Movement of upcoming COE prices

175 members have voted

1. 1. After the recent 42% increase in COE quotas for the May - July 2014 period, how do you think COE prices will move in this quarter?

• Both Cat A & Cat B prices will fall
    • Only Cat A price will fall
    • Both Cat A & Cat B prices will rise
    • There will be not much of a change to prices

Well done .... LTA ...

COE must have drop becos of the changes made to the system ...

Or did it drop becos of the fact that there will be an increase of the quotas in the near future.

as some have said its v likely those "management" car bidders arent ard anymore so nobody to chiong the price up since they expect prices to fall right.

look at all these 2014 benz for sale: http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?MOD=benz&AVL=2&RPG=20&AVL=2&VEH=0&TRN=0&RGD=2014&PRC=0

something not right

Edited by Duckduck

Well done .... LTA ...

Or did it drop becos of the fact that there will be an increase of the quotas in the near future.

actually this round quota is nothing different from previous round,

it is becos of bidders become sane,

Edited by Quantum

as some have said its v likely those "management" car bidders arent ard anymore so nobody to chiong the price up since they expect prices to fall right.

look at all these 2014 benz for sale: http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?MOD=benz&AVL=2&RPG=20&AVL=2&VEH=0&TRN=0&RGD=2014&PRC=0

something not right

They must quickly sell off these cars, otherwise in 1-2 more months COE drops to 40K they will have to drop another 30K per car. Brand new cars will be cheaper than these "second hand" demo/management cars. Perhaps we will get good deals on them! [:p]

Let's see if those 2nd hand car dealers out there will still say that their prices are not affected by COE [rolleyes]

they have so much buffer....

during the times when the COE prices were ~80k, they were still offering buy AD customers trade in cars at paper + 2-3k

they have been laughing at carrotheads who bought these used cars at new car depreciation from them these past few years

[shakehead]

Well done .... LTA ...

Please don't give so much credit to LTA. They pulled the string very tight in the last few years (until we cannot breathe) and now release a little bit for us to breathe nia!

Let's see if those 2nd hand car dealers out there will still say that their prices are not affected by COE [rolleyes]

They will say their cars registered at COE $90K have higher resale values because their paper values are higher! Many 2nd hand car dealers have double faced one.

Please don't give so much credit to LTA. They pulled the string very tight in the last few years (until we cannot breathe) and now release a little bit for us to breathe nia!

They will say their cars registered at COE $90K have higher resale values because their paper values are higher! Many 2nd hand car dealers have double faced one.

I tink used car dealers will not even want to buy over cars with high coe, and if coe falls low enuf, people will jus deregister and get back the COE and parf rebates.

Imagine u buy altis at 150k, and after 3 yrs the coe falls to 30-40k, the new altis will 80-90k, people will expect a 3yr old altis to cost 60-70 k, but thats a 50% lost for u if bought at 150k. and if u deregister, u might get more than 60k.

So if that happens, it is actualy good cos if more people deregister, quota will start to increase again.

If all the while everything nice, nobody will praise. Must have up and down. When down, they will tell you it will be better in future so you got something to look forward to, when up, they will say they did a good job. Woops, am I just talking about LTA? Hmmm

If the jiao wei dealer say lidat, give him a slap lor. Or offer him lower pricing for his low paper value car, see how his words change fast fast.

I tink used car dealers will not even want to buy over cars with high coe, and if coe falls low enuf, people will jus deregister and get back the COE and parf rebates.

Imagine u buy altis at 150k, and after 3 yrs the coe falls to 30-40k, the new altis will 80-90k, people will expect a 3yr old altis to cost 60-70 k, but thats a 50% lost for u if bought at 150k. and if u deregister, u might get more than 60k.

So if that happens, it is actualy good cos if more people deregister, quota will start to increase again.

You are right. I sold my then 3-year old Mazda 3 in 2009 to a 2nd hand car dealer and was shortly deregistered. Maybe he could not find a buyer.

If all the while everything nice, nobody will praise. Must have up and down. When down, they will tell you it will be better in future so you got something to look forward to, when up, they will say they did a good job. Woops, am I just talking about LTA? Hmmm

If the jiao wei dealer say lidat, give him a slap lor. Or offer him lower pricing for his low paper value car, see how his words change fast fast.

It's like saying "head I win and tail you lose". You are right, gahmen where got lose one :D

As usual there is only one winner - garmen lah :)

When there is discount to Coe prices, better grab it especially end this year or next year (maybe GE year), cos you will never know when rules are change again...

yeah ... when coe is low ... another group of users will complain ... especially the simi scholar & expert from universities

they will suggest higher usage base charges ... raise carpark charges, raise erp, raise this and that

after raise ... coe shoot up again ... wakao ... double slap

As usual there is only one winner - garmen lah :)

When there is discount to Coe prices, better grab it especially end this year or next year (maybe GE year), cos you will never know when rules are change again...

The end loser will always be us, drivers.

Paid for:

- high coe

- road tax

- ERP

- carpark

- summons

Wah kaoz, all revenue for garmen....

govt will tell you ... take public transport

err ... but never tell you be prepared for breakdown and also raise fares ... lol

The end loser will always be us, drivers.

Paid for:

- high coe

- road tax

- ERP

- carpark

- summons

Wah kaoz, all revenue for garmen....

May not happen as I doubt COE will plunge that much to trigger such a cycle. Considering LTA have tweaked the scrap formula for cars less than 5 years old from 130% of OMV to 75% of PARF, new car prices will need to drop more this time round for more deregistration to take place. Also, these days, the AD's margin are also higher and it needs to be written off as well.

But if COE drops to 10-20k, an unlikely event, the cycle will definitely begin.

The PARF rebate for vehicles registered with COEs before the May 2002 tender exercise:

Age at De-registration (years) PARF Rebate as % of OMV

age < 5 130%

5 <= age < 6 120%

6 <= age < 7 110%

7 <= age < 8 100%

8 <= age < 9 90%

9 <= age < 10 80%

age >= 10 Nil

This below applies for cars registered with COEs from the May 2002 tender exercise onwards:

Age at De-registration (years) PARF Rebate as % of ARF

age < 5 75%

5 <= age < 6 70%

6 <= age < 7 65%

7 <= age < 8 60%

8 <= age < 9 55%

9 <= age < 10 50%

age >= 10 Nil

It's like saying "head I win and tail you lose". You are right, gahmen where got lose one :D

[thumbsup]

Exactly!

ERP is meant to help people afford a car, or GST is meant to help the poor.. =X While I understand the need for both these schemes, this rationale / reasoning is really treating Singaporeans like idiots.

Want people to afford car? For fark? Not everyone need car. Besides, parking already an issue now. If want everyone to afford, COE give more, ERP up a lot. People still wouldn't drive as much.

Want to help the poor? Don't let housing price rise so fast (in the past), and fark those landlord that charge high rent everywhere. But then, some will say this is communism liao. We are Singapore INC. Business first!

Looking at the showroom crowd with dealers all slashing prices, the May bidding might actually go up! Thus, the best to sign for a car was the recent 2nd round in April where everyone held back to wait!

Edited by Wolfverine

Looking at the showroom crowd with dealers all slashing prices, the May bidding might actually go up! Thus, the best to sign for a car was the recent 2nd round in April where everyone held back to wait!

Don't look at the coming 2mths, let those kanchiong spider rush in first, I will look at 3rd mths onward to gauge...