Dojon 1st Gear April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 So what's the use of 'N' for AT car? Dun see the point of having it since it seem like a poison for AT car to have. Any particular usage for that ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 So what's the use of 'N' for AT car? Dun see the point of having it since it seem like a poison for AT car to have. Any particular usage for that ? One WS asked me this question ... Cheaper to replace brake pads or gearbox ? You are right, the "N" does not serve any purpose unless when towing ... I may be wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alphas 2nd Gear April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 N usually when u want to ramp the engine without load, or disengage the wheels for towing, pushing or even flipping :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged May 5, 2014 Author Share May 5, 2014 Went to TC Toa payoh. Changed a engine sensor, costed me $880 damn nice number. ... hope it be ok till rod.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Went to TC Toa payoh. Changed a engine sensor, costed me $880 damn nice number. ... hope it be ok till rod.. Don't understand why you go back to tc.... Any other workshop sure cheaper.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Check the fluid lvl first, there was once my transmission oil total drain because mechanic fail to tighten screw, step on accelerator but won't move. Do you service your GB periodically? Your mech deserves to b sacked. he sud b selling makan at a hawker centre or sumthin. There worse he forget to put chilli n get screwed by fussy customer. Likely alrdy some permenant damage done to yr autobox. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 (edited) looks like i better skip the engage to nuetral habit.... my current latio 4AT is 7yrs 3mths old and hitting 180K in a couple of days time.... better take more care... If u alrdy hv been doing it for 7 yrs n 180K km.....then maybe its alrdy too late to save yr autobox? Hahahahaha. But why u put "N"? Does yr car pull very hard when it stops n u hv to press brake very hard? Mine is not so heavy pull so I just step lightly on the brake can alrdy. I try not to shift gears unnecessarily. Its good to step the brake at red lights etc cos u giving a clear signal to cars approaching behind that u r stationary. Edited May 5, 2014 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Yah, brand new. Mileage was abt 150K when it started. If yr car coming to scrap.... totally not worth to pay $5K for a new autobox. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Talking about shifting at a slower speed, maybe I should start slowing the shifting, when I do 3 point turn, I always shift very fast... Just make sure u only shift when the car is at a total stop. As long as the car is not moving. I wil wait abt a half second b4 shifting just to play safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 If u alrdy hv been doing it for 7 yrs n 180K km.....then maybe its alrdy too late to save yr autobox? Hahahahaha. But why u put "N"? Does yr car pull very hard when it stops n u hv to press brake very hard? Mine is not so heavy pull so I just step lightly on the brake can alrdy. I try not to shift gears unnecessarily. Its good to step the brake at red lights etc cos u giving a clear signal to cars approaching behind that u r stationary. Agree with the safety side while doing that.. I will only do that when the car behind me also in stationary mode,... Just lazy to keep my foot on the gas... The handbrake is foot type, so I normally will engage to n, step on foot brake and relax...but I don't do this all the time.. . Hehehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 So what's the use of 'N' for AT car? Dun see the point of having it since it seem like a poison for AT car to have. Any particular usage for that ? For me I ususally park in MSCP is level ground so I just put in 'N" instead of "P" but pull handbrake. I dun need tp put in P unless I park on a slope. I only shift 1 point from N to D when drive off. Less shifting of the autobox. I guess over 10 or 20 years even, it all adds up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged May 5, 2014 Author Share May 5, 2014 Don't understand why you go back to tc.... Any other workshop sure cheaper.... Boh bian la.. Engine stuff tot they more familiar and also rush for time. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcchia Clutched May 6, 2014 Share May 6, 2014 I've a five years old Nissan sunny ride till scrap in 1999. In order to engage D, have to shift down to 1 before shift up to D. Problem started from the second years from my purchased. Workshop confirmed gear box problem that requires thousand of dollars for repair which I ignore till scrap. Bought a new Lancer 1999 scrap in 2009. Always put to N at traffic light. No problem with that. Now my ride Avante already 5 years old, doing the same habit of shifting to N at traffic light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 6, 2014 Share May 6, 2014 Not sure anyone has the same problem. My 9 yr old latio AT sedan been giving me concern. While driving, it has suddenly seem to go into neutral while the gear is in "drive". What happens is the engine suddenly just revs but no power goes to the wheels. Macham neutral. Sometimes I just need to wait a while and Power comes back. But twice I had to roll to a complete stop, off engine and restart. Any ideas or experience anyone? ? This one sounds like no fluid going to the torque converter. The fluid pump in the the torque converter may be faulty. I think some older Nissan cars have the same issue. IMO never prompt the mechanic what to say."You say gearbox faulty? Ok lor. Can chop you more...LoL.Anything to do with gearbox, sure expensive." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AuWeiJianClarence Neutral Newbie May 11, 2014 Share May 11, 2014 my latio is til 2016 july. mileage now going to 150k.. currently no such problem, *touch wood* no such problem. anyway for those going backto TC, can go 6th lok yang road. there also got 1. lesser waiting time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taeyu 1st Gear March 7, 2015 Share March 7, 2015 Hi Fellow Latio owners I owned a 9 year old Latio hatchback sports. Any one here experienced a draggy high pitched sound when starting the engine? It occurs randomly during cold or warm starts. The duration might last one to three seconds. I tried changing engine belts a couple of time but it didn't work. Few WS also cannot determine the problem. It's not the compressor cut in sound. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 7, 2015 Share March 7, 2015 Symptoms similar to my previous Chevrolet Optra - alternator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WWbarb 1st Gear March 7, 2015 Share March 7, 2015 Hi Fellow Latio owners I owned a 9 year old Latio hatchback sports. Any one here experienced a draggy high pitched sound when starting the engine? It occurs randomly during cold or warm starts. The duration might last one to three seconds. I tried changing engine belts a couple of time but it didn't work. Few WS also cannot determine the problem. It's not the compressor cut in sound. If it is the belts, the sound will last much longer than 1-3 sec. Go latio forum and check out kelvin's workshop. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...