Alfc 5th Gear November 18, 2018 Share November 18, 2018 Thinking of going to drive to JB and ask around. SG definitely can’t do it liao since no panel so maybe next week drive in ask around. If don’t have then use stock for the next 8 years or by some stoke of luck win 4D and change car :) I thought some of the more established ICE shops can cut and customised your existing bracket.But of course got to pay a bit. Maybe can also check out the local stockist if they sell any internal panel parts. Wanted to change mine also but decided to stick to stock since the sound is ok to me and dun want to dismantle console since still quite new. I also really prefer the integrated console look as opposed to the floating tablet kind. I never really like it as it looks very aftermarket to me, like an add-on after-thought. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 18, 2018 Share November 18, 2018 Thinking of going to drive to JB and ask around. SG definitely canât do it liao since no panel so maybe next week drive in ask around. If donât have then use stock for the next 8 years or by some stoke of luck win 4D and change car :)Again do try Hyundai Malaysia's authorized dealers... see if they are willing to bring it in for you... I thought some of the more established ICE shops can cut and customised your existing bracket.But of course got to pay a bit. Maybe can also check out the local stockist if they sell any internal panel parts. Wanted to change mine also but decided to stick to stock since the sound is ok to me and dun want to dismantle console since still quite new. I also really prefer the integrated console look as opposed to the floating tablet kind. I never really like it as it looks very aftermarket to me, like an add-on after-thought. I agree I prefer the integrated look like our model but the floating tablet model has its advantages - don't have to look down as much when checking the navigation route... that's a significant safety advantage that I'm willing to forgo the integrated look... you can't have everything in life... sigh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear November 18, 2018 Share November 18, 2018 Again do try Hyundai Malaysia's authorized dealers... see if they are willing to bring it in for you... I agree I prefer the integrated look like our model but the floating tablet model has its advantages - don't have to look down as much when checking the navigation route... that's a significant safety advantage that I'm willing to forgo the integrated look... you can't have everything in life... sigh... In fact Josephling, the Malaysia HU looks similar to ours but in fact is better featured with wifi capability. Fret not Mingern bro, in not too long time to come, I think there will be the HUD GPS map. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 18, 2018 Share November 18, 2018 In fact Josephling, the Malaysia HU looks similar to ours but in fact is better featured with wifi capability. Fret not Mingern bro, in not too long time to come, I think there will be the HUD GPS map. Aiyoh bro... by that time I don't know if I can afford a car in Singapore or not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear November 18, 2018 Share November 18, 2018 Can lah. If not just keep the sonata and upgrade HU, I targeting to do just that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged December 2, 2018 Share December 2, 2018 Just drove to Ipoh, Penang, Genting Highlands and back. 1487 km. Top speed I rather not say... ha ha... but the car too easily hits 140 km/h... to go any higher, you need to step down to 5th gear with the engine at around 4500-5500 RPM... engine feels a bit flat when trying to pass at 120-150 km/h... you can't do a quick surge forward past another car doing around 120-130 km/h... so must plan properly... gearbox is pretty slow, and engines takes a lot of revs to hit the power band... anyway I just floor the accelerator... but still haven't hit the floorboard... the car still got more to give... whole trip on normal drive mode... example: trying to get up from 120 km/h to about 160 km/h with a BMW 5 series on your tail - the BMW was glued to my tail the entire surge in speed... it was effortless for the BMW but I was really stringing out the engine, wringing out every ounce of power possible... I didn't check but I think I should be in 5th gear... Can easily clock 14 km/L if you stick to 110 km/h on cruise control. I think I probably did around 12 km/L or less cos of higher speeds... Still using original Kumho tires. Mileage about 38,300 km now. So tires are a bit noisy but I think still decent. Front end grip not so good. Not so good grip in the wet. Car's suspension is still set up very soft - very evident at very high speeds, car tends to wallow under load when steering into tight curves at speed. Steering a bit twitchy at very high speeds, probably due to the slack play just a degree or two off centre. Car tends to get buffeted by cross winds however slight - doesn't feel as planted. Not too good for extreme curves - think Genting Highland gradients... but then again I didn't want to push too much... I think the car will do much better with a much grippier set of tires... wind noise was there but acceptable. Didn't have to raise my voice to speak to my front passenger. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephling 1st Gear December 2, 2018 Share December 2, 2018 Just drove to Ipoh, Penang, Genting Highlands and back. 1487 km. Top speed I rather not say... ha ha... but the car too easily hits 140 km/h... to go any higher, you need to step down to 5th gear with the engine at around 4500-5500 RPM... engine feels a bit flat when trying to pass at 120-150 km/h... you can't do a quick surge forward past another car doing around 120-130 km/h... so must plan properly... gearbox is pretty slow, and engines takes a lot of revs to hit the power band... anyway I just floor the accelerator... but still haven't hit the floorboard... the car still got more to give... whole trip on normal drive mode... example: trying to get up from 120 km/h to about 160 km/h with a BMW 5 series on your tail - the BMW was glued to my tail the entire surge in speed... it was effortless for the BMW but I was really stringing out the engine, wringing out every ounce of power possible... I didn't check but I think I should be in 5th gear... Can easily clock 14 km/L if you stick to 110 km/h on cruise control. I think I probably did around 12 km/L or less cos of higher speeds... Still using original Kumho tires. Mileage about 38,300 km now. So tires are a bit noisy but I think still decent. Front end grip not so good. Not so good grip in the wet. Car's suspension is still set up very soft - very evident at very high speeds, car tends to wallow under load when steering into tight curves at speed. Steering a bit twitchy at very high speeds, probably due to the slack play just a degree or two off centre. Car tends to get buffeted by cross winds however slight - doesn't feel as planted. Not too good for extreme curves - think Genting Highland gradients... but then again I didn't want to push too much... I think the car will do much better with a much grippier set of tires... wind noise was there but acceptable. Didn't have to raise my voice to speak to my front passenger. Great review Bro! Good details and definitely good to know how our car will perform! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephling 1st Gear December 17, 2018 Share December 17, 2018 Write me here >>> https://bit.ly/2QutJnTSimi link Lai eh? Seems like a phishing site. Bros... don’t click it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear December 17, 2018 Share December 17, 2018 Already reported. Just ignore the post.sometimes they sell passport too. Just an update that the facelift Sonata seem to be off the market liao as it is no longer on the price list. Think I only seen one on road so far. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged December 19, 2018 Share December 19, 2018 Yup... I have only seen one... a pale gold colour... I really love this car... runs so smoothly and stably at 150 km/h... I just hit 180 km/h this trip... still very stable... you don't feel like at that speed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear December 19, 2018 Share December 19, 2018 (edited) Yup... I have only seen one... a pale gold colour... I really love this car... runs so smoothly and stably at 150 km/h... I just hit 180 km/h this trip... still very stable... you don't feel like at that speed... Yah I like the stability too, so easy and comfortable to drive. One can really fool people if there is a blind test that this is only a Hyundai. Really super under-rated and thanks to the badge (or lack of) that we can get it at our price point. Probably many also dont take to the facelift (neither here nor there) and price with VES not helping. In fact, I think competition too from other midsize car like mazda 6 which really present good value at today's price point due to its VES neutral band. But while being so, it is still missing some of the niceties (e.g panoramic sunroof, smart trunk and ventilated seats) in our 2-years old Sonatas. Edited December 19, 2018 by Alfc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged December 19, 2018 Share December 19, 2018 The Mazda 6 is really good value at this point of time... definitely better than the face-lift Sonata... I was looking at the 6 when I bought the Sonata... the pricing then was almost $20,000 more... with fewer features... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear December 19, 2018 Share December 19, 2018 Yah the Mazda 6 was also my first choice over the Sonata for a while. Like the sporty look and interior design. But after the test drive, I know my priority is space, ride comfort, insulation which is where the Sonata is better imo. Not to mention the fully loaded features. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephling 1st Gear December 20, 2018 Share December 20, 2018 So I went JB Hyundai to ask for my HU. They won’t order or bring in... saying the spare parts dealer is in KL and their system don’t have pricing. After that I went KSL for lunch and decided to pop by a few of the car audio shops lining the road. In the end, the shop gave me a Singapore audio shop number who told me to wait. Our car’s panel is now left hand drive that came out which is good news because the right hand drive usually follows shortly although we don’t know when. So it’s back to the wait game :) On the bright side, I save some money and tell myself I did everything I could. Got to be contented using stock HU 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged December 21, 2018 Share December 21, 2018 So I went JB Hyundai to ask for my HU. They wonât order or bring in... saying the spare parts dealer is in KL and their system donât have pricing. After that I went KSL for lunch and decided to pop by a few of the car audio shops lining the road. In the end, the shop gave me a Singapore audio shop number who told me to wait. Our carâs panel is now left hand drive that came out which is good news because the right hand drive usually follows shortly although we donât know when. So itâs back to the wait game :) On the bright side, I save some money and tell myself I did everything I could. Got to be contented using stock HU You're referring to the 2015 Sonata right? If so, the right hand drive panel should already available... so far I can only find left hand drive panels cos they're sold mainly by Korean and Chinese retailers... and their cars are all left hand drive... this car isn't sold in UK which gets the i-series... and I haven't seen anyone from Oz or NZ selling this panel either... cos Oz & NZ are right hand drive... those two countries are our only hope actually... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TedDOg Neutral Newbie December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 I provide all types of creative writing services. May it be E-books, Short stories, novels, essays or anything else you can think of, and I can write on any niche. You can rely on me regarding any of your writing work. customwritingservices.shop 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged January 10, 2019 Share January 10, 2019 Just an update... the trip computer will warn you if your smart key's battery is low... mine signaled a weak battery... went down to Komoco to ask them how to open the key to replace the battery... texted my SE and he very kindly asked me to come down... he waited for me before haring off to the Motor Show set up... Opening the smart key is super difficult... you need to aim at the right part with a screwdriver to open it... or use the hidden key in reverse and prise it open... sure damage the plastic a bit... and my key doesn't fit in as well anymore... sigh... What you see is the smart key opened up... it uses a CR-2032 size battery... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear January 11, 2019 Share January 11, 2019 (edited) Just an update... the trip computer will warn you if your smart key's battery is low... mine signaled a weak battery... went down to Komoco to ask them how to open the key to replace the battery... texted my SE and he very kindly asked me to come down... he waited for me before haring off to the Motor Show set up... Opening the smart key is super difficult... you need to aim at the right part with a screwdriver to open it... or use the hidden key in reverse and prise it open... sure damage the plastic a bit... and my key doesn't fit in as well anymore... sigh... 20190109_162802.jpg What you see is the smart key opened up... it uses a CR-2032 size battery... Thanks for sharing. Still thought of DIY when my turn comes. Doesn't look too tough on the Youtube demos. Guess some "skill" still require. If break, maybe can get a spare from Taobao. Btw i just changed my tyres. Kena nail on 1 wheel and right smack in the tyre shoulder. Hence deemed irreparable. Can change 2 first but in the end change all four as it is not here not there. Think tyres still can last till end of year but in the end decide just bite the bullet. Our profile / size not so common but luckily some of the PI started bringing in this size so got a few more choices . Edited January 11, 2019 by Alfc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...