Hyundai Sonata (2015)

Thaiyotakamli

Hi I am new here.

Just ordered a Sonata last Sunday and got the COE on first try on Wednesday (6 bids NG).

Happy to join the exclusive group of Sonata owners here.

Was deciding between the Teana and Sonata, but eventually the price (non S/R version) and the space at the back, and definitely the good reviews here won me over.

Now waiting for shipment to arrive in mid-May according to SE.

Just check with you guys how is the solar film that they are giving free? Should I upgrade to a better solar film? Or should I get the magnetic laser shades?

Wise Choice! Seem like there is an influx of member recently. 

I got mine too after looking at the facelift model and still prefer the more elegant conservative boring look of the current model.

This car is not photogenic at all. A lot of things and design (especially interior) are flush so look very plain in picture.

New model really more for angmo taste (US market) who prefer something louder and more stylo milo. 

Hi I am new here.

Just ordered a Sonata last Sunday and got the COE on first try on Wednesday (6 bids NG).

Happy to join the exclusive group of Sonata owners here.

Was deciding between the Teana and Sonata, but eventually the price (non S/R version) and the space at the back, and definitely the good reviews here won me over.

Now waiting for shipment to arrive in mid-May according to SE.

Just check with you guys how is the solar film that they are giving free? Should I upgrade to a better solar film? Or should I get the magnetic laser shades?

Wow! Congrats!!! Welcome here!!! More kakis to talk about the car...

Quick update after driving for a year and two weeks...

Car's great... switched from Eco to Normal... power is great!!! Hahaha... never drive Eco again...

Last tank from Eco mode was 11.92 km/L. Average is 11.5 km/L for Eco mode after one year.

Will report my first tank on Normal.

My 8" screen hung last night. Parts of the screen did not display. Was running normally all this while. Tried to press the power button to reboot while driving but it seemed to only put the screen to sleep. On powering on again, it just resumed playing back the mp3 from my USB drive. As I did it a few times, each time I powered on, th volume got louder. Finally I lost control over the volume, either turning the knob or my steering controls. Powered down the screen until I reached my car park. Turned off the engine, leaving the screen off. Turned on the engine, then powered up the screen. Everything back to normal. Then this morning, all ok also. Just now drive back from work, all ok also... probably a software glitch... electronics... sigh...

Wise Choice! Seem like there is an influx of member recently. 

I got mine too after looking at the facelift model and still prefer the more elegant conservative boring look of the current model.

This car is not photogenic at all. A lot of things and design (especially interior) are flush so look very plain in picture.

New model really more for angmo taste (US market) who prefer something louder and more stylo milo. 

Actually I think I like the face-lifted look leh... a bit more chrome on the grille slats... quite nice leh... hahaha...

Yes, scratched on the exterior. I wish I have your patience. Need to do more fishing perhaps.

I don't get to see the sun much while driving to work. Weekends yes, I see more. Let's see how long I can go without solar film. For the FOC installation, I suppose it has 1 month expiry date. Still got time to consider.

Fishing? No lar... I don't do fishing... hehehe... just sit and see how they do it lor... it's quite fascinating leh...

Just a word of caution... try not to install the FOC film, then take it off and go for something better quality... not good for the glass surface... sometimes got residue that can't be seen but when you put the new film on, you see imperfections... very annoying and ugly... you can get a $300 rebate from your V-Kool installation. What I mean is that they will give you $300 off your V-Kool installation if you opt for V-Kool instead of the FOC film.

Taste is personal.... no right or wrong. Haha.. no matter, we are still a rare sight on the road. Once face-lift come, it will seal our exclusivity.

I think the facelifted model is quite nice too, more sporty looking, looks a bit like a Jaguar. But I am happy with the current one - more executive, elegant look. Yes and I love the exclusivity!

It is not that critical if you dun drive in the sun for most part. But I see it as a small investment over the whole scheme of things even if you top up a bit for the premium grade. You get to enjoy the benefits (cooler car even if marginally, less strain for the aircon, protection for the interior etc) over the next 10 years. Can think about it.

Agree. It does have some long term benefits no matter what.

Ok. Did my 1st 1,000km servicing this afternoon. According to the technician, the 5,000km servicing was not necessary if there's nothing wrong with the car. He said that the synthetic oil given could last 10,000km and so won't do flushing on 5,000km. Well I'm thinking perhaps it is good to go in to have a check at 5,000km afterall. Free labour why not? Yes cheapskate but why not?

So far so good. Yes, still feel very good and satisfied. While driving back to office, I tried the "sports" mode. Hey, the car flew! For those used to more powerful engines may say that I most likely just came down from the mountains. But comparing with the other 2 modes, it's really refreshing.

On the looks, current and the facelift version, I kind of rushed to get mine because while I want a Sonata, I do not want the facelift version. Personal preference really. I like the current DRL better. I like the current signature tail-lights better. I suspect the designers didn't want the current Sonata to look too alike the Genesis hence designed something bold and sporty to differentiate between a high-end and a mid-range. Of course to be in the game too since the other makes in the same segment come with bold and sporty looks.

On a not too happy note, I scratched my front left rim! Very careless of me. Was happily driving and with a trail of big trucks on my right, I tried to "siam" more to the left and did not notice a protruding curb. Bumped my front left wheel on it and scratched the rim as a result. Super heartache. Initially, I thought I hit the bumper. I stopped  nearby and inspected. Well a relief though, it's only a scratch on the rim. Lesser of 2 evils, I suppose I can settle for a scratch. Such consolation makes me feel better, regardless the logic.

Cheers.

Edited by MGP17

Totally understand your feeling. This car hides its mass very well but is really one of the broadest car around. Parking, turning in tight corners really got to be extra vigilant. 

I guess we share similar taste on choosing between current vs facelift. While nice, I just feel the current design language "fluidic scrulpture 2.0" blends better with the current look. More "Dai Fong" to me or maybe it is my age haha....  

Totally understand your feeling. This car hides its mass very well but is really one of the broadest car around. Parking, turning in tight corners really got to be extra vigilant.

I guess we share similar taste on choosing between current vs facelift. While nice, I just feel the current design language "fluidic scrulpture 2.0" blends better with the current look. More "Dai Fong" to me or maybe it is my age haha....

Totally agree about the elegant looks... Edited by teomingern

Ok. Did my 1st 1,000km servicing this afternoon. According to the technician, the 5,000km servicing was not necessary if there's nothing wrong with the car. He said that the synthetic oil given could last 10,000km and so won't do flushing on 5,000km. Well I'm thinking perhaps it is good to go in to have a check at 5,000km afterall. Free labour why not? Yes cheapskate but why not?

So far so good. Yes, still feel very good and satisfied. While driving back to office, I tried the "sports" mode. Hey, the car flew! For those used to more powerful engines may say that I most likely just came down from the mountains. But comparing with the other 2 modes, it's really refreshing.

On the looks, current and the facelift version, I kind of rushed to get mine because while I want a Sonata, I do not want the facelift version. Personal preference really. I like the current DRL better. I like the current signature tail-lights better. I suspect the designers didn't want the current Sonata to look too alike the Genesis hence designed something bold and sporty to differentiate between a high-end and a mid-range. Of course to be in the game too since the other makes in the same segment come with bold and sporty looks.

On a not too happy note, I scratched my front left rim! Very careless of me. Was happily driving and with a trail of big trucks on my right, I tried to "siam" more to the left and did not notice a protruding curb. Bumped my front left wheel on it and scratched the rim as a result. Super heartache. Initially, I thought I hit the bumper. I stopped  nearby and inspected. Well a relief though, it's only a scratch on the rim. Lesser of 2 evils, I suppose I can settle for a scratch. Such consolation makes me feel better, regardless the logic.

Cheers.

I am also very worried about bumps and scratches with this big car, coming from my current Avante (which is relatively small and nimble). The non-SR version does not come with front sensors, so thankful that my SE threw them in FOC. (need to fix them at an external workshop)

But I think minor scratches and dents are unavoidable with such a big car. And HDB carparks and lots are getting smaller.

I am also very worried about bumps and scratches with this big car, coming from my current Avante (which is relatively small and nimble). The non-SR version does not come with front sensors, so thankful that my SE threw them in FOC. (need to fix them at an external workshop)

But I think minor scratches and dents are unavoidable with such a big car. And HDB carparks and lots are getting smaller.

Wow! Cool! Are the free front sensors connected to your supervision cluster?

Nope, SE says not linked to supervision cluster. But there will be some indicator bar to inform driver if too close to obstacle in front. I will take a picture next time. My car is probably still in the Korean factory lol!

Oh... that's interesting...

Just be careful when you're driving in the multi-storey car park. Watch the curbs... but you have to be slow... very slow... when you're more familiar with car, must keep your discipline cos you will tend to do go faster...

Choose your car parking lot carefully lor... heh heh... I try to park higher up where there are fewer cars... just take the lift if you don't want to walk down and climb up. I take it as exercise... my place just level 4B only... the good thing is my car park is pretty spacious...

Thanks for the advice @teomingern !

By the way, how's your VK40 Vkool solar film? Still undecided whether to splurge 1k to upgrade the solar film. I mean I am doing without any solar film on my Avante currently, but of course it does get very hot when parked under the hot sun, and the sun does come in from the sides on mornings and evenings, a bit uncomfortable for my kid at the back.

I also read in forums the solar film might not make much of a difference.

Alternatively I can get the laser shades which are 200+ a set, cheaper than solar film.

Thanks for the advice @teomingern !

By the way, how's your VK40 Vkool solar film? Still undecided whether to splurge 1k to upgrade the solar film. I mean I am doing without any solar film on my Avante currently, but of course it does get very hot when parked under the hot sun, and the sun does come in from the sides on mornings and evenings, a bit uncomfortable for my kid at the back.

I also read in forums the solar film might not make much of a difference.

Alternatively I can get the laser shades which are 200+ a set, cheaper than solar film.

Hello manufest...

Yeah it's good lar... the workmanship is excellent... not a single bubble or tear or fold... I wind down my windows quite often cos my workplace's car park is open air... also open the sunroof to cool down the car...

I'm installing the film to protect the interior from the UV light damaging the plastics and fabrics. As I mentioned in a post much earlier, the decals from my 9-year old Subaru Impreza were transferred over to this car. None of them fade... especially my workplace's decal which I need to enter the compound... not faded at all... amazing... and I attribute that to the VKool installed on that Impreza... nothing in the previous ride was faded or cracked or discoloured...

So the $1000 is worth it if you're intending to drive this car for 10 years....

Laser Shades for 5 pieces is $250 I think... I can't quite remember... but they have stock and it's customised for the Sonata we drive... I didn't take up the offer cos need to take down when driving at night... not safe to drive with it on cos it does reduce visibility to some extent, and with the kind of rain these days, it's pretty difficult to see out back or sides even without the shades... will take a long drive up to Malaysia... still vacillating... not sure if I should get it...

Hello manufest...

Yeah it's good lar... the workmanship is excellent... not a single bubble or tear or fold... I wind down my windows quite often cos my workplace's car park is open air... also open the sunroof to cool down the car...

I'm installing the film to protect the interior from the UV light damaging the plastics and fabrics. As I mentioned in a post much earlier, the decals from my 9-year old Subaru Impreza were transferred over to this car. None of them fade... especially my workplace's decal which I need to enter the compound... not faded at all... amazing... and I attribute that to the VKool installed on that Impreza... nothing in the previous ride was faded or cracked or discoloured...

So the $1000 is worth it if you're intending to drive this car for 10 years....

Laser Shades for 5 pieces is $250 I think... I can't quite remember... but they have stock and it's customised for the Sonata we drive... I didn't take up the offer cos need to take down when driving at night... not safe to drive with it on cos it does reduce visibility to some extent, and with the kind of rain these days, it's pretty difficult to see out back or sides even without the shades... will take a long drive up to Malaysia... still vacillating... not sure if I should get it...

One point to note. Just about any cheap solar film will block 99% of UV. The only differences between cheaper solar film and more expensive ones are in the TSER rating and the reflectivity(both internal and external).

Any cheap solar film will protect your interior from UV. My avatar was on "free" solar film for 10yrs and the interior was still pristine.

One point to note. Just about any cheap solar film will block 99% of UV. The only differences between cheaper solar film and more expensive ones are in the TSER rating and the reflectivity(both internal and external).

Any cheap solar film will protect your interior from UV. My avatar was on "free" solar film for 10yrs and the interior was still pristine.

Yes that is correct... I would still take Vkool for superior heat rejection... especially on longer drives in direct sunlight....

Latest hyundai price list on sgcarmart has no more base version (non S/R) of Sonata!

Preparing for face lifted model coming in I guess?