News for Racial Discrimination

Vinyl

To the report I humbly disagree that i am racist but i am against certain nationalities due to the cultural differences. Reason , same at the ones mentioned here despite contracts stating that they will have to clean up and return back to it original state. Non of them did. In fact , I have instructed my agent to do a quarterly check on a couple of properties.

I have rented out to china and india tenants before , it was an awful experience , these buggers first stated that they will only have a "family" staying in the condo , when i did a surprise check , i found that there were at least 8 people in the condo, both china and india nationalities have this problem. I had to get the movers to move every fk thing out and put into the storage to wait for the tenant to call me to ask why.

They also have problems with rental and there is once where this bugger moved out quietly after dragging rental payments and damaged my rooms. Of course i am not saying ALL china and indian nationalities are bad tenants but you need to go through alot of trouble to do "checks" to ensure your property is intact. Another way is you really have to check their job and regularly do checks to ensure.

It is a simple waste of resources and time and given any time , it is better to rent it to a malaysian or any other nationality other than the two nationalities mentioned thus the preference , this is my personal preference , i rather leave the place empty than rent it to these two nationalities. So i really doubt i am racist , i am just having a nationality discrimination. It is my property , i choose who i can rent it to , for those hypocrites , tell me when you have encountered people like those i have encountered and still willing to take the risk. I will clap for you.

Edited by CH_CO

If I rent my house, I'd prefer Japanese family bczthey are proven to take care of the place, even better than me.

If I advertise and indicate preferably Japanese is this discriminatory ?

People just don't know how to say a bad thing in a good way.

PRC is race or nationality?

ok instead of i do not rent to indians, PRC, locals, etc...

i prefer to rent to japs, koreans, taiwanese...

like that feel better bo?

What is the ad says: No Students, No Tenants from KTV joints?

Would that be discrimination also?

It is the owner's prerogative to rent to whoever he is comfortable with, and he lives with the consequence of his decision - loss of rental income becos cannot find tenants from the smaller pool, or having to spend more money to repair the unit after bad tenants?

Stating his preference upfront just save everyone's time.

'No Indians No PRCs': Singapore's rental discrimination problem

Source: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-26832115

I believe all countries have this problem of racial discrimination. Why would you not rent out your apartment to Indian or PRCs?

Is it difference in culture, hygiene, unknown fear that they would have a 500-man Indian party in the house (no offence, typical stereotype), fear of missing dogs that end up in a pot (again no offence, typical stereotype) or are there other reasons for such discrimination?

racial discrimination? no we just selecting tenant only no intended discrimination.

i think its BBC that intended to cause racial tension in Singapore, those chao ang moh are the true born racist

It is the owner's prerogative to rent to whoever he is comfortable with, and he lives with the consequence of his decision - loss of rental income becos cannot find tenants from the smaller pool, or having to spend more money to repair the unit after bad tenants?

like that can post ad, lai lai anyone can rent my house, u make my house become whore house also can

This is a car forum so we use car as an analogy.

Some sellers put "No dealers please!", with an exclamation mark in the ad, are we discriminating against the dealers too?

Edited by Albeniz

I got to agree on this...... my house I happy rent to who is my biz..... I want to rent whole hse to china/vietnam/pinoy chicken tenant is up to me what..... I rent out to them $10 a month also my dai chi what.......

PRC is race or nationality?

ok instead of i do not rent to indians, PRC, locals, etc...

i prefer to rent to japs, koreans, taiwanese...

like that feel better bo?

If you only prefer that 3 countries then you are discriminating the rest of the world [mad]

I onli want to rent out to Jipun xmm, dun need to pay monthly rental. everyday i come by to collect daily rental. is this discriminatory? [:p]

No SEX too, we are Br(u)itish. [laugh]

halal bacon does not taste the same as bacon....there is a difference

the difference is great..one is turkey(sometimes chicken) compared to pork..I would not eat non-pork bacon hence I stay away from those halal food outlets in Sinkapor

If you only prefer that 3 countries then you are discriminating the rest of the world [mad]

and if I only rent to females? I am sexiest?

so what? lol

Then you set standards of cleanliness or whatever and do inspections.

It is never right to discriminate based on colour.

Just imagine the reverse -

By saying this sort of thing is ok you are also saying it is ok to

1) Hire the angmo because he is more creative

2) Hire the american because he is a better talker

3) Hire the filipino because he will work harder

Etc etc

In short - address the standard, don't apply sterotypes to an entire race.

Again,

you will find good and bad in any race.

Do you want me to go and dig out stories about Singaporean tenants that have raped, murdered etc?

So on that basis I never rent to Singaporean?

Discrimination is wrong.

Full stop - if there are certain standards of behaviour you need with a genuine reason behind it, then that is what you address.

You can do so if they rent a single room, but if they rent a whole unit, there are such thing call quiet enjoyment and you are not allow to do spot check. By the time 1 years up, even if don't return their safety deposit also not enough to make the house back to original.

Also it's not everyone that don't allow renting to other race, BBC are just blowing it big without going real down to check on the market.

If it's my property, I decide who I want to rent it to.

wanted to praise you, but need to give to 10 more before i can do it for you again.

I so agree with this statement.

if you not happy, dun rent lah, what is the big deal?

Not practical lah. I agree discrimination against an entire race is not right but sometimes really cannot help it with the constant bad experience.

Just ended a phone call with customer service for a certain computer brand. The service staff is really horrible and it is GENERALLY the same for this particular group of people.

[laugh] so... puke how many barrels of blood liow? [laugh]

actually I racist to the whole world, I rather let my pet hamsters / bicycles sleep inside my extra room rather than rent it out.

caused I cannot tolerate living with some other people whom I dunno other than my families leh.......

if you not happy, dun rent lah, what is the big deal?

Why is it a big deal?

Imagine a country where the best schools were reserved for a particular race - with more resources and better teachers, what would that create?

Imagine a country where houses closer to the city centre (i.e financial centre) were reserved for a certain race, and only those a longer commute away were given to a minority - what would that do to the opportunities of the minority?

Imagine a country where ladies aren't allowed to drive - would that be right?

Imagine a country where what you could study at university was determined by your sex - would that be right?

Imagine a country where different races got different amounts of education subsidy / resources - what's that going to create?

It's very easy to say "dun like, dun rent" - but once you start to allow discrimination of this sort, it can create divisions, barriers and problems in society. Is that right?

Can you imagine, what would happen if all the MINORITY were pushed into one small area - what would that area become? This is why discrimination is wrong

• Dislike 1

Why is it a big deal?

Imagine a country where the best schools were reserved for a particular race - with more resources and better teachers, what would that create?

Imagine a country where houses closer to the city centre (i.e financial centre) were reserved for a certain race, and only those a longer commute away were given to a minority - what would that do to the opportunities of the minority?

Imagine a country where ladies aren't allowed to drive - would that be right?

Imagine a country where what you could study at university was determined by your sex - would that be right?

Imagine a country where different races got different amounts of education subsidy / resources - what's that going to create?

It's very easy to say "dun like, dun rent" - but once you start to allow discrimination of this sort, it can create divisions, barriers and problems in society. Is that right?

Can you imagine, what would happen if all the MINORITY were pushed into one small area - what would that area become? This is why discrimination is wrong

well, nobody saw it like this before, and look at east coast side? Majority used to be Japanese, but now? An enclave has formed there.

HDB has enacted a law looking at ratio, etc to prevent enclaves forming. Private, well, dun think they can impose such a law