Darryn Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Agent will take the appropriate action - either require cleaning or start eviction proceedings What happens when tenant failed the inspection? Nah... Agent manages the property - we don't have any contact with the tenant at all. When the agent takes photos - they send to us though Our Mr.NZ Darryn will flash out his mutually signed tenancy agreement and talk to his unreasonable tenant with RadX infamous gesture at the below picture ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 yeah...I'm not familiar with the tenancy law here - but whatever it is, it must be adhered to. To me, inspections that are scheduled in advance are perfectly reasonable right ... but we have to abide by the local law ;) we can't just say that because it's done in another country that we can simplu implement it here... actually - REITS do inspections from time to time. it is part of their tenancy. but their tenancies are also extremely thick because they are publicly listed companies and have fiduciary duties to their shareholders first, and then their tenants (iirc) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Not practical lah. I agree discrimination against an entire race is not right but sometimes really cannot help it with the constant bad experience. Just ended a phone call with customer service for a certain computer brand. The service staff is really horrible and it is GENERALLY the same for this particular group of people. then its discrimination against the person, not the race. there has to be a clear line drawn and not muddle it all up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 In New Zealand the standard is that there is a scheduled inspection every three months, some agents do six monthly. Most private landlords that manage their own property don't inspect In New Zealand. Okay enough said. There is already many sort of racism there in itself already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 'No Indians No PRCs': Singapore's rental discrimination problem Source: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-26832115 I believe all countries have this problem of racial discrimination. Why would you not rent out your apartment to Indian or PRCs? Is it difference in culture, hygiene, unknown fear that they would have a 500-man Indian party in the house (no offence, typical stereotype), fear of missing dogs that end up in a pot (again no offence, typical stereotype) or are there other reasons for such discrimination? nothing wrong mah. individual preference. Too bad for the new arrivals that their previous ah tiongs and ah nehs countrymen spoils their own reputation to such an extent that people world wide view them as pests. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 In New Zealand. Okay enough said. There is already many sort of racism there in itself already.how is an inspection, applied regardless of colour racism? Ads asking for a particular race are illegal...and it is enforced. You may not believe it, but I saw less racism in New Zealand than I am seeing here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 nothing wrong mah. individual preference. Too bad for the new arrivals that their previous ah tiongs and ah nehs countrymen spoils their own reputation to such an extent that people world wide view them as pests. Since their reputation already spoilt, the new arrivals do not bother to change that mindset either. They will just the same as their predecessor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 how is an inspection, applied regardless of colour racism? Ads asking for a particular race are illegal...and it is enforced. You may not believe it, but I saw less racism in New Zealand than I am seeing here Didn't have any discrimination advertisement doesn't equal to no racism. Having seemly discriminating advertisement doesn't mean there is racism. Similarly I hardly see racism in Singapore except for in forum and stomp. So what racism are u talking about? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Since their reputation already spoilt, the new arrivals do not bother to change that mindset either. They will just the same as their predecessor correction... real/ good FT are already shunning our country... more trash will be coming in en mass (they detected the lax FT policy) ... including ang moh trash judging from the recent spike of ang mor TuaKee incidents... so much in fact PRC/ABNN/Pinoy countries very happy we taking care of their trash for them....now even ang mor trash also coming... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Didn't have any discrimination advertisement doesn't equal to no racism. Having seemly discriminating advertisement doesn't mean there is racism. Similarly I hardly see racism in Singapore except for in forum and stomp. So what racism are u talking about? "Seemly" discrimination? What the hell is that? Is there racism in New Zealand? I've no doubt there is, you will find ignorance no matter where you go. The difference is - at the very least, if you want to be racist you have to hide it, you cannot be open about it, which I find a good thing. It's made very known, by force of law, that racist attitudes are unacceptable. And I pretty much reject the idea that it's ok for us to do it, so long as someone else is. That's pure bulls**t. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 "Seemly" discrimination? What the hell is that? Is there racism in New Zealand? I've no doubt there is, you will find ignorance no matter where you go. The difference is - at the very least, if you want to be racist you have to hide it, you cannot be open about it, which I find a good thing. It's made very known, by force of law, that racist attitudes are unacceptable. And I pretty much reject the idea that it's ok for us to do it, so long as someone else is. That's pure bulls**t. Oh I see. U are propose that we "hid " the problem so ppl think that certain place is not racist. Okay I get u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric4285 2nd Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Erm. If say i join a match make Agency. If i state my criteria for next hald strictly chinese because I'm chinese, Is it considered Rascism??? All these is a Farce to me lah... Knn own property i can't choose my tenants? My next half i can't dictate their race? Craps... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 "Seemly" discrimination? What the hell is that? Is there racism in New Zealand? I've no doubt there is, you will find ignorance no matter where you go. The difference is - at the very least, if you want to be racist you have to hide it, you cannot be open about it, which I find a good thing. It's made very known, by force of law, that racist attitudes are unacceptable. And I pretty much reject the idea that it's ok for us to do it, so long as someone else is. That's pure bulls**t. This is Singapore. I dont care how it is done in New Zealand. At least half the people here have made it clear what their stand is and why it is so. The other half dun even bother with your rhetoric. Stop that superior attitude and talk down approach. Should we bring in 60M sheeps to have a 10 to one ratio cos a certain country is like that too. Gosh. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stifler 1st Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 In New Zealand the standard is that there is a scheduled inspection every three months, some agents do six monthly. Most private landlords that manage their own property don't inspect You're barking up the wrong tree my Kiwi friend. The standard rules and regulations are different here. Tenants want and are granted quiet enjoyment (that is the exact term used in residential tenancy agreement FYI) of the property during the tenancy period. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ocean6576 4th Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 We have the rights to our property, though we dont own it 100%, we "rent" it for 99 years. If the simple decision of who we want to rent to cannot be made by us, then what rights do we have then? I agree that citing certain nationalities are kinda discriminating but as mentioned, it is our right. Isn't it better that we spell upfront about what we want or shall we pass the agony to agents instead? Let the tenant go for numerous viewings only to be rejected by the landlord due to nationalities? If I have property or room to rent, I will avoid them as well. Reason is simple. Experience and stories heard from far and beyond. Been to open house viewings and seen specific nationalities poking thru the unit, opening the fridge, opening cupboards etc. They dont have the simple decency to respect people. I dont think the owner will give them the fridge if they buy the unit, then why go opening people's fridges and cupboards. Toddlers roam the house without removing shoes, pulling and dragging things they can lay their hands only while parents standing by doing nothing. Simple actions speaks so much of the person but unfortunately they are more willing to bear their actions to many so dont blame others about discrimination. If they don't like it, then please get the fxxk out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 BBC cannot be wrong, ok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 I wonder if Singaporean Indians are willing to rent to India Indians or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 You may not believe it, but I saw less racism in New Zealand than I am seeing here probably they just want to see more human than sheep, any race will do ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...