Mockngbrd Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Maybe the majority of the minority should reflect on their own behaviour first and question why are they being discrimated against. I learn from pap one. ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Maybe the majority of the minority should reflect on their own behaviour first and question why are they being discrimated against. I learn from pap one. u shd run for the next election Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 (edited) Tikos here will know.. many orr gui tao ads also got put "sorry to <insert the race> bros, only chinese".. Discrimination also? Tell the cheesepies don't be picky on which birdy to swallow? Edited May 2, 2014 by Shull 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 u shd run for the next election you better repent I tell u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Why is it a big deal? Imagine a country where the best schools were reserved for a particular race - with more resources and better teachers, what would that create? Imagine a country where houses closer to the city centre (i.e financial centre) were reserved for a certain race, and only those a longer commute away were given to a minority - what would that do to the opportunities of the minority? Imagine a country where ladies aren't allowed to drive - would that be right? Imagine a country where what you could study at university was determined by your sex - would that be right? Imagine a country where different races got different amounts of education subsidy / resources - what's that going to create? It's very easy to say "dun like, dun rent" - but once you start to allow discrimination of this sort, it can create divisions, barriers and problems in society. Is that right? Can you imagine, what would happen if all the MINORITY were pushed into one small area - what would that area become? This is why discrimination is wrong Plenty of non-halal eateries around... does this imply rampant discrimination against muslims...? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Maybe the majority of the minority should reflect on their own behaviour first and question why are they being discrimated against. I learn from pap one. Darrynread above. enuff said. one bad apple is all it takes to taint the whole crate. and being a home owner looking to rent out, i do understand why they have preferences over the people that applies to rent their home. I am a rentee before. and i have lived in home that were rented out to different nationalities before. and thru all those years of renting, it is very clear that certain nationalities have common behavior that is less than desirable. like i said before, if you find it offensive for the owner to write such an ad, dun rent from the fella. if no body comes to rent from him, you think he will still be so selective? it all boils down to supply and demand. if there is plenty of demand, the owners have the last say who he want to rent to. if the supply is more than the demand, it is the rentee who gets the last say who he want to rent from. if not happy, dun rent. what is the big deal? sheez~~! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Maybe the majority of the minority should reflect on their own behaviour first and question why are they being discrimated against. I learn from pap one. Wah steady siah, Mocky. You learnt fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 (edited) Why argue over this??? Auto yes we are racist. Everyone is racist. Uk also racist. I had yet to see a black or Asian England manager before in their national soccer team. Even Paul ince say they are racist. But I am saints. I tell my father rent his flat to Indian national. Because I know my father want to renovate his house but find no reason to renovate. So I know they will destroy the house. True enough when we get back the house 1 year later. Nothing can be re-use. They even broke by stainless steel wok. But I am not angry, because they do what I want them to do. So that my father won't feel painful when he need to renovate the house. See I so good, not racist by renting to them. And they do me a good favor by destroying everything without me telling them to. Edited May 2, 2014 by Joseph22 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Not only in Singapore ah. I noticed the same when I was renting my apartment in KL, landlord was damn happy I was Singaporean and not India Indian. Accepted my lower offer on the rental without negotiation. The apartment was at KL Sentral just next to brickfields (little india of kl), so prime spot for India Indians. The previous tenants were from India, there were permanent burn marks on the kitchen wall by the stove and I gathered that the landlord had to do a major clean-up and repaint the whole unit. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
-zion88- 4th Gear May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Up-bringing plays an important role i guess. Growing up in a multi-racial society helps when you understand and be sensitive to each other. I am a Chinese renting a bedroom from a Malay family. It's like I am wired to think about what are the sensitive stuffs to do and not to do when I am back. Generally I don't think we are racist. Just that when you "hear" to many bad experiences or those "hearsays", that's when we end up being weary and generalize people. It's just a report from those observers. We need not get too bothered by it. =) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 (edited) What sgp landlords discriminate are lazy, filthy, irresponsible & cannot be bothered to clean the flat tenants. And majority of them happen to be Indian nationals & PRCs. Who caused all these unhappiness? The landlords or the tenants? BBC got balls go lease their property to them. Dun come sgp to stir sh!t and say what Fxxk racial discrimination. If they can't even get this right they should just close shop and call it a day. Edited May 2, 2014 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 a global orgy would ensure future generations no discrimination. but we still prefer retention of various characteristics of races. so understanding and tolerance is the way to go. here no house go elsewhere. no stirring hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 wanted to praise you, but need to give to 10 more before i can do it for you again. I so agree with this statement. if you not happy, dun rent lah, what is the big deal? so... puke how many barrels of blood liow? I will do it if I can punch someone via the phone! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 tell you people hor, dun say i didn't warn you...... eng kok is the most discrimatory country and its people. You (Asians) go to their immigration counter, you will see what treatment you get. Aussie is another country that discriminate chinese. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 (edited) Its the mentality of the people. When a certain group of people move into the neighbourhood, the bring with them their unkempt habits like hanging their underwears and clothes that smell unwashed all over the parapets along corridors all the way right up to the stairwell. Property prices for the neighbours will drop drastically. Smoking and throwing the butts all over and spits and blow nose then smear hands on the walls. Wah lan ehh! Boh tak chek. Edited May 2, 2014 by Count-Bracula 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 I dun mind seeing prc mei mei underwear along the corridor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 'No Indians No PRCs': Singapore's rental discrimination problem Source: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-26832115 I believe all countries have this problem of racial discrimination. Why would you not rent out your apartment to Indian or PRCs? Is it difference in culture, hygiene, unknown fear that they would have a 500-man Indian party in the house (no offence, typical stereotype), fear of missing dogs that end up in a pot (again no offence, typical stereotype) or are there other reasons for such discrimination? All of the above mentioned, plus: sublet upon sublet cook curry making the wall oily use your house as a whore house noisy and inconvenience the neighbours, thus complain to polis, owner kena much more.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 (edited) flat owner don't want bad tenant flat owner want good money from good tenant owner also greed for money money, money, money ... always come first Edited May 2, 2014 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...