Hyundai Sonata (2015)

Thaiyotakamli

Huh? How can pump more than the fuel tank capacity? The fuel tank is only 70 L leh... thanks for the info though...

687 km sounds normal... but I guess it's dependent on your driving style... mine is quite aggressive... so use more fuel...

@jiangwei @teomingern

My max range is :

attachicon.gif20160514_195341.jpg

Didnt get 700km thou... it indicated as 687km when i pump full tank.

Before I top up fuel the range to empty indicated as 20km.

from 20 to 687km, i pump a total of:

attachicon.gif20160514_195245.jpg

Wah..went to JB to pump full tank..you dont get spot check is it? Kena conned or not..77 litres

Edited by DonaldKuok

Wah..went to JB to pump full tank..you dont get spot check is it? Kena conned or not..77 litres

Force feed my sonata to max the tank.. Think the tank can take 80litre leh.. SG pump oso ard this no of litre..

Huh? How can pump more than the fuel tank capacity? The fuel tank is only 70 L leh... thanks for the info though...

687 km sounds normal... but I guess it's dependent on your driving style... mine is quite aggressive... so use more fuel...

I suspect can go more den 70 litre.. I top up when left with 20km.. And can fill up to 77litre.. I think the 20km should make up the remaining 3 litre?

Same with teana. Must put to L/R than it will tilt down when reverse.

Wow!!! This is a little discussed feature that is so important...

Anyway, I discovered that when I flip the wing mirror L/R switch to R and reverse, both mirrors tilt down anyway... hahaha... so that's exceedingly useful... not just the right side tilts, but both! :)

Force feed my sonata to max the tank.. Think the tank can take 80litre leh.. SG pump oso ard this no of litre..

I suspect can go more den 70 litre.. I top up when left with 20km.. And can fill up to 77litre.. I think the 20km should make up the remaining 3 litre?

Seriously... wow! Hmmm.... I never pump myself one lar... always get the pump attendant to do it... maybe when I pump in M'sia I will have to do it myself... then it might register a different value when pumping... this is so weird... hahaha... can 10 L more is really a lot leh...

Wow!!! This is a little discussed feature that is so important...

Anyway, I discovered that when I flip the wing mirror L/R switch to R and reverse, both mirrors tilt down anyway... hahaha... so that's exceedingly useful... not just the right side tilts, but both! :)

Seriously... wow! Hmmm.... I never pump myself one lar... always get the pump attendant to do it... maybe when I pump in M'sia I will have to do it myself... then it might register a different value when pumping... this is so weird... hahaha... can 10 L more is really a lot leh...

The pump attendant will normally insert nozzle all the way in to the refilling hole.. but I refill it with the tip of the nozzle close to the refilling hole.. so can fill more.. and also.. normally the pump attendant will depress the nozzle fully so can pump faster.. but I use the slowest refilling rate on the nozzle.. cos when u pump too fast.. sometI messaging the air in the gas tank cannot escape fast enough.. if u notify when u pump petrol it's not like pure water coming out from tap kind that smooth.. I realise it's more like 'soda' coming out from the nozzle with mixture of air.

So pump slow let the air in the car escape so your car can take more petrol. That's why there's ppl stomping Singaporean shaking their car.. haha.. cos to let air come out and can pump more.. same idea.. but I dun do that. Haha. I pump slow.. same same idea but different.. hope my comment make sense to u.. haha

Edited by WayneTohBunChin

Not sure if the pumping slowly works... hahaha... air is significantly less dense than petrol... no reason for it to be 'trapped' inside... moving the nozzle further out makes sense cos you move the sensor at the pump tip further from the surface of the petrol inside the tank... still additional 7 L is a bit hard to swallow... is the neck from the opening of the fuel tank to the tank itself so long that it can take 7 L? Wow! Quite unimaginable...

hahaha.. next time find me help u pump petrol.. haha!! i help u max out... haha

next time i pump i go to somewhere else to pump see if the meter is right... i will drive till left 20km to empty den pump at different petrol station..

hahaha.. next time find me help u pump petrol.. haha!! i help u max out... haha

next time i pump i go to somewhere else to pump see if the meter is right... i will drive till left 20km to empty den pump at different petrol station..

Thanks bro!

I'll also drive to 20 km left and pump. Then we can compare.

Went to pump petrol today. Before topping up was 351km to empty.

Topped up a 46.51 litre.

Can top up till 687km. Same as the previous reading.

post-172696-0-66136200-1464002462_thumb.jpg

post-172696-0-26772800-1464002646_thumb.jpg

I pumped at 19 km to empty. Topped up only 59.95 L. Max range was 643 km. I have a feeling it's got to do with on fuel consumption. I drive the car quite hard. So I averaged about 10.5 km/L. Now I drive the car a bit gentler so that my consumption is about 11 km/L. My max range is much better now. I used to get 607 km only.

What's your average fuel consumption? 12 km/L.

Pump with an empty tank will damage your fuel pump.

The tank is not empty... I pumped in about 60 L. So the tank still has 10 L of petrol. That's not too bad... previously when I pumped the tank had about 15 L of petrol. Quite decent lar... on my previous Subaru Impreza, I pumped when the fuel low warning light came on for the past nine years. The fuel pump still ok. Must not run until really empty like left only 1 L or less... I ever pumped when I had 4-5 L left... still ok. But not too often. Once in a while when I keep forgetting to pump petrol... ha ha ha...

When the empty tank light is up it actually will strain your pump. I think best is to pump diligently.

Not true lar... the petrol tank is not a flat bottom container. There is a sump such that the petrol will accumulate there with the pump inside.

I've been getting 12.1 km/L with a more relaxed driving style. Using the cruise control on highways.

Not true lar... the petrol tank is not a flat bottom container. There is a sump such that the petrol will accumulate there with the pump inside.

I've been getting 12.1 km/L with a more relaxed driving style. Using the cruise control on highways.

Yes, i have been driving with cruise control. It works alot. that's how i get 12+km/litre too. very useful.

Just want to check with the bros here if you have gotten your insurance certificate already or not? I still haven't gotten mine yet... texted my SE three times but still no news from him. I used NTUC Income.