Hyundai Sonata (2015)

Thaiyotakamli

Park so high up waste fuel lor... going up the MSCP ramps really eat up a lot of fuel. Anyway, it's all part of of the process of owning a car... also will wear out the steering mechanism faster, plus all the bushings and bearings and the drive shaft faster also. Seriously parking in our kind of MSCP is very stressful on the car cos our MSCP ramps are very narrow and steep. They take a toll on the car if you repeat very often. That's why I wonder those people who stay in the new HDB/Shopping Mall hubs like at Clementi, how they find driving up 7 floors to park every day... and how often they have to repair their car...

Woah! The van driver forgot to pull handbrake lar... and the Sonata is the same colour as my car... totally unexpected I guess... so the Sonata driver can't take evasive action...

Hahaha... just for fun lar... when I was buying the car, I also scoured the web for all sorts of information about the Sonata... it's a bit difficult to find cos very few people drive Sonatas in Singapore. And those who drive this car don't come into this forum. So thought to do a thorough write-up and leave it as a repository here lor... anyone googling for Sonata will stumble onto this thread and can make use of the info lor...

The speaks are unbranded. The speaker grilles don't have any markings. To be honest, I haven't had time to really scrutinise the speakers lar... but the speaker output is really quite stunning. If you go for a test drive, just plug in a USB drive with the kind of music you like to listen to and then pump up the volume... sounds really good... I have tried Classical, Gospel, Chinese/English POP, Celtic, Rock and they all rock... what stands out for me is the clarity of the different sounds in a piece. Granted MP3 at 128 kbps doesn't have a lot of details but regardless it's really good. You're right, the output is very balanced. Neither boomy nor tinny. The sound is rich and full. My classical tracks are all ripped at 320 kbps and the fullness of the sound is really great! No idea if it can playback FLAC.

I keep forgetting to try 1080p video... very curious myself to see if it works.

Bro... the tyres are super expensive leh... 18"/235/45 cost at least $250 per piece... one shot $1000 minimum lor... not little leh... 2x more expensive than my 15"/195/55 tyres on my previous Impreza. 

Glad u found a ride u like sharing alot, wc means u like a lot.

yea, 128kbps oso can sound like cd quality, no horse run - tried that on new elantra but alas can't read n play video files, hope will be fitted w 8" like those overseas model. btw, the centre bottom led should b brake light, no? no rear foggies will operate at centre i believe.

Anyway, got a few things to update:

1) Went to fix my solar film today. My SE said he will give me VKool... hahaha... guess what? He sent me to a VKool shop. As they started fitting the film, I asked what type of film cos I notice the front windshield film was completely untinted. And then they said oh... this is OEM solar film... whatever that meant, but it certainly wasn't VKool... so had to top up $1000 for the Solitaire VK40 package lor... I wanted the Solitaire VK30 package but they said they returned the film cos there was a problem with the film and colour tint. The Solitaire VK40 package cost $1200. Add $100 for panoramic sunroof (using K37 film). If want to use VK40 for the sunroof must top up another $200. So my total package cost was $1300. And then they gave me a discount of $300 which is probably what my SE is paying for lar... that's his free solar film. So I paid a final sum of $1000. One annoying thing that I didn't realise is that every single panel of glass has a VKool sticker... since when they started this nonsense? I thought only the rear wind shield got the I'm Vkool sticker? Hai... good thing the stickers are very small, black and discreet. VK40 & VK30 = same properties, only that VK30 is slightly darker.

2) I discovered a new safety feature in the Sonata VIII!!!!! My car comes with Rear Cross Traffic Alert!!!! WOW!!!! That's just brilliant. I discovered it accidentally. I was backing out of the solar film workshop, and a car zoomed past. A loud beeping sound was heard and the trip computer screen showed an orange arrow running across the screen with an exclamation mark. You can check out the YouTube video below to see how it works. If you look at the trip computer screen in the middle of the gauge dash, you'll see the orange arrow and exclamation mark I talked about. I didn't look at the rear view camera screen cos there was someone guiding my car out, so when the alert was raised, I only saw in the trip computer screen. The car was pretty fast and so the alert was on for like 3-4 seconds.

3) I found out how to display the metadata of each file finally... if you look higher up, my photos of the USB playback interface shows EQ bars rising and falling with the music. Tapping that EQ bars will switch that part of the screen to display the Title, Contributing Artist, and Album. Pretty cool. I still haven't found out how to switch from folder to folder. I think there must be a way to do so...

Just an update for the Rear Cross Traffic Alert. In the YouTube video I posted, the 7 inch screen shows the arrow appearing to tell you where the vehicle is coming from as well as on the trip computer screen. But on my Sonata, the 7 inch screen doesn't show the alert signal. Just the trip computer screen. It's super useful. Today I parked at the open air car park at Sim Lim Tower, and I parked head in between two vans. My view of the rear on either side was completely blocked. As I inched out, the alert sounded, and the next moment, a car appeared creeping across from my right side... so hahaha... good for such a big car...

Got my number plate yesterday... means the car got registered yesterday... SLB 3000+ plate. Hope to get the car really soon... sigh...

I made my payment on last Sunday, gotten my car plate no yesterday.. how long do you think I will need to wait before collection?

The last time I test drove the car (Nov/Dec 2015), the base model was $128,999.... so it's dropped $16K just like that... sigh...

The base model that I inquired about the last time had quite a few things missing:

1) No keyless entry

2) No start/stop engine button

3) No sunroof

4) No auto rain-sensing wipers

5) No auto tailgate release

6) No leather (I think)

7) 17" versus 18" rims

8) No cruise control

9) No front parking assist sensors

I'm going down again at the next weekend to test the car...

I'm going to check against the Singapore Hyundai website... cos I didn't notice a ton of features that the website promotes... some of them are:

1) Built-in rear window shades

2) Built-in automatic rear windshield shade

3) Electronic parking brake (I am darn sure this wasn't present in both models)

4) Keyless entry (I was quite sure it wasn't present, but might be mistaken for base model)

5) Front parking assist sensors (I don't remember these)

6) Blind spot detection

7) Static bending headlights

Although I must say that the last time I went down, I was looking for my ex-salesguy (old bird there) who sold me my Elantra in 2001... he sent a lady who obviously wasn't a salesperson and didn't know the car well... maybe this time I'll just pop in and get someone else... if that salesguy isn't available again.

your new sonata doesnt come with the built in rear window shades and rear windshield shade right?

I made my payment on last Sunday, gotten my car plate no yesterday.. how long do you think I will need to wait before collection?

You funny leh... We dun process your car order leh.....the best person to ask is the one who sell it to you.

Stop your nitpicking please.

The forum is here for us to discuss and share information. You ask SE how long more to collect car and they will probably reply with their usual "soon soon.. hopefully by next week. I will update you again!" template.

At least through fellow FRIENDLY bros here, he can have a rough idea on the time frame and know if the SE is smoking him or not.

The forum is here for us to discuss and share information. You ask SE how long more to collect car and they will probably reply with their usual "soon soon.. hopefully by next week. I will update you again!" template.

At least through fellow FRIENDLY bros here, he can have a rough idea on the time frame and know if the SE is smoking him or not.

What nitpicking? I am merely giving him the right advise

Hello Wayne, I waited 2 days. My SE texted me the license plate number on 4 April. I got a call on 6 April morning to say I could collect the car at 5 pm. Which I did. So two days. If they delay more than 2 days, you should ask for some form of compensation cos you're losing the use of the car. The age of the car counts down from the day of registration. I made some noise cos he initially told me can collect only on 7 April and that was three days. So I think he squeezed me in somehow.

your new sonata doesnt come with the built in rear window shades and rear windshield shade right?

Don't have unfortunately... it's like only for US models... sigh... we pay enough for a Sonata here to buy a Genesis in the US and still don't get everything in the top specced US Sonata... really the step child... hai...

Oh oh... forget to congratulate you on getting a new Sonata... a bit lonely here leh... ha ha... so far I'm kind of the only one who got the car and post here... sob sob...

Did you get the sunroof model or the basic model?

Edited by teomingern

Thanks for being understanding.

Seems like teomingern gotten his car within 2 days after payment but mine is like taking 1 week already. sian.

and i guess you are right about their standard replies "soon soon" and "update you again"

Hello Wayne, I waited 2 days. My SE texted me the license plate number on 4 April. I got a call on 6 April morning to say I could collect the car at 5 pm. Which I did. So two days. If they delay more than 2 days, you should ask for some form of compensation cos you're losing the use of the car. The age of the car counts down from the day of registration. I made some noise cos he initially told me can collect only on 7 April and that was three days. So I think he squeezed me in somehow.

Don't have unfortunately... it's like only for US models... sigh... we pay enough for a Sonata here to buy a Genesis in the US and still don't get everything in the top specced US Sonata... really the step child... hai...

Oh oh... forget to congratulate you on getting a new Sonata... a bit lonely here leh... ha ha... so far I'm kind of the only one who got the car and post here... sob sob...

Did you get the sunroof model or the basic model?

I had waited for a week and like what WillyWonka said, need wait 2 weeks and soon soon.

sian sia. I bought the S/R model. To be honest, i had been looking around for people who drove sonata. i see zero sia. less taxi.

hope to see more sonata buyer so we can share our experience.

Specially for KoreanLover...

attachicon.gif20160410_101818.jpg

Zoom out view of the 7-inch entertainment screen.

attachicon.gif20160410_101839.jpg

Even wider zoom out view... not very good effect cos outside is so bright... will take again at night when it's dark outside.

The picture of that girl in the USB player software, I realise it is the album art. If your MP3 has no track, then that's the system default... they should have chosen a nicer picture...

But I used MP3Tag and attached album art for all my tracks... and this is the effect...

attachicon.gif20160410_115106.jpg

attachicon.gif20160410_115219.jpg

attachicon.gif20160410_115342.jpg

attachicon.gif20160410_115358.jpg

Actually was quite disappointed. Was expecting the infotainment to look like this:

https://www.google.com.sg/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjsrKyGlpDMAhUKoZQKHXVZCBMQjRwIBw&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pinterest.com%2Fpin%2F339881103102582639%2F&psig=AFQjCNEVpLdg_WU3QJIa0S9Yo5VIfYASnw&ust=1460793312992235

but it seems like the center panel looks so different in sg version.

Singapore one is from china and locally fitted. The latter one is original from factory.

You can see the Singapore's infotainment button is on the infotainment itself and as for the original factory fitted, the button is built onto the center panel itself

Edited by Kennethoka

Singapore one is from china and locally fitted. The latter one is original from factory.

You can see the Singapore's infotainment button is on the infotainment itself and as for the original factory fitted, the button is built onto the center panel itself

in hyundai's official video, it shows how much time and focus they put on their center panel. its a pity that we couldn't enjoy the nice panel.  :TT_TT:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TK08hsyOjS0

Ah I see... didn't realise it... hmmm... it really looks good on the centre console. But I think that version is only for US... not for Asia. We are getting the European Sonata. Not the US one. So we won't get the US features.

Thanks for being understanding.

Seems like teomingern gotten his car within 2 days after payment but mine is like taking 1 week already. sian.

and i guess you are right about their standard replies "soon soon" and "update you again"

I had waited for a week and like what WillyWonka said, need wait 2 weeks and soon soon.

sian sia. I bought the S/R model. To be honest, i had been looking around for people who drove sonata. i see zero sia. less taxi.

hope to see more sonata buyer so we can share our experience.

Eh bro... I got my car two days after it was registered. Not two days after paying... I waited about 10 days after paying. I bought the car on 21 Mar, Mon, signed and paid the downpayment. 23 Mar, Wed got the COE. 29 Mar went down to do full payment cos the car arrived. 4 Apr got my license plate. 6 Apr collected the car. Took one week from full payment to getting my car... you're still within the one week right? No worries lar... I think your SE will call you next Mon or Tue to say you can collect...

Right now just two of us with the sunroof model. Another bro here Jiangwei bought the non-sunroof model, but don't know he got his COE or not and if he got his car already or not... no updates...

Really very few people drive the Sonata... I like the elegance of the model... executive look. Not sporty like the K5 Optima but I find it more refined.

Do check in and let us know if you also get the 7-inch screen for your sunroof model.

Eh bro... I got my car two days after it was registered. Not two days after paying... I waited about 10 days after paying. I bought the car on 21 Mar, Mon, signed and paid the downpayment. 23 Mar, Wed got the COE. 29 Mar went down to do full payment cos the car arrived. 4 Apr got my license plate. 6 Apr collected the car. Took one week from full payment to getting my car... you're still within the one week right? No worries lar... I think your SE will call you next Mon or Tue to say you can collect...

Right now just two of us with the sunroof model. Another bro here Jiangwei bought the non-sunroof model, but don't know he got his COE or not and if he got his car already or not... no updates...

Really very few people drive the Sonata... I like the elegance of the model... executive look. Not sporty like the K5 Optima but I find it more refined.

Do check in and let us know if you also get the 7-inch screen for your sunroof model.

Gotten my car this tue. The base model actually come with the smart truck system but no 7" screen lah.

Was reading thru the manual and found there is a tire air pressure sensor, base model does not have it.

Does the sun roof model have that?

The Sonata is indeed a rare sight on the roads.

Gotten my car this tue. The base model actually come with the smart truck system but no 7" screen lah.

Was reading thru the manual and found there is a tire air pressure sensor, base model does not have it.

Does the sun roof model have that?

The Sonata is indeed a rare sight on the roads.

Cool bro! Now we have another Sonata... eh nope... my sunroof model also don't have tire pressure monitor...

How's the sound system on your car? Good or not? I didn't really test the sound system except listen to the radio... your antenna is also a glass antenna right? Etched on the rear windscreen?

Your car's rear view camera displays on the entertainment screen or the rear view mirror? According to me SE, it varies from batch to batch.

Edited by teomingern