Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 24, 2016 Share January 24, 2016 Confirm no navigation... no idea why... but I still prefer Google Maps... all those built-in GPS - got to pay top dollar for map refreshes... like a few hundred dollars... bo hua...U have e screen Liao of course just use la. Else boliao e screen so big no nav. No need refresh one la, sg will have many new roads meh. Maybe upgrade once every two/three years lol. The last time I test drove the car (Nov/Dec 2015), the base model was $128,999.... so it's dropped $16K just like that... sigh... The base model that I inquired about the last time had quite a few things missing: 1) No keyless entry 2) No start/stop engine button 3) No sunroof 4) No auto rain-sensing wipers 5) No auto tailgate release 6) No leather (I think) 7) 17" versus 18" rims 8) No cruise control 9) No front parking assist sensors I'm going down again at the next weekend to test the car... I'm going to check against the Singapore Hyundai website... cos I didn't notice a ton of features that the website promotes... some of them are: 1) Built-in rear window shades 2) Built-in automatic rear windshield shade 3) Electronic parking brake (I am darn sure this wasn't present in both models) 4) Keyless entry (I was quite sure it wasn't present, but might be mistaken for base model) 5) Front parking assist sensors (I don't remember these) 6) Blind spot detection 7) Static bending headlights Although I must say that the last time I went down, I was looking for my ex-salesguy (old bird there) who sold me my Elantra in 2001... he sent a lady who obviously wasn't a salesperson and didn't know the car well... maybe this time I'll just pop in and get someone else... if that salesguy isn't available again. Update us bro, esp nav. Cos I understand Elantra n Tucson got the nav but not in spec sheet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24, 2016 Share January 24, 2016 (edited) Got one more thing shown in the website but I didn't notice - twin exhaust pipes... so one more to check out... Wah... will update lar.... but must wait until Sat... Actually the screen is pretty small... and I prefer the GPS mounted above the dash so that I don't take my eyes off the road... so it's ok if no GPS... as I said I looked at the car last year end... things change very quickly these days... And the Elantra GPS is an aftermarket addition. It's pretty crap... I test drove the Elantra too... and the angle of the screen is such that it gets totally washed out in daylight (no need strong sunlight)... the screen is totally useless... the Sonata screen is better though... it has a hood as it's slightly recessed. Edited January 24, 2016 by teomingern Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 24, 2016 Share January 24, 2016 Ok la that Elantra screen is also e same one in the us. Better than having no screen right hah. The screen on top of dash, only Bmw merc AUDI and Mazda has it atm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24, 2016 Share January 24, 2016 Ok la that Elantra screen is also e same one in the us. Better than having no screen right hah. The screen on top of dash, only Bmw merc AUDI and Mazda has it atm. I'll just stick my phone up there lor... hahaha... or permanently put a small tablet there... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 24, 2016 Share January 24, 2016 I'll just stick my phone up there lor... hahaha... or permanently put a small tablet there...Idea bro. Just don't go jb in it if iPad mini is up there permanently lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennethoka 2nd Gear January 24, 2016 Share January 24, 2016 The last time I test drove the car (Nov/Dec 2015), the base model was $128,999.... so it's dropped $16K just like that... sigh... The base model that I inquired about the last time had quite a few things missing: 1) No keyless entry 2) No start/stop engine button 3) No sunroof 4) No auto rain-sensing wipers 5) No auto tailgate release 6) No leather (I think) 7) 17" versus 18" rims 8) No cruise control 9) No front parking assist sensors I'm going down again at the next weekend to test the car... I'm going to check against the Singapore Hyundai website... cos I didn't notice a ton of features that the website promotes... some of them are: 1) Built-in rear window shades 2) Built-in automatic rear windshield shade 3) Electronic parking brake (I am darn sure this wasn't present in both models) 4) Keyless entry (I was quite sure it wasn't present, but might be mistaken for base model) 5) Front parking assist sensors (I don't remember these) 6) Blind spot detection 7) Static bending headlights Although I must say that the last time I went down, I was looking for my ex-salesguy (old bird there) who sold me my Elantra in 2001... he sent a lady who obviously wasn't a salesperson and didn't know the car well... maybe this time I'll just pop in and get someone else... if that salesguy isn't available again. Just tested drive the S/R version last Friday. Below is my observation: 1) Built-in rear window shades - Don't have 2) Built-in automatic rear windshield shade - Don't have 3) Electronic parking brake - Don't have ( still foot brake. Kind of disappointed for me) 4) Keyless entry - Have 5) Front parking assist sensors - Have ( but not too sure about the base model) 6) Blind spot detection - Have ( but not too sure about the base model) 7) Static bending headlights - Have ( but not too sure about the base model) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 24, 2016 Share January 24, 2016 Idea bro. Just don't go jb in it if iPad mini is up there permanently lol. True true... good reminder... hahaha... must keep... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 26, 2016 Share January 26, 2016 Just tested drive the S/R version last Friday. Below is my observation: 1) Built-in rear window shades - Don't have 2) Built-in automatic rear windshield shade - Don't have 3) Electronic parking brake - Don't have ( still foot brake. Kind of disappointed for me) 4) Keyless entry - Have 5) Front parking assist sensors - Have ( but not too sure about the base model) 6) Blind spot detection - Have ( but not too sure about the base model) 7) Static bending headlights - Have ( but not too sure about the base model) Ah I see... pretty disappointing with regard to the electronic parking brake... it's really a space saver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 I thought the price is really crazy now. For such a spacious ride its really tok kong, sunroof version 122k, possibly can still nego on that :S Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennethoka 2nd Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 Anyone know that is there any CEVS surcharge for the sunroof version? From sgcarmart it states $5000. I just want to confirm because some times sgcarmart provides wrong info. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 Anyone know that is there any CEVS surcharge for the sunroof version? From sgcarmart it states $5000. I just want to confirm because some times sgcarmart provides wrong info. how about calling the hotline? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 (edited) No CEVS confirmed. It doesn't meet the standard... no CEVS for Optima too... I notice that on the Sg Car Mart site, there is a large discrepancy between the 0-100 kmh times for the Optima and the Sonata. The Sonata is rated at 12.4 s while the Optima is like 10.5 s. a 2 second difference is astronomical... given that the cars basically are identical. Same chassis, engine, gearbox. The only difference is the engine tuning and gearbox mapping and the ECU mapping. I wonder if it's just a typo? I also note a 10 bhp difference in favour of the Optima... so what gives? The Hyundai website rates the Sonata at 12 seconds too... the Kia website left that field blank... Edited January 28, 2016 by teomingern Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennethoka 2nd Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 (edited) No CEVS confirmed. It doesn't meet the standard... no CEVS for Optima too... I notice that on the Sg Car Mart site, there is a large discrepancy between the 0-100 kmh times for the Optima and the Sonata. The Sonata is rated at 12.4 s while the Optima is like 10.5 s. a 2 second difference is astronomical... given that the cars basically are identical. Same chassis, engine, gearbox. The only difference is the engine tuning and gearbox mapping and the ECU mapping. I wonder if it's just a typo? I also note a 10 bhp difference in favour of the Optima... so what gives? The Hyundai website rates the Sonata at 12 seconds too... the Kia website left that field blank... I think Sonata and Optima don't share the same engine. Sonata is using nu engine mpi d-cvvt and Optima is using nu engine mpi cvvl From the paper CVVL is superior than D-CVVT. Actually most of the car manufacturer (honda, toyota, etc) has this Variable Valve Lift (VVL) technology ( more info please search wiki). even though CVVL has higher horse power but CVVL and D-CVVT have the same torque. Further more on paper Optima has lighter body weight so that might be the reason why optima has a faster 0-100km/h result. I guess one of the reason why optima has higher OMV might be the engine. Funny things is previuos generation of Optima also using CVVL engine but why Hyundai still using D-CVVT for their new Sonata? Cost effective? Edited January 28, 2016 by Kennethoka Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 Reviews say sonata is quiet maybe that's why? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 I think Sonata and Optima don't share the same engine. Sonata is using nu engine mpi d-cvvt and Optima is using nu engine mpi cvvl From the paper CVVL is superior than D-CVVT. Actually most of the car manufacturer (honda, toyota, etc) has this Variable Valve Lift (VVL) technology ( more info please search wiki). even though CVVL has higher horse power but CVVL and D-CVVT have the same torque. Further more on paper Optima has lighter body weight so that might be the reason why optima has a faster 0-100km/h result. I guess one of the reason why optima has higher OMV might be the engine. Funny things is previuos generation of Optima also using CVVL engine but why Hyundai still using D-CVVT for their new Sonata? Cost effective? Hmmm... didn't notice this... I don't think Komoco calls the shots on this... and I wonder if it's just a name difference? I highly doubt that Kia and Hyundai will carry so many engine variants especially for a very miniscule market like Singapore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 2sec diff between the 0-100 speed timing, that's a lot man 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 Reviews say sonata is quiet maybe that's why? Got to test the new Optima and then the Sonata and see which performs better at NVH suppression lor... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennethoka 2nd Gear January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 Hmmm... didn't notice this... I don't think Komoco calls the shots on this... and I wonder if it's just a name difference? I highly doubt that Kia and Hyundai will carry so many engine variants especially for a very miniscule market like Singapore... I doubt so, If you are interested, i think there is a youtube video touching on this. I am bad at explaining technical stuff best is you can see it yourself. As for KIA and Hyundai, even they are like 'mother and daughter relationship' I believe they operate distribution as different entity. Got to test the new Optima and then the Sonata and see which performs better at NVH suppression lor... hope to see your review soon. Actually I am still decide whether i should go for Sedan or SUV, and if i go for Sedan, I will choose between Sonata and Optima. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...