring to the base Elise... the SC, the Exige etc are [thumbsup] Ya, true.. But give me base Elise also happy already.. So light! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...