News for Racial Discrimination

Vinyl

Then its the problem with the enforcement. Whats the point of having a rule, when no one follow? When you can get away with the rules, no one will respect the rules.

If we wanted to be regarded as a develop nation, the rules & laws enforcement must also be at a certain level.

There is zero enforcement. Police can't do sh!t. They will tell landlord and tenant to settle among themselves. Tenants will always want to use the deposit to offset the last months. Landlord can't do anything

Everywhere, there is discrimination in some form or other.

If you're allowed to rent out a car, would you not pick from some groups of people ?

When you're taxi driver, would you prefer not to pick up some passengers ?

Edited by Kb27

Then you set standards of cleanliness or whatever and do inspections.

It is never right to discriminate based on colour.

Just imagine the reverse -

By saying this sort of thing is ok you are also saying it is ok to

1) Hire the angmo because he is more creative

2) Hire the american because he is a better talker

3) Hire the filipino because he will work harder

Etc etc

In short - address the standard, don't apply sterotypes to an entire race.

Again,

you will find good and bad in any race.

Do you want me to go and dig out stories about Singaporean tenants that have raped, murdered etc?

So on that basis I never rent to Singaporean?

Discrimination is wrong.

Full stop - if there are certain standards of behaviour you need with a genuine reason behind it, then that is what you address.

wow, u sound like the perfect man! Clap Clap!

but in reality, do u and can u practice what u preach?

wow, u sound like the perfect man! Clap Clap!

but in reality, do u and can u practice what u preach?

actually he a bit talk cock. Set standard for inspection and do regular check sound good. But If I am not wrong, we cannot anyhow enter the house once u rent to them.

Let's put it this way ...

If you applied for a job, and the less qualified ang mo was hired over you because the boss said that ang mo people are more creative.

Would you be pissed or not?

Or if you wife missed out on a job to a less qualified guy because the boss said that women were "too emotional" would you be pissed or not?

Both can be called "my preference"

Both are unfair and wrong

when u lose a job to someone else, u lan lan bo bian, move on..

how is it possible for u to assume that the positions and people have alredy been identified, all the rest of the candidates are there to show due diligence and no discrimination? in fact candidates from different races and religions must be interviewed before they present the role to the chosen one

what is wrong? i would be happy to be the chosen one... otherwise move on..

no one say life is unfair, live with it.

i believe no landlord sets out collecting the deposit and actually wanting to use it.

Arrange for repairs so fun ar.

u still need to be there on site to let the repair men come in.

If want to repaint even lagi better. U have to shift the furniture around for them to paint the walls.

Surely the tenant will argue here and there also, why bother with such unpleasantness.

my friend's german tenant even though he was being retrenched, actually hired a cleaning company to clean up the house before returning the apartment. :o

Because it required in Germany to return the apartment in good condition. If you return in poor condition, it reflects badly on you as a person, not just about deposit.

Anyway, if you damage something, you should repair out of your pocket, its not even part of the deposit. The deposit covered only poor condition, like very dirty cabinets, with stains.

All the apartments I search for in the middle Hesse area is in good condition when I looked for places 3 years ago. Anyway, I think profiling is not allow by law in Germany, when you listed your place for rent. Of course you cannot monitor the landlord from cherry picking the tenants.

I think we are still some way more to go, socially & ethnic, compare to many 1st world countries. I can understand why Landlord doing profiling to prevent problem in future.

At the same time, you have to wonder the social & ehnical advancement we made over the years have gone south due to dilution of people that are less developed regions coming in.

Just a thought.

Because it required in Germany to return the apartment in good condition. If you return in poor condition, it reflects badly on you as a person, not just about deposit.

Anyway, if you damage something, you should repair out of your pocket, its not even part of the deposit. The deposit covered only poor condition, like very dirty cabinets, with stains.

All the apartments I search for in the middle Hesse area is in good condition when I looked for places 3 years ago. Anyway, I think profiling is not allow by law in Germany, when you listed your place for rent. Of course you cannot monitor the landlord from cherry picking the tenants.

I think we are still some way more to go, socially & ethnic, compare to many 1st world countries. I can understand why Landlord doing profiling to prevent problem in future.

At the same time, you have to wonder the social & ehnical advancement we made over the years have gone south due to dilution of people that are less developed regions coming in.

Just a thought.

I believe if they rent to PRC and they damage their property and mess up the place, I believe they will learn their lesson and not renting to PRC again. This is why the ads specifically say no PRC mah.

In ang mo countries they use housing agent to handle everything for the owner, to clean up and fix thing when needed. The owner dun even look at their property, some dun even stay in that country.

Then its the problem with the enforcement. Whats the point of having a rule, when no one follow? When you can get away with the rules, no one will respect the rules.

If we wanted to be regarded as a develop nation, the rules & laws enforcement must also be at a certain level.

It is like right now on every expressway - whether 3-lane, 4-lane or 5-lane, the commercial/goods vehicles nowaday simply bo chap and stick to lane 2, moving at 60, 70, 80, or speeding at 90/100, leaving only lane 1 for cars.

I have not seen TP pulling over any of them for a long time. There is a rule, but not enforced, so no one hew care.

Whereas in places like China the drivers over the years have largely improved, in Sinkapore it is deteriorated at an alarming rate.

A bit ......she had problems with payment after her husband abandoned her,

BUT - she has also made good faith attempts to put it right, AND,

She left the property in much better condition than many of the stories I have heard about "local" tenants.

Before her - we had PRC tenants for around 5 years - and very good care was taken of the property.

Freedom of choice yes...

Freedom of discrimination...never

Discrimination is never acceptable.

It's not right to judge people based on the colour of their skin or their nationality -

What can possibly make that OK?

I don't think it is a form of discrimination.

The owner simply does not want to get into a mess that is highly probable based on either his previous experience or the misfortunes of other landlords.

If I have a sensitive stomach and cannot take raw meat, I skip sushi and sashimi.

If the tako or ebi feel discriminated against....... what can I do. Itz my stomach. I take care of it myself.

Those who can stomach these experiences can go right ahead. Rent to whoever you want.

actually he a bit talk cock. Set standard for inspection and do regular check sound good. But If I am not wrong, we cannot anyhow enter the house once u rent to them.

Not only that. Would you be so free to go inspect the place every day? Every week? Or even every month? What if the tenant "failed" the inspection? Then what? Ask them to clean up and stand by bed?

Talk is only talk. <_<

Not only that. Would you be so free to go inspect the place every day? Every week? Or even every month? What if the tenant "failed" the inspection? Then what? Ask them to clean up and stand by bed?

Talk is only talk. <_<

quite simple lah, use the ignore function. Some ppl here seem to have overstayed their welcome and dun seem to know it. You have the choice to ignore these kinds of ppl, nuff said.

Generally, Singaporeans are not discriminatory, relative to say, some rural Australians, Indians (their caste system is the worst form of discrimination) and Rwandans and their freaking genocide, otherwise it would not have been possible for foreigners to feel so welcome here. We are just a practical lot, just like LKY.... But we will get there soon, LKY is seldom wrong.

LKY saw it coming. The current batch knew it too but what the heck. Wack first la. Solve the problem later.

please don't talk as if you are gods! Profiling is a common practice even in the employment market, university entrance, marketing and promotions, etc, etc......

My stand is simple. It is my property and it is my CHOICE who I want to lease it out to.

I'd rather be upfront abt it, like now, where they blatantly put such conditions/exclusions upfront, so that ppl are fully cognizant they are not welcome, as opposed to a hidden agenda that nobody will know.

IF, and only IF, these folks are being excluded for a larger part from such properties, they should come to realise that there is something wrong inherently with them, and i take the words from ahmok, 'they should reflect as to why blah blah.....'

Hard truths, face it!

And for those who say that they had lived away, for a while for number of x years, i just say

' you can take the individual out of the country, but you cannot take the country out of the individual'

Some things remain, regardless.

Lets take the word discrimination away, & instead use profiling for a moment. More on that later.

Do you have the right to pick who your customers/tenant is & advertise as such? Yes, you can, the Singapore law doesn't stop you

Is it a form of discrimination? Short answer is yes, long answer is its not so clear.

but discrimination could be due to profiling, which is a 'justify' form of discrimination' to reduce risk, which is in some form legal.

Typical example of profiling is paying higher insurance for car if you are younger, or male, for instance.

Back to the insurance, the insurance can justice why certain group have to pay more by showing statistic that certain group of people involved in more accidents.

If you are in these group, then you have but to blame members your fellow group for the profiling.

Now back to housing, if there is proof enough that certain group of people shown much than norm to not take care of the housing, then in my opinion, you cannot blame people from 'discriminating' them. Then its the case of profiling.

(If there is no real proof of course then its pure discrimination. )

Assuming the profiling is justify. Then what what should be done will be the real question. We may come to a point when we are picky, & there isn't enough people to rent to.

The long term solution (which means to say it will take time) , is proper rules & proper enforcement. Its not easy, but I think this is the way forward.

Edited by Kiadaw

Thats not discrimination....

Different ppl have different preference, be it religious, race, culture. And alot of times because of this, they rather rent at lower price to others, not discrimination at all...

Imagine a Malay family rent to a Chinese only to find out they always cook pork, you think they feel comfortable? Alot of those big channel never find out facts before blasting...

I rather locals rent at market rate, foreigners rent $1000 above market rate.

Good way to differentiate between locals and foreigners and also payback time from them for depressing our pay and taking our jobs.

Force them onto high rental, they'll no longer be able to accept lower paying jobs.

This is one way we can force them out, unless they willing to share hostel in ulu areas.

Edited by Bystander50

I will put discrimination in s simple to understand form.

You have a preference for red, you hate yellow. You have a shop selling clothes.

You out out a sign board saying, anyone wearing yellow cloths are not welcome to the shop.

That's discrimination against people wearing yellow. Because, a person wearing yellow have no real impact on you or the shop.

However, if you have a medical condition, that you will faint when you see yellow.

Then, no, it is not discrimination, as you have a good, valid reason why people wearing yellow clothes cannot entered your shop.

Just to put it in simple form.