Porker Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Anyone here been to Mozambique's Bazaruto Archipelago and/or Quirimbas Archipelago? Please share your experience. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Singaporeans MUST go to places where no other Singaporean has been. I can't understand it. A beach resort is a beach rsort anywhere in the world. But enjoy yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Author Share April 18, 2014 A beach resort is a beach rsort anywhere in the world. The difference is the quality of the environment, service and infrastructure. You wouldn't compare, for example, Sentosa's Beaufort with the resorts in Bora Bora. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 (edited) Singaporeans MUST go to places where no other Singaporean has been. I can't understand it. A beach resort is a beach rsort anywhere in the world. But enjoy yourself. Ya lor...dunno why so many self deluded people bother flying to other countries when their own countries have the same things. Why the Japanese tourists must go to Switzerland to see Matterhorn? Mt Fiji same same right? Why SG tourist go to Niagara Falls? Jurors Bird Park got waterfall also. Oh but that is man made? Kota Tinggi? Why T2 must smoke Cuban? Camel can liao mah... Edited April 18, 2014 by Sabian 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 The difference is the quality of the environment, service and infrastructure. You wouldn't compare, for example, Sentosa's Beaufort with the resorts in Bora Bora. You been to the resorts in Bora Bora? How did you get there??? Want to go there myself after reading some Michener books. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Author Share April 18, 2014 You been to the resorts in Bora Bora? How did you get there??? Want to go there myself after reading some Michener books. Yes. I flew to Auckland for a connection flight to Papeete followed by a flight from Papeete to Bora Bora. It's really not difficult to get there at all. I stayed at Intercontinental Le Moana. I heard Intercontinental Thalasso is better and it was under construction when I was there in 08. Of course you can try the famous Hotel Bora Bora now owned by Aman Resorts. Bora Bora is a must go for beach resort lovers. It is really paradise on earth. The water in the lagoon is so warm and amazingly clear and the people there are friendly and hospitable Next stop in Tahiti will probably be Moorea. And I want to try Fiji, Vanuatu and New Caledonia too! Indian Ocean destinations to complete will be Mozambique, Tanzania and Madagascar! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Singaporeans MUST go to places where no other Singaporean has been. I can't understand it. A beach resort is a beach rsort anywhere in the world. But enjoy yourself. Was sent there but I didn't go because I am expecting my first child.My colleague went there on my behalf & field reports are positive in Maputo but not Nacala. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Author Share April 18, 2014 Was sent there but I didn't go because I am expecting my first child. My colleague went there on my behalf & field reports are positive in Maputo but not Nacala. Can you get more info on Maputo please? I think it's a city worth exploring if it is relatively safe compared to cities such as Mogadishu or Khartoum LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 You been to the resorts in Bora Bora? How did you get there??? Want to go there myself after reading some Michener books. the wife and i wanted to go to bora bora too but settled for maldives overwater bungalows instead. afraid we'd be too exhausted after the long flight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 18, 2014 Share April 18, 2014 Can you get more info on Maputo please? I think it's a city worth exploring if it is relatively safe compared to cities such as Mogadishu or Khartoum LOL Only few will speak English and they are rather helpful people. Very low GDP so bring smaller notes. Gifts and tips are always welcome there but if one shown to give too much, you may end up with a crowd. One still can find food around 8pm at Maputo, smaller cities like Nacala, one will starve after 5pm. Medical assistance is third world and do take precaution but if you bring too much, it might be an issue as they might think u r a dealer. In general, it's a safe country, just avoid red light district etc. I recommend you to find out the MZ embassy details and also Singapore's which the nearest one is in South Africa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 19, 2014 Share April 19, 2014 Singaporeans MUST go to places where no other Singaporean has been. I can't understand it. A beach resort is a beach rsort anywhere in the world. But enjoy yourself. What a bigot. How do you know that he is going there just because it is a destination relatively unknown to Singaporeans? My advice to you. Use your brain and quit your stupid assumptions. Bigots like you make me hot under the collar. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman302 2nd Gear April 19, 2014 Share April 19, 2014 You can go. But just not sure you can enjoy with ease. Cos you will wory this worry that while you are there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 19, 2014 Share April 19, 2014 (edited) Ya lor...dunno why so many self deluded people bother flying to other countries when their own countries have the same things. Why the Japanese tourists must go to Switzerland to see Matterhorn? Mt Fiji same same right? Why SG tourist go to Niagara Falls? Jurors Bird Park got waterfall also. Oh but that is man made? Kota Tinggi? Why T2 must smoke Cuban? Camel can liao mah... Ooooi oooi ooiii! Camel made in Singapore meh? Dont put the tab on me hor! Wah lau.... Edited April 19, 2014 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 Yes. I flew to Auckland for a connection flight to Papeete followed by a flight from Papeete to Bora Bora. It's really not difficult to get there at all. I stayed at Intercontinental Le Moana. I heard Intercontinental Thalasso is better and it was under construction when I was there in 08. Of course you can try the famous Hotel Bora Bora now owned by Aman Resorts. Bora Bora is a must go for beach resort lovers. It is really paradise on earth. The water in the lagoon is so warm and amazingly clear and the people there are friendly and hospitable Next stop in Tahiti will probably be Moorea. And I want to try Fiji, Vanuatu and New Caledonia too! Indian Ocean destinations to complete will be Mozambique, Tanzania and Madagascar! From what I could see it would take 38 hours plus minus from Singapore and you have to travel via NZ. Aus or Japan. This is too long for me. Pity no direct ish flight from Sing or KL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 20, 2014 Author Share April 20, 2014 Not that long. Singapore to Auckland takes about 11 hours and Auckland to Papeete is another 5 or so hours. Papeete to Bora Bora is less than an hour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 Not that long. Singapore to Auckland takes about 11 hours and Auckland to Papeete is another 5 or so hours. Papeete to Bora Bora is less than an hour. But the transit time is so long. No short connection times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 Nice. my personal tolerance for a beach holiday is 2-3 hrs travel. Though i do wish to go Bora Bora once. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 20, 2014 Share April 20, 2014 Not that long. Singapore to Auckland takes about 11 hours and Auckland to Papeete is another 5 or so hours. Papeete to Bora Bora is less than an hour. Does it have nice warm water without the scorching sun we have in South East Asia? Asking for wifey. LOL. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...