Jack Ma: If you're still poor at 35, you deserve it!

Donut

in the 90s people make $5k per month sibei tok kong liao ... now no $25k per month no talk

strawberry early 30 work for < 5 years how to pay $1M condo or EC if not with the help from parent?

Pay? maybe... more like liquidity, I think. Just borrow and buy lah, price will go up.

The primary source of loan repayment for many is not from their monthly pay anymore but from disposal of property in the future. Anyway, this is off topic but I am just amazed you see everything from the property angle.

He can talk whatever he wants as he has made it.

For one successful person, there are countless ppl out there who has failed, and yet they have tried the same principle as him.

I always believe, LUCK plays a part in whatever you do.

No matter how diligent or clever you are, if no LUCK, forget abt it !

Even LKS acknowledged abt this.

Yeah he may be rich but nothing cures UGLY [laugh]

in the 90s people make $5k per month sibei tok kong liao ... now no $25k per month no talk

strawberry early 30 work for < 5 years how to pay $1M condo or EC if not with the help from parent?

Can provided Doctor, Lawyer or Pastor [laugh]

jack-ma-serious.jpg

Yes yes but why does he look so miserable?

Successful - yes, rich - yes but happy? Doesn't look happy to me.

If this is the face of success I am happy to be a failure.

Please do not show the picture of his eyes to young children they may have nightmares for life.

If the eyes are the windows to the soul, this is a man has a tortured soul.

Seriously he looks like Golem praying for his precious!

dont be personal leh ... no need to say tall, short, fat, thin, handsome, ugly, got hair, no hair, etc

he had made it ... he is billionaire ... he can walk with his nose up for all he care and what he want to comment

to each his own

Yes yes but why does he look so miserable?

Successful - yes, rich - yes but happy? Doesn't look happy to me.

If this is the face of success I am happy to be a failure.

Please do not show the picture of his eyes to young children they may have nightmares for life.

If the eyes are the windows to the soul, this is a man has a tortured soul.

probably stressed about keeping his money or making more money

The Chinese weren't greedy enough but you forgot something.

The Chinese then were very SELFISH.

Chinese mostly believe that *Charity Begins from Home* ... So we will help our own first before helping others ... No right or wrong lar ... some say Selfish, some will say Self Preservation ... [laugh]

When I come home very late from work, my mom always say to me "You poor thing".

I thought she felt sorry for me, now I know she is telling me I deserve it.

Thank you Jack Ma.

probably stressed about keeping his money or making more money

When people have so much money, money should be enjoyed and not be a stress.

Let money be slaves to people and not people slaves to money.

perfectly ok.

Even for love, you need to be able to love yourself first before you can truly love someone else.

Chinese mostly believe that *Charity Begins from Home* ... So we will help our own first before helping others ... No right or wrong lar ... some say Selfish, some will say Self Preservation ... [laugh]

Spread your love at home first.

Say more "I love you" to your wifey / hubby, and also your children.. And have we say this to our parents as well?

The word "Love" is priceless, not even the wealth of Jack Ma is able to buy !

Even though I may not be that rich at age of 35, but I have the richness of LOVE at home :)

So, I am in fact "richer" than Jack Ma :)

This is a positive attitude and latitude towards life as a whole from a man who has humble beginning.

22 brilliant pieces of advice from China’s most successful businessman

340055-R3L8T8D-650-lackmasite.jpg

Jack Ma is the founder of Alibaba Group, the most successful online company in Asia. He’s the first Chinese businessman to appear on the cover of Forbes magazine. He came from humble origins and worked in many different professions, and therefore has had his fair share of ups and downs, successes and failures. But he never gave up.

We thought we’d share some of Ma’s best pieces of advice — not just for those who want to be successful in the professional lives, but in life in general.

On developing ideas
  • If 90% of those present at a business meeting vote in favour of one or other suggestion, I’ll always throw it out. The reason for this is simple: If everyone present can see the opportunity here, then the chances are lots of different companies are already working on the same idea, and we won’t be able to lead the way in it.
On what not to do
  • In 2001, I made a mistake. I told my employees who had founded the company with me that the limit of their career growth was the managerial level. I thought that I needed to have professionals on my side. Year later, and none of those professionals work for us, whereas those whom I doubted had the potential to go far are now my vice-presidents.
  • The worst qualities an entrepreneur can have are: snobbishness, an inability to understand the situation properly, adopt a high tempo of work without having the ability to sustain it in the long-term, and not possessing the ability to see what’s going to happen next.
  • One principle guides me: your attitude towards work and the decisions which you take are more important than your abilities.

On complaints
  • Nothing terrible will happen if you occasionally allow yourself to complain.
  • Falling into depression and constantly complaining about the state of your life is no less destructive than alcoholism. It’s the same dangerous situation: the more you do it, the worse it gets. Successful people don’t have these kind of problems.
Advice for youth
  • What does real failure mean? It means when you give fighting for what you want.
  • What does adaptability mean? You’ll understand when you experience failure and disappointment.
  • What are you obliged to do? You’re obliged to work as hard as you can and be more ambitious than others.
  • Only fools talk out of their mouths. Intelligent people speak to themselves only in their head; wise people only in their hearts.

On living life to the full
  • Sooner or later, you’ll regret it if you spend all of your time at work.
  • I’m always reminding myself that none of us were born in order to work, but instead to enjoy life. We’re here to help make other people’s lives better, and not spend all our time working.
On competition and competitors
  • Competition is like a game of chess. If you lose once, you’ll always have another chance to win. And you don’t have to fight about it when you lose the current round.
  • If your competitor is weaker than you, you should still seem him as an equal. This works the other way, of course: even if you’re opponent is stronger than you, don’t be afraid of him.
  • A real entrepreneur has no enemies. When you understand this, no one can stop you.
​Advice to entrepreneurs
  • Clients are number one. Employees are number two. Shareholders come after both of these categories in importance.
  • Instead of looking for quick solutions and ready-made schemes, concentrate on establishing stability and promising long-term plans.
  • Today might be tough, tomorrow might be worse. But the day after will be wonderful.
On setting up your own business
  • When you start your own business, this means you’re giving up a stable income, as well as annual bonuses.
  • On the other hand, your income will be unrestricted, you’ll make use of your time much more effectively, and you won’t have to ask anyone else for permission to do something.
  • When searching for a partner, you should always look for someone who adds to your abilities and knowledge. You don’t need someone who’s already been successful at anything in particular.
  • Do your best to make sure your employees come to work every day with smiles on their faces.
Edited by Janling3

This is a positive attitude and latitude towards life as a whole from a man who has humble beginning.

22 brilliant pieces of advice from China’s most successful businessman

340055-R3L8T8D-650-lackmasite.jpg

Jack Ma is the founder of Alibaba Group, the most successful online company in Asia. He’s the first Chinese businessman to appear on the cover of Forbes magazine. He came from humble origins and worked in many different professions, and therefore has had his fair share of ups and downs, successes and failures. But he never gave up.

We thought we’d share some of Ma’s best pieces of advice — not just for those who want to be successful in the professional lives, but in life in general.

On developing ideas
  • If 90% of those present at a business meeting vote in favour of one or other suggestion, I’ll always throw it out. The reason for this is simple: If everyone present can see the opportunity here, then the chances are lots of different companies are already working on the same idea, and we won’t be able to lead the way in it.
On what not to do
  • In 2001, I made a mistake. I told my employees who had founded the company with me that the limit of their career growth was the managerial level. I thought that I needed to have professionals on my side. Year later, and none of those professionals work for us, whereas those whom I doubted had the potential to go far are now my vice-presidents.
  • The worst qualities an entrepreneur can have are: snobbishness, an inability to understand the situation properly, adopt a high tempo of work without having the ability to sustain it in the long-term, and not possessing the ability to see what’s going to happen next.
  • One principle guides me: your attitude towards work and the decisions which you take are more important than your abilities.

On complaints
  • Nothing terrible will happen if you occasionally allow yourself to complain.
  • Falling into depression and constantly complaining about the state of your life is no less destructive than alcoholism. It’s the same dangerous situation: the more you do it, the worse it gets. Successful people don’t have these kind of problems.
Advice for youth
  • What does real failure mean? It means when you give fighting for what you want.
  • What does adaptability mean? You’ll understand when you experience failure and disappointment.
  • What are you obliged to do? You’re obliged to work as hard as you can and be more ambitious than others.
  • Only fools talk out of their mouths. Intelligent people speak to themselves only in their head; wise people only in their hearts.

On living life to the full
  • Sooner or later, you’ll regret it if you spend all of your time at work.
  • I’m always reminding myself that none of us were born in order to work, but instead to enjoy life. We’re here to help make other people’s lives better, and not spend all our time working.
On competition and competitors
  • Competition is like a game of chess. If you lose once, you’ll always have another chance to win. And you don’t have to fight about it when you lose the current round.
  • If your competitor is weaker than you, you should still seem him as an equal. This works the other way, of course: even if you’re opponent is stronger than you, don’t be afraid of him.
  • A real entrepreneur has no enemies. When you understand this, no one can stop you.
​Advice to entrepreneurs
  • Clients are number one. Employees are number two. Shareholders come after both of these categories in importance.
  • Instead of looking for quick solutions and ready-made schemes, concentrate on establishing stability and promising long-term plans.
  • Today might be tough, tomorrow might be worse. But the day after will be wonderful.
On setting up your own business
  • When you start your own business, this means you’re giving up a stable income, as well as annual bonuses.
  • On the other hand, your income will be unrestricted, you’ll make use of your time much more effectively, and you won’t have to ask anyone else for permission to do something.
  • When searching for a partner, you should always look for someone who adds to your abilities and knowledge. You don’t need someone who’s already been successful at anything in particular.
  • Do your best to make sure your employees come to work every day with smiles on their faces.

post-62943-0-82177700-1444188639.jpg

Well , it is not entirely wrong.

People have a chance at 40 , 50 , 60 but do you actually reap the benefits as compare to having it by 35.

Anyway , having made it is subjective.

To some , if i made enough , i stop and concentrate on using it only to start working once the money is gone.

To others , there is never enough , end up working their life to a never ending dream and at the end of their days where the one which benefits from it doesn't appreciate it.