News for Racial Discrimination

Vinyl

tell you people hor, dun say i didn't warn you......

eng kok is the most discrimatory country and its people. You (Asians) go to their immigration counter, you will see what treatment you get.

Do you want me to go and dig out stories about Singaporean tenants that have raped, murdered etc?

So on that basis I never rent to Singaporean?

Discrimination is wrong.

Full stop - if there are certain standards of behaviour you need with a genuine reason behind it, then that is what you address.

Talk so much for what.

It is YOUR property.

YOU decide who YOU want to rent to.

If on that basis you will never rent to Singaporeans, it is YOUR right to exercise.

And that is that. I thought you were always going on about freedom of choice, personal human rights, all kinds of crap about rights and shit... etc?

So the perennial question: Did the tenant screw up the condition of your property :D

A bit ......she had problems with payment after her husband abandoned her,

BUT - she has also made good faith attempts to put it right, AND,

She left the property in much better condition than many of the stories I have heard about "local" tenants.

Before her - we had PRC tenants for around 5 years - and very good care was taken of the property.

Talk so much for what.

It is YOUR property.

YOU decide who YOU want to rent to.

If on that basis you will never rent to Singaporeans, it is YOUR right to exercise.

And that is that. I thought you were always going on about freedom of choice, personal human rights, all kinds of crap about rights and shit... etc?

Freedom of choice yes...

Freedom of discrimination...never

Discrimination is never acceptable.

It's not right to judge people based on the colour of their skin or their nationality -

What can possibly make that OK?

She left the property in much better condition than many of the stories I have heard about "local" tenants.

Before her - we had PRC tenants for around 5 years - and very good care was taken of the property.

Freedom of choice yes...

It's not right to judge people based on the colour of their skin or their nationality -

KNN lah...

Freedom of choice to discriminate.

aysaiboh!

BBC shud look at their own country before commenting on ours. Their racial discrimination is even worse dan ours. The pot shud stop calling the kettle black.

Exactly. Recently saw plenty of people over there are kpkb-in about many of their Subway stores are now Halal...

Freedom of choice yes...

What if we call it 'preference'? My preference is not to rent it to PRC and Indian?

Like that consider 'discrimination'?

Exactly. Recently saw plenty of people over there are kpkb-in about many of their Subway stores are now Halal...

Hee....

halal bacon does not taste the same as bacon....there is a difference

If you are looking for a place to rent, you rather landlords be more transparent and upfront right?

So, stating not wanting certain people is a good starting point.......or rather certain people you would want to rent.....

No point wasting your time going around looking at those houses which landlords have no interest to rent to you.

After all, landlords can always tell you they already have someone on waitlist after you appear on their door step right?

Edited by Kangadrool

What if we call it 'preference'? My preference is not to rent it to PRC and Indian?

Like that consider 'discrimination'?

Let's put it this way ...

If you applied for a job, and the less qualified ang mo was hired over you because the boss said that ang mo people are more creative.

Would you be pissed or not?

Or if you wife missed out on a job to a less qualified guy because the boss said that women were "too emotional" would you be pissed or not?

Both can be called "my preference"

Both are unfair and wrong

i want to let whole unit to PRC too

but they are too enterpreneurship

a 4-room flat can turn into 18 rooms with double decker ... the anchor tenant can make more money than the flat owner [sly]

i also heard PRC is awesome ... they can even cook 3 dish + 1 soup in the room ... no need kitchen

if you let to a group of meimei ... when go collect rental ... not cash but barter trade, how?

sekali it's flat owner who need to pay cash ...

If you are looking for a place to rent, you rather landlords be more transparent and upfront right?

So, stating not wanting certain people is a good starting point.......

No point wasting your time going around looking at those houses which landlords have no interest to rent to you.

After all, landlords can always tell you they already have someone on waitlist after you appear on their door step right?

yes - would rather people be upfront.

What I am trying to attack is the attitude....not the implementation.

If profiling has been based on similar unpleasant cases previously experienced, then it is not quite a discrimination.

Not happy go back their own country lor! I can give them money for taxi go airport!

Ya man!

Or else buy an apartment themselves!

If you applied for a job, and the less qualified ang mo was hired over you because the boss said that ang mo people are more creative.

Or if you wife missed out on a job to a less qualified guy because the boss said that women were "too emotional" would you be pissed or not?

That's the way the world is!

So you had a crush on this girl, but the girl said "sorry you are not my type". Are you going on the front pages of newspaper and complain about discrimination against your type?

So now what? You're gonna campaign for Equal Opportunity dating?

Stop kidding ourselves, the discrimination is always there no matter how good you disguise it. The wording is to please the authority but the process and end result is the same.

You want Singaporean to be less discrimination, let all of them get a chance to join the big mnc and get higher pay lor, else how else can they learn to be less discriminate, it is not by telling them what cannot do, but let them experience what so great about it, then they will appreciate.

i want to let whole unit to PRC too

but they are too enterpreneurship

a 4-room flat can turn into 18 rooms with double decker ... the anchor tenant can make more money than the flat owner [sly]

i also heard PRC is awesome ... they can even cook 3 dish + 1 soup in the room ... no need kitchen

if you let to a group of meimei ... when go collect rental ... not cash but barter trade, how?

sekali it's flat owner who need to pay cash ...

That's how we learnt the new word "二房东" from them.

Literally, it means the original tenant subletting the rooms to subsidiary tenants (often illegally) for profits.

Edited by Albeniz

Freedom of choice yes...

OK lah.... Let's not call it discrimination.

Let's call it "risk management".

Because that is ultimately what it is. No landlord would like his asset to be damaged/destroyed or rent unpaid or cheques bounced.

Hence, manage risk to asset lor. Can or not?

Edited by Viceroymenthol

Bro, you talk like a saint, do you have a spare room to rent? I will get you different race of tenant over 6 mths period, you try staying with different tenants and share your view here again.

Seems like this topic has rapidly OT'ed. The title is that we are in the news for racial discrimination.

Many have come to JUSTIFY the racism (mostly "cultural" reasons).

So it would appear that the article is not wrong and that there is racism here (otherwise we wouldn't be trying to defend/justify it). Whether it is justified or not is another matter, i.e. being able to justify it doesn't mean it is not racism.

Having said the above, I am no saint myself and yes I would probably avoid having certain tenants if they are going to be staying with me. I am sure not wanting my peace to be compromised isn't reprehensible right? If I am renting whole unit out, I am less likely to be as selective. However, I would stipulate certain clauses pertaining to upkeep and maintenance and upon their failure to adhere, I will evict them and use the deposit to clean the place up. I might even ask for a 2 month deposit.