News for Racial Discrimination

Vinyl

Actually I don't think that at all..

I do think a few things however

1. A law against it enshrines the idea that it's not acceptable

2. A law against it makes people think about what they are doing

3. A law makes it enforcable if it can be proven someone was discriminating - and there have been cases where people have been stupid enough to get caught.

Recognising an attitude is wrong is the first step in correcting it -

Kinda like AA - they first have to admit that they are alcoholics before they can address the problem.

what you think does not mean it is right and what you think works for you may not work for others

based on the votes, 76% of people voted tha NZ is a racist country

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11180656

The above article, the fella felt he was prevented from entering a bar due to his race.

How many people experience the same in SG?

http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PO1304/S00352/kiwis-say-nz-is-a-racist-country-on-tv3s-the-vote.htm

this is the table

Viewer votes:

Facebook Twitter Website Text TOTAL 76% YES

24% NO 66% YES

34% NO 75% YES

25% NO 76% YES

24% NO 76% YES

24% NO

And a snap studio poll

A snap studio poll during the debate asked: Are we more opposed to Chinese investment than other investment? The theatre audience voted Yes 82% No 13% Undecided 5%.

So my qns is, how the sheep did the law help you?

Edited by Galantspeedz

And I say again (and again and again) ....

Racism is wrong wherever you find it

Would it excuse New Zealand if I find someone "worse"?

what you think does not mean it is right and what you think works for you may not work for others

The above article, the fella felt he was prevented from entering a bar due to his race.

http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PO1304/S00352/kiwis-say-nz-is-a-racist-country-on-tv3s-the-vote.htm

this is the table

Viewer votes:

Facebook Twitter Website Text TOTAL 76% YES
24% NO 66% YES
34% NO 75% YES
25% NO 76% YES
24% NO 76% YES
24% NO

And a snap studio poll

A snap studio poll during the debate asked: Are we more opposed to Chinese investment than other investment? The theatre audience voted Yes 82% No 13% Undecided 5%.

So my qns is, how the sheep did the law help you?

And I say again (and again and again) ....

Racism is wrong wherever you find it

Would it excuse New Zealand if I find someone "worse"?

and we are telling you we are not racist when we chose to not rent to certain people

Another post about this, calling the Indian guy who complained a "Crybaby": http://www.whaleoil.co.nz/2014/01/runner-cry-baby-week/#disqus_thread

The comments at the end of this page seem to read a lot like Singaporean comments about FT. The sheepfarkers don't seem so different from Singkies, now do they? [laugh]

this BBC knn want stir shit.. now really stir big big..

we where got racist..

Everyday you see Chinese eat nasi lemak, malay eat prata and ah neh eat zhap chai peng..

if racist where you think they buy the food!! [grin][grin]

this BBC knn want stir shit.. now really stir big big..

we where got racist..

Everyday you see Chinese eat nasi lemak, malay eat prata and ah neh eat zhap chai peng..

if racist where you think they buy the food!! [grin][grin]

i eat salad and drink starbucks :D:D

and we are telling you we are not racist when we chose to not rent to certain people

This is actually barrelling down the wrong track...

The gist of it actually is, Singaporeans choose not to rent to certain ethnicities/nationalities purely because of a perception... whether it is well-founded or not is another argument.

It is not based on the colour of their skin... Definitely not racism...

The gist of it actually is, Singaporeans choose not to rent to certain ethnicities/nationalities purely because of a perception... whether it is well-founded or not is another argument.

It is not against race, it is not against ethic group.

It is just against a ppl from certain country. So racist no we are not.

true... I also heard of indian owners only want to rent to certain race (e.g. Chinese) but not their own..

1 thing for sure, i won't mind a tanned jap AV star lol

Another post about this, calling the Indian guy who complained a "Crybaby": http://www.whaleoil.co.nz/2014/01/runner-cry-baby-week/#disqus_thread

The comments at the end of this page seem to read a lot like Singaporean comments about FT. The sheepfarkers don't seem so different from Singkies, now do they? [laugh]

we are seeing eye to eye on more things.... very scary

dun go to bed togr hor.... :D:D

It could be that I never experienced racism in New Zealand because I am the "majority" race - but one thing I can state categorically that I NEVER saw

1. A job ad calling for a specific race (or sex)

2. A tenancy ad excluding any race.

Does it happen? Most probably...like I say, every country will have its ignorant idiots. It is specifically illegal, and were such an ad to be seen, a complaint can be registered by anyone - and it will be thoroughly investigated.

I always get confused when people say sex when they mean gender.

Even my school exercise book says Name, Sex, Class

I wrote:-

Name: James

Sex: sometimes

Class: when teacher not around

All this is not racism its something far worse,

its called Capitalism.

What these home owners are doing is called Profit Maximisation.

They take the total rental received and minus of the cost of cleaning or

renovation and decide which tenent they want to rent to that is more

profitable.

If after a tenent left and they have to spend a lot of money and time

on cleaning up before they can rent out again they would rather

rent to a tenent that doesn't mess up the place so much.

This Capitalism is speading around the world very fast and

there is not much we can do to stop it.

Can someone tell me if our policies on maids is also considered discrimination?

Why can't we hire maids from certain countries?