Lusoo Neutral Newbie September 26, 2016 Share September 26, 2016 anybody can share a little bit on the quality of leather seat for basic model. Heard that it is locally fitted with half genuine leather. Am considering which model (basic or sun/roof) before order. Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear September 27, 2016 Share September 27, 2016 anybody can share a little bit on the quality of leather seat for basic model. Heard that it is locally fitted with half genuine leather. Am considering which model (basic or sun/roof) before order. Thanks in advance. Hello... I'm driving the sunroof model. Got my car in April. The seats are the same whether basic or sunroof model. My SE says it's real leather. My take after using the car for about 6 months is that it feels like synthetic leather. It doesn't have the smell of genuine leather. If you use expensive small leather goods, I think you will know the leather smell... that's my take. The feel is also quite different from genuine leather. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lusoo Neutral Newbie September 27, 2016 Share September 27, 2016 teomingern, thanks for your sharing. Will take note Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear September 27, 2016 Share September 27, 2016 Hello... I'm driving the sunroof model. Got my car in April. The seats are the same whether basic or sunroof model. My SE says it's real leather. My take after using the car for about 6 months is that it feels like synthetic leather. It doesn't have the smell of genuine leather. If you use expensive small leather goods, I think you will know the leather smell... that's my take. The feel is also quite different from genuine leather.Interesting. When I was considering the current Sonata, my SE told me that it's all real leather, but sunroof model is factory fitted leather, while base model is locally wrapped. Then again, SE's aren't exactly experts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lun71 2nd Gear September 27, 2016 Share September 27, 2016 I have been a owner of 4 different hyundai models before. Personally I still love i45 best. It is on par with Jap top model such as the camry that time. And most importantly, its performance was even better. The only let down was the on the cabin material. For the sonata, I find it is rather conservative. The features are greatly impressive but the performance again on the lower end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear September 28, 2016 Share September 28, 2016 Well I find that the fuel consumption figures for Hyundai pretty accurate. After that scandal in the US, they learnt to reflect accurate figures which a d obtainable in real life driving conditions. As for power, the figures are within 10% of of each other - Nissan Teana, Hyundai Sonata, Mazda 6, Toyota Camry, Honda Accord. So you really feel that 5-10 hp difference when you're close to Lie redline really. Also the feel of power is highly dependent on the choice of gearing ratios as well as the software programming for the gearbox shifts. It depends on what the company prioritizes. If you read or watch comparison drives, you'll find that other issues like road holding, accuracy of steering, suspension feel, etc may be more important than outright power... I guess the more conservative looks and interior suits me more. I didn't like the swoopy interior of the i40. My first consideration was a station wagon. At that point, the i40 station wagon was slightly cheaper. But I found the Sonata's interior better finished. More luxurious looking. So I decided on the Sonata at the end. The current Sonata is definitely on par if not better than all if Japanese makes now with the exception of maybe the Mazda 6. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear October 2, 2016 Share October 2, 2016 Price dropped for the Sonata... now only $118 K... from advertisement seems like that's the price for the sunroof model... but have to check the COE rebate... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged October 3, 2016 Share October 3, 2016 Price dropped for the Sonata... now only $118 K... from advertisement seems like that's the price for the sunroof model... but have to check the COE rebate... This is an attractive price for a car of this type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear October 3, 2016 Share October 3, 2016 Price dropped for the Sonata... now only $118 K... from advertisement seems like that's the price for the sunroof model... but have to check the COE rebate...No kidding? That's much lower than when I was shopping, and COE was lower then. Zhun boh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear October 4, 2016 Share October 4, 2016 That's the advertisement pushed to my email via Sgcarmart... also newspapers had that price also on Sat... but let's see what the terms are like first lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear October 4, 2016 Share October 4, 2016 That's the advertisement pushed to my email via Sgcarmart... also newspapers had that price also on Sat... but let's see what the terms are like first lor...In my experience, prices advertised in newspapers typically include all possible discounts. They aren't retail prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 Latest news: https://www.google.com.sg/amp/www.autoblog.com/amp/2016/10/20/hyundai-sonatas-flying-sunroof-recall/?client=ms-android-samsung Sounds scary... don't have this problem... but I seldom open the roof... too hot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lun71 2nd Gear October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 I have shifted from Hyundai to Toyota. My experience is Hyundai parts are so much cheaper from the stocklist like Song Yi. But I like the power delivery and creamy smooth ride from Toyota (my current ride is Camry). If there will be more horses and/or torque being punched into the new sonata, I would really consider. Look and design wise still nothing beat the korean maker. Not to mention the fully packed features. Interesting. When I was considering the current Sonata, my SE told me that it's all real leather, but sunroof model is factory fitted leather, while base model is locally wrapped. Then again, SE's aren't exactly experts. Sad to say that 90% of KMC SEs are not so professional with their selling. To minimise any miscommunication and to avoid expectation gap, I will ask the SE to note down in black and white on the sales agreement for items we have agreed upon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 (edited) If there will be more horses and/or torque being punched into the new sonata, I would really consider. Look and design wise still nothing beat the korean maker. Not to mention the fully packed features. Actually, the Sonata's engines in other markets are perfectly decent, including a 2.0 turbo at the top of the range. It's just that Singapore's stuck with older engines. Edited October 28, 2016 by Muser Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lun71 2nd Gear October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 Actually, the Sonata's engines in other markets are perfectly decent, including a 2.0 turbo at the top of the range. It's just that Singapore's stuck with older engines. Firstly its perception. When comes to turbo cars around this segment people will tends to get a VW. The brand recognition seems so much more important than the feedback problems of the ride.... And secondly most people that settled down with a Korea make would not be so keen to go for a turbo. Even KM didn't really interested to bring in the 1.5L turbo Civic recently until there are sufficient feedback of interests and demands. Unless the future trend in SG will be small engine with turbo then KMC will bring in more turbo variants. Just like in the past KMC used to bring in the lowest/basic specs variant of their models line up, until C&C bring in full specs KIA for competition. Hence now you see all fancy features with Hyundai here. Lol... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear November 5, 2016 Share November 5, 2016 Now that it has been conclusively proven that small capacity turbos are very polluting under high load, I think the attention may shift to Hyundai's turbos... their smallest turbo is a 1.6 L, which is deemed the smallest turbo that is practically efficient and still has enough power that is comparable to a 2.0 L NA engine... really hope that Hyundai's engines will be good enough for the new emissions standards tests that will kick in soon.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear November 5, 2016 Share November 5, 2016 (edited) Ok... just want to share that I found out that the Sonata has a rear fog lamp... hahaha... it only comes on when you switch on the main lights... Edited November 5, 2016 by teomingern 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear November 19, 2016 Share November 19, 2016 Just a quick update for the Sonata... the vanity mirrors on the front passenger and driver's sunshades keep popping out of their sockets... super annoying... went for 10,000 km servicing and told them about it... they forgot and had to drive me car up again to the workshop to get it checked out... and then no stock... now they called to say got stock and they'll replace the units.... now need to find time... and need to wait again... I had a flat front right tire just three days back... the wheel nuts were over-tightened so that I simply could not remove them... this was after the 10,000 km servicing, they rotated the front tires (for I don't know what) and charged me $25 for it... sian... didn't tell me... I could have done it for RM10... in the end, I had to just call Hyundai Roadside Assistance to help me with removing the wheel nuts... a passerby who walked past me in the MSCP tried to help but it was impossible... in the end paid the Hyundai Roadside Assistance guy $30 for the job... he also said the nuts were overly tightened... good thing was he stayed nearby or he was nearby and so he came in 10 min... So that's the latest episode... On the tire flat, the tire puncture was due to a pen knife blade section (the tab that you break off to make the tip sharper) slotting vertically into one of the grooves on the tire and then piercing the rubber... the repair shop had to detach the tire, roughen up the inside, before sealing down the cut with a rubber patch... I was advised to use the spare tire (full sized, sports rim) and use the repaired tire as a spare... Haiz... first time got a flat like that... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...