Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 All these while, we are just saying no rental to certain group of people because they are likely NOT going to take care of the property and/or spoil things inside. We are not against them staying in other people's property, yours for example, so how is that racist? If NOT liking the behaviour of groups of people is consider racism, then you do not really know what real racism is. No lah. it just mean he is racist towards Singaporean ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 might i refresh your memory to your post above. Care to link and defend yourself, with that last article i posted? I can see you are weaseling your way through the way that 'if you cannot convince, confuse them' tactic. Well.....I will refer you to this DiscriminationA landlord may not discriminate against a person because of their colour, race, ethnic or national origin, sex, marital status, age, religious or ethical belief, because they have children, because they are unemployed, or any other prohibited reasons as set out in the Human Rights Act 1993. A tenant who has grounds to believe that they have been discriminated against may choose to take the matter to the Tenancy Tribunal or to the Human Rights Commission. Source 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 No lah. it just mean he is racist towards Singaporean and all credibility has been confirmed lost with him going forward. I see no point engaging someone who may be blinded to their own challenges as everything else seems illogical to them. Let it be folks. You draw your own decisions from here. If inciting any ill feelings exists, as a mod, i hv the power to keep the peace in MCF. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 All these while, we are just saying no rental to certain group of people because they are likely NOT going to take care of the property and/or spoil things inside. We are not against them staying in other people's property, yours for example, so how is that racist? If NOT liking the behaviour of groups of people is consider racism, then you do not really know what real racism is. this. Vid hit it on the head, imo. just because they dont want to rent their house to you doesnt mean they wont sit next to you on the train, eat at the next table next to you, or even strike up a conversation. also, for all of the major landlords, im sure they dont bother to discriminate. they are all focused on $$$ and will be happy to rent to anyone since they have the legal muscle to sue any tenant, regardless of race, language or religion :P we are literally arguing over a very, very tiny subset of landlords in Singapore, if you ask me ... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 over there you walk 100 meter before seeing one human, here you see 100 human before you walk 1 meter. sad but true knn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 and all credibility has been confirmed lost with him going forward. everytime I see ur notification I worry I cross the line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 No lah. it just mean he is racist towards Singaporean ok la, that one dont put words in his mouth bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 everytime I see ur notification I worry I cross the line. hahahha...bro, you have far improved as opposed to some who have sublety in their messages to incite any undue emotion. Be a bigger person and let them be lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 hahahha...bro, you have far improved as opposed to some who have sublety in their messages to incite any undue emotion. Be a bigger person and let them be lah. he improve because he was not around not because he post better... hahahaha J22: kidding nia hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 hahahha...bro, you have far improved as opposed to some who have sublety in their messages to incite any undue emotion. Be a bigger person and let them be lah. Haha.. Maybe they wan to write book so fan up tension for ideals.😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 he improve because he was not around not because he post better... hahahaha J22: kidding nia hor muahahahaha...knn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 (edited) he improve because he was not around not because he post better... hahahaha J22: kidding nia hor Actually I agrees I think if I stay a bit longer in the hui hui Thread I will cross the line too.😅😅 Edited May 5, 2014 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Haha.. Maybe they wan to write book so fan up tension for ideals.😂 well, for what reasons there may be, keep a level head and stand your own ground. For a fact, UK, AUS, and a whole lot of other states have had of late racism as the hot topic, so singling us out, well, so be it lah. Fact is that it exists. Again, i do not condone it, but hey, i do not represent a majority of the population Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 well, for what reasons there may be, keep a level head and stand your own ground. For a fact, UK, AUS, and a whole lot of other states have had of late racism as the hot topic, so singling us out, well, so be it lah. Fact is that it exists. Again, i do not condone it, but hey, i do not represent a majority of the population It's easier for them to cover up their own ass mah. If I am not wrong, someone point out that bbc made a racist comment and under fire. So now use singapore as punching bags. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 It could be that I never experienced racism in New Zealand because I am the "majority" race - but one thing I can state categorically that I NEVER saw 1. A job ad calling for a specific race (or sex) 2. A tenancy ad excluding any race. Does it happen? Most probably...like I say, every country will have its ignorant idiots. It is specifically illegal, and were such an ad to be seen, a complaint can be registered by anyone - and it will be thoroughly investigated. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 It could be that I never experienced racism in New Zealand because I am the "majority" race - but one thing I can state categorically that I NEVER saw 1. A job ad calling for a specific race (or sex) 2. A tenancy ad excluding any race. Does it happen? Most probably...like I say, every country will have its ignorant idiots. It is specifically illegal, and were such an ad to be seen, a complaint can be registered by anyone - and it will be thoroughly investigated. Now you are talking. That is indeed a good point. For the fact that you are in the unaffected group gives room to think again that it does exist, but you are not in the direct fray to experience it. Thanks for your acknowledgement of this fact. For a matter of fact, I am sure even the Abors from Aus face lots of these kinda things, even when they are the 'land owners' Here, you see more of such 'obvious' discrimination being tackled in their roots recently especially in the job advertisement sections. Housing, well, gahmen is directly intervening here, cos they do not want enclaves Let's say, that it exists lah, but varying degrees. I would say that after 9/11, it has earned a little more attention than before. For reasons obvioius to many I am glad we have all aired our views and are almost on the same page. I would dare say that we do not discriminate, but exercise our choice in who we want to lease out our units to. It stems from the prior reported experiences of many that have led many of us not to take that path and face the same problems. We can work, with them and interact among other things, but we draw the line somewhat when our own precious possessions would be subject to 'certain risks' Peace out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 It could be that I never experienced racism in New Zealand because I am the "majority" race - but one thing I can state categorically that I NEVER saw 1. A job ad calling for a specific race (or sex) 2. A tenancy ad excluding any race. Does it happen? Most probably...like I say, every country will have its ignorant idiots. It is specifically illegal, and were such an ad to be seen, a complaint can be registered by anyone - and it will be thoroughly investigated. because the rules disallows it.. but it does not mean it is not present...... what you just said, makes it quite clear you think papering the cracks will make the country seems less racist... i think it's sheep shit...... i rather not waste my time entertaining people i don't feel i am going to rent my place too and also not waste other people's time to come view, dicusss, call just to get rejected.... and if i am out of someone's criteria i jolly well wish the same too what's wrong with it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 because the rules disallows it.. but it does not mean it is not present...... what you just said, makes it quite clear you think papering the cracks will make the country seems less racist... i think it's sheep shit...... i rather not waste my time entertaining people i don't feel i am going to rent my place too and also not waste other people's time to come view, dicusss, call just to get rejected.... and if i am out of someone's criteria i jolly well wish the same too what's wrong with it? Actually I don't think that at all.. I do think a few things however 1. A law against it enshrines the idea that it's not acceptable 2. A law against it makes people think about what they are doing 3. A law makes it enforcable if it can be proven someone was discriminating - and there have been cases where people have been stupid enough to get caught. Recognising an attitude is wrong is the first step in correcting it - Kinda like AA - they first have to admit that they are alcoholics before they can address the problem. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...