News for Racial Discrimination

Vinyl

Lets take the word discrimination away, & instead use profiling for a moment. More on that later.

Do you have the right to pick who your customers/tenant is & advertise as such? Yes, you can, the Singapore law doesn't stop you

Is it a form of discrimination? Short answer is yes, long answer is its not so clear.

but discrimination could be due to profiling, which is a 'justify' form of discrimination' to reduce risk, which is in some form legal.

Typical example of profiling is paying higher insurance for car if you are younger, or male, for instance.

Back to the insurance, the insurance can justice why certain group have to pay more by showing statistic that certain group of people involved in more accidents.

If you are in these group, then you have but to blame members your fellow group for the profiling.

Now back to housing, if there is proof enough that certain group of people shown much than norm to not take care of the housing, then in my opinion, you cannot blame people from 'discriminating' them. Then its the case of profiling.

(If there is no real proof of course then its pure discrimination. )

Assuming the profiling is justify. Then what what should be done will be the real question. We may come to a point when we are picky, & there isn't enough people to rent to.

The long term solution (which means to say it will take time) , is proper rules & proper enforcement. Its not easy, but I think this is the way forward.

In short u write so much and end with no answer. :D

I will put discrimination in s simple to understand form.

You have a preference for red, you hate yellow. You have a shop selling clothes.

You out out a sign board saying, anyone wearing yellow cloths are not welcome to the shop.

That's discrimination against people wearing yellow. Because, a person wearing yellow have no real impact on you or the shop.

However, if you have a medical condition, that you will faint when you see yellow.

Then, no, it is not discrimination, as you have a good, valid reason why people wearing yellow clothes cannot entered your shop.

Just to put it in simple form.

Are you talking about Thailand RED and Yellow Civilian Armies [confused][dizzy]

It's my house so I decide. I don't give a shit what others say. Racial discrimination my ass. This is the landlord's personal preference.

'No Indians No PRCs': Singapore's rental discrimination problem

Source: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-26832115

I believe all countries have this problem of racial discrimination. Why would you not rent out your apartment to Indian or PRCs?

Is it difference in culture, hygiene, unknown fear that they would have a 500-man Indian party in the house (no offence, typical stereotype), fear of missing dogs that end up in a pot (again no offence, typical stereotype) or are there other reasons for such discrimination?

You and your nonsense again.

It's my house, I decide. Period.

Stop your rubbish preaching.

Not right.

Discrimination is always wrong -

To understand, you need to spend some time looking at US history, Jim Crow laws and denial of public access.

You are free to set terms and conditions to how the property is treated, but in making decisions on who to rent to you should be colour blind - any thing less is discrimination.

When you do it, we are all losers.

And the very ironic thing is - the same people that treat others this way, will scream the loudest about "favouritism" towards immigrants from the government, or how "they" hire their "own people" - not realising the irony (or should that be stupidity?) in what they are saying.

Are you talking about Thailand RED and Yellow Civilian Armies [confused][dizzy]

Haha. Pure coincidence. I am just using an example that wouldn't offend any group.

Let me tells you my honest pick, Malaysia Bumibutra System is 100% Pure Racist Discrimination. I can never agree and respect with those who fortunately enjoying these bad and ugly governance :angry: [shakehead]

Edited by Fongmy

Bbc should put its own house in order 1st... now top gears clarkson given last warning over racists remarks.... at the end of the day. Singaporeans wish....my property den my wish who i want to rent it out to

Not right.

Discrimination is always wrong

Choosing tenant is not not wrong. It's not discrimination, it's making a distinction.

I go kopitiam, that day don't feel like eating Indian food, or Malay food, or Chinese food, wrong also meh? My money, my choice. My property, my choice.

Many have come to JUSTIFY the racism (mostly "cultural" reasons).

It's not racism lah, it's nationalism.

Why is it a big deal?

Imagine a country where the best schools were reserved for a particular race - with more resources and better teachers, what would that create?

Imagine a country where houses closer to the city centre (i.e financial centre) were reserved for a certain race, and only those a longer commute away were given to a minority - what would that do to the opportunities of the minority?

Imagine a country where ladies aren't allowed to drive - would that be right?

Imagine a country where what you could study at university was determined by your sex - would that be right?

Imagine a country where different races got different amounts of education subsidy / resources - what's that going to create?

It's very easy to say "dun like, dun rent" - but once you start to allow discrimination of this sort, it can create divisions, barriers and problems in society. Is that right?

Can you imagine, what would happen if all the MINORITY were pushed into one small area - what would that area become? This is why discrimination is wrong

Your examples are wrong. What you're quoting is national policy, this thread is about PRIVATE landlord choosing tenants.

I am still trying my best to find a dirty Japanese or Korean young lady

and I can honestly tell you I have been very very disappointed so far.

But rest assured I will not stop until I succeed. Anyone wanting help me

will be most welcome. This way we can work out our personal bias and prejudices

and at the same time broaden our minds.

Discrimination is wrong, lets stamp it out.

Bro, want to up you but no power liao! Let me know how to help you IRL ok?

actually he a bit talk cock. Set standard for inspection and do regular check sound good. But If I am not wrong, we cannot anyhow enter the house once u rent to them.

Paging @sp4wn, I think he's in this industry, he should know whether can or not.

Anyway, those who say choosing tenants is a wrong thing, maybe you can rent me your cars. I'm in one of the highest risk profile for insurance, but rent me at the same rate you rent others, and cannot reject me. I confirm plus chop will whack your car gao gao.. If I cannot, I will jio my friends to help you whack it to the max. I also promise to eat, drink and spill everything everywhere. Make sure to let me rent it again next week or I complain of you being discriminating.. [bounce1] [bounce1] [bounce1]

I think it is okay to filter out tenants that you are not comfortable with but explicitly stating 'No Indians/PRCs' is a big no no.

It's like employment ads asking for foreigners only. Not acceptable.

Ok so do like those employment ads n state "Must b fluent in Malay".

Like that sure no PRC or India Indians can rent also. [sly]

BBC shud look at their own country before commenting on ours. Their racial discrimination is even worse dan ours. The pot shud stop calling the kettle black.

Even their name BBC is discrimination.

(Big Black C0ck).

i want to let whole unit to PRC too

but they are too enterpreneurship

a 4-room flat can turn into 18 rooms with double decker ... the anchor tenant can make more money than the flat owner [sly]

i also heard PRC is awesome ... they can even cook 3 dish + 1 soup in the room ... no need kitchen

if you let to a group of meimei ... when go collect rental ... not cash but barter trade, how?

sekali it's flat owner who need to pay cash ...

Never rent to these people will get you into trouble instead !

Choosing tenant is not not wrong. It's not discrimination, it's making a distinction.

I go kopitiam, that day don't feel like eating Indian food, or Malay food, or Chinese food, wrong also meh? My money, my choice. My property, my choice.

It's not racism lah, it's nationalism.

Your examples are wrong. What you're quoting is national policy, this thread is about PRIVATE landlord choosing tenants.

Bro, want to up you but no power liao! Let me know how to help you IRL ok?

Paging @sp4wn, I think he's in this industry, he should know whether can or not.

Anyway, those who say choosing tenants is a wrong thing, maybe you can rent me your cars. I'm in one of the highest risk profile for insurance, but rent me at the same rate you rent others, and cannot reject me. I confirm plus chop will whack your car gao gao.. If I cannot, I will jio my friends to help you whack it to the max. I also promise to eat, drink and spill everything everywhere. Make sure to let me rent it again next week or I complain of you being discriminating.. [bounce1] [bounce1] [bounce1]

(apologies in advance for the wall of text)

@Joseph22 is correct ... you can't just inspect somebody's house even if you are the owner. Most tenancies will (or should) include a clause that says the tenant can enjoy the premises "peaceably" without interference from the Landlord as long as the rent is paid as per the stipulations. Creating some sort of regiment where you "inspect" your property every month or so will just tell the market not to rent from you as you're overcontrolling. It is the tenant's prerogative if he wishes to live like a slob and damage things, but as long as he makes good on any damages by way of replacement or repair, the Landlord has zero recourse. (any judge will laugh you out of court if you say you want something back in original brand new, from place of origin, exactly the same etc etc as long as the tenant is willing to pony up to repair/replace)

I do not agree with an inspection style because you are literally telling the tenant they are kids/you dont trust them (and if that's the case, why get into the property rental business??) and you know better than them. it is more of an ego issue at that junction. normally when i am called down to premises for issues, i will visually inspect the place and see how the tenant is taking care of it. If there is really a major problem, i will highlight immediately. if its something they should be aware of but are not doing so, i normally phrase as a question like "hey, any idea why this has happened" and see if the explanation is logical. if i treat all my tenants like criminals I'll probably get fired...

As the Landlord of a private property, you have the right to choose all the terms and dictate them as so. that's why it is called a private property. I do not encourage discrimination because there have been tenants who have proven me wrong (and some who have proven me right ... which just goes to show there is no real "science" when choosing tenants .. it really boils down to luck). as long as you can justify your reasons (ie you have had 5 of the same tenant type and they have all damaged the property, then of course, you can say you have tried and tried, but there's no chemistry between you and such tenants)

Instead of inspections, my sincere advice if you are worried about the property, is to meet the tenant yourself. do not leave it to the agent to manage for you. once they collect comm, its highly likely that's the last you'll hear from them. build rapport with the tenant so that everything can be talked out in a peaceable manner.

sp4wn, can have a clause to check property once a month with prior communication with the tenant?

but if prior communication means tenant can make arrangement. spotcheck is the best liao ...

i'm worry that tenant sublet the unit/room unknowingly ... there are many tenant enterprise horror stories liao

isn't hdb has rule that the onus is on the flat owner to check the flat for any violation or irregularity?

worse case is let to prc woman and turn into a chicken house [sly]

let to prc man turn into a 18-room hdb flat ... both also enterprising

sp4wn, can have a clause to check property once a month with prior communication with the tenant?

but if prior communication means tenant can make arrangement. spotcheck is the best liao ...

i'm worry that tenant sublet the unit/room unknowingly ... there are many tenant enterprise horror stories liao

isn't hdb has rule that the onus is on the flat owner to check the flat for any violation or irregularity?

worse case is let to prc woman and turn into a chicken house [sly]

let to prc man turn into a 18-room hdb flat ... both also enterprising

can... but it needs to be communicated to the tenant in a concise and clear manner. they should understand what you are asking for. have them counter sign next to the clause or put a footnote below that clause that says "tenant abc has been explained the above mentioned clause and agrees to conform to it". however, because this goes against the norm of tenant agreements, if they want to be guai lan and say you are infringing upon their private space and not letting them enjoy the property in peace, there is a chance they can use legal means to strike it off since it's not exactly a fair or common clause (even though they have agreed to it ... SG law tends to frown upon such things from my experience...)

instead of a spotcheck clause, *maybe* you can rephrase it as a "meet the landlord" clause whereby you will meet once a month to go through any issues with the property. this may mean you may have to come out with a bit of extra $$$ if there's a genuine problem, but it also means you gain access to the property while trying to help the tenant. it's always best to seek legal advice about this since its just a suggestion though ;) (and since im not a qualified lawyer)

In New Zealand the standard is that there is a scheduled inspection every three months, some agents do six monthly.

Most private landlords that manage their own property don't inspect

(apologies in advance for the wall of text)

@Joseph22 is correct ... you can't just inspect somebody's house even if you are the owner. Most tenancies will (or should) include a clause that says the tenant can enjoy the premises "peaceably" without interference from the Landlord as long as the rent is paid as per the stipulations. Creating some sort of regiment where you "inspect" your property every month or so will just tell the market not to rent from you as you're overcontrolling. It is the tenant's prerogative if he wishes to live like a slob and damage things, but as long as he makes good on any damages by way of replacement or repair, the Landlord has zero recourse. (any judge will laugh you out of court if you say you want something back in original brand new, from place of origin, exactly the same etc etc as long as the tenant is willing to pony up to repair/replace)

I do not agree with an inspection style because you are literally telling the tenant they are kids/you dont trust them (and if that's the case, why get into the property rental business??) and you know better than them. it is more of an ego issue at that junction. normally when i am called down to premises for issues, i will visually inspect the place and see how the tenant is taking care of it. If there is really a major problem, i will highlight immediately. if its something they should be aware of but are not doing so, i normally phrase as a question like "hey, any idea why this has happened" and see if the explanation is logical. if i treat all my tenants like criminals I'll probably get fired...

As the Landlord of a private property, you have the right to choose all the terms and dictate them as so. that's why it is called a private property. I do not encourage discrimination because there have been tenants who have proven me wrong (and some who have proven me right ... which just goes to show there is no real "science" when choosing tenants .. it really boils down to luck). as long as you can justify your reasons (ie you have had 5 of the same tenant type and they have all damaged the property, then of course, you can say you have tried and tried, but there's no chemistry between you and such tenants)

Instead of inspections, my sincere advice if you are worried about the property, is to meet the tenant yourself. do not leave it to the agent to manage for you. once they collect comm, its highly likely that's the last you'll hear from them. build rapport with the tenant so that everything can be talked out in a peaceable manner.

In New Zealand the standard is that there is a scheduled inspection every three months, some agents do six monthly.

What happens when tenant failed the inspection?

right ... but we have to abide by the local law ;) we can't just say that because it's done in another country that we can simplu implement it here...

actually - REITS do inspections from time to time. it is part of their tenancy. but their tenancies are also extremely thick because they are publicly listed companies and have fiduciary duties to their shareholders first, and then their tenants (iirc)

What happens when tenant failed the inspection?

Our Mr.NZ Darryn will flash out his mutually signed tenancy agreement and talk to his unreasonable tenant with RadX infamous gesture at the below picture [laugh]

post-62943-0-77989500-1399180563.png