Kb27 Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 When I go to the poll, I discriminate against any candidate wearing all white. But that's my prerogative. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 (edited) 'No Indians No PRCs': Singapore's rental discrimination problem Source: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-26832115 I believe all countries have this problem of racial discrimination. Why would you not rent out your apartment to Indian or PRCs? Is it difference in culture, hygiene, unknown fear that they would have a 500-man Indian party in the house (no offence, typical stereotype), fear of missing dogs that end up in a pot (again no offence, typical stereotype) or are there other reasons for such discrimination? Do they not practise that as well? Pot calling the kettle black. Edited May 2, 2014 by Rayleigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Generally, Singaporeans are not discriminatory, relative to say, some rural Australians, Indians (their caste system is the worst form of discrimination) and Rwandans and their freaking genocide, otherwise it would not have been possible for foreigners to feel so welcome here. We are just a practical lot, just like LKY.... But we will get there soon, LKY is seldom wrong. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Generally, Singaporeans are not discriminatory, relative to say, some rural Australians, Indians (their caste system is the worst form of discrimination) and Rwandans and their freaking genocide, otherwise it would not have been possible for foreigners to feel so welcome here. We are just a practical lot, just like LKY.... But we will get there soon, LKY is seldom wrong. Wonder why sonny don't listen to daddy's wisdom.. already foreseen over 30 years ago! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinyl 5th Gear May 2, 2014 Author Share May 2, 2014 Generally, Singaporeans are not discriminatory, relative to say, some rural Australians, Indians (their caste system is the worst form of discrimination) and Rwandans and their freaking genocide, otherwise it would not have been possible for foreigners to feel so welcome here. We are just a practical lot, just like LKY.... But we will get there soon, LKY is seldom wrong. I have no more points to distribute now, but well done for sharing. That was perfect 10/10 vision. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 My own experience is that brits are one of the most racist people I've encountered..especially the older ones. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 yup, whenever there's a Brits or Scots expat relocated here, we cringed! Super cat and super racist. My passport was thrown up in the air for no reason in London, same happened to my colleague. My own experience is that brits are one of the most racist people I've encountered..especially the older ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 My own experience is that brits are one of the most racist people I've encountered..especially the older ones. Yes. And I was the subject of racism from a bus driver... a black brit [:|] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Not happy go back their own country lor! I can give them money for taxi go airport! I go mustafa buy a ear phone for them bring home listen to music Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 I dun mind seeing prc mei mei underwear along the corridor and after someone picks these panties as personal collection, you will miss them!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 (edited) Its the mentality of the people. When a certain group of people move into the neighbourhood, the bring with them their unkempt habits like hanging their underwears and clothes that smell unwashed all over the parapets along corridors all the way right up to the stairwell. Property prices for the neighbours will drop drastically. Smoking and throwing the butts all over and spits and blow nose then smear hands on the walls. Wah lan ehh! Boh tak chek. In other words, its the anti-social behaviors, not the colours of the skin, which cause discomfort to their neighbours who have the right to reject these behaviors. Its up to these anti-social people to change or move out. Edited May 2, 2014 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 I was appalled by what I saw during my last trip to China. It is common to see people clearing their throats and spitting regardless of where they are. Wherever you go, the floor is full of saliva, phlegm and spits. Not just in the open space, but in fully air-conditioned complexes as well. The polished floorings in the shopping centers are contaminated with saliva and phlegm. You really have to watch where you are stepping. Common sense of hygiene is obviously lacking even in modern cities such as Shanghai. If they don’t even care and love their own country’s hygiene image back at home, do you think they will love and take care of your house when they are your tenants? We frequently hear of atrocious acts like accelerating pigs’ growth by feeding the pigs with arsenic and then dumping 12,000 dead pigs into the Shanghai waters, hoping nobody would find out. The infamous melamine baby milk powder incident also raised alarms on the morality also. Impression is not formed based on 1 or 2 isolated incidents. It is an accumulation of unpleasant experiences. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
comegetme 2nd Gear May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 I have to say that there is a racist in everyone. someone mentioned if they advertise and say they only want japs and Koreans, it cant be racist right? if someone advertise and say no PRC or indians, it should be viewed the same as the person who only wants japs and Indians. which is personal prefernce for me personally, if I had a room, I would not to rent to a certain group who don't eat a certain meat. I have my own reasons. so why my choice be also like he who only wants japs and Koreans? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 (edited) i'm surprise you were appalled! been to china several cities. from small city to big city like beijing and shanghai. there is no difference be it poor - middle - upper - super rich. each got their attitude. Edited May 2, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 My own experience is that brits are one of the most racist people I've encountered..especially the older ones. Me being in the service industry, fully agree. The older ones still believe in "GREAT" Britain. Rental is about business. If I know that certain groups have more tendencies to do certain things, why go against the stats. 1 more thing........bed bugs. If the home ever kana......good luck, be prepared to throw away many many things. Even an ex-colleague PN FT ever told me, they always check if the prev tenants were.......coz they had really bad experience. They are also shunned by other FT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 Ya man! Or else buy an apartment themselves! Eh, please lah, dont suggest this to them can a not? skali they buy up 55% of the block and turn the block into their village!!! [sweatdrop] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 tell you people hor, dun say i didn't warn you...... eng kok is the most discrimatory country and its people. You (Asians) go to their immigration counter, you will see what treatment you get. If they show me black face at the immgr counter, my face will be more black..... they can ask me stupid question, i just want to get out of there quick. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 2, 2014 Share May 2, 2014 I think this is called racial stereo typing. In this case maybe its more national stereo typing and not so much racial stereo typing cos the discrimination is against India Indian and China Chinese and not say Singapore Chinese or Malaysian Chinese etc As far as I know there is very little discrimination on Chinese people from say Malaysia or Singapore. One of the national stereo typing is that Japanese young ladies are very clean and hygienic. Some people even say renting to a Japanese family the unit left was cleaner than before they moved in. So far every Japanese lady I have met were very clean and maybe its just my personal bias and prejudice and that's very bad. So to be more scientific I try to meet as many Japanese young ladies as possible and check on their hygiene and cleanliness. Some people choose to only rent to Japanese and Korean families as they also "heard" they were very clean. Maybe they are just trying to work out their personal bias and prejudice and trying to find one family that is not clean and they will not stop until they find one. I am still trying my best to find a dirty Japanese or Korean young lady and I can honestly tell you I have been very very disappointed so far. But rest assured I will not stop until I succeed. Anyone wanting help me will be most welcome. This way we can work out our personal bias and prejudices and at the same time broaden our minds. Discrimination is wrong, lets stamp it out. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...