Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 If you are not venturing far or off road, and only you and wife n baby girl, can even get a Getz But if you want comfort, the elantra is good enough. hatchback cannot. haha i go holiday i bring a lot of stuff one. especially for my kid lol. looks like elantra is a winner. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extremme 4th Gear June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 Hmmm wonder should i downgrade to hyundai elantra. The difference is quite a lot between elantra and a corolla. I dunno why a hyundai elantra costs $372. But a Corolla costs $425. And a camry only costs $439... I mean elantra and corolla really minimal difference lah. i think all their midsize sedan cars should be 1.8L Btw, don't forget to rent baby seat or booster seats. Its mandatory. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 Btw, don't forget to rent baby seat or booster seats. Its mandatory. yes included liao. got 10% AA discount + 1 free day promo currently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 (edited) Just back from Great Ocean Road. Got Pajero from Avis after comparing several options. Try to book via Qantas website as they have special prices sometimes. Double check the rental firm global and local website for promotions. I would recommend get a big CC V6 car like SR6 since the difference is one or two hundred dollars but you will enjoy the drive much better, and it is something we cant do in Sillypore without paying thru our noses. Not sure about Tiger but Qantas checks in child seat for free. I brough mine along. Navigated using aGoogle maps with 2 dollar per day mobile plan. Edited June 18, 2014 by Volvobrick 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 (edited) what plan do you use. can 1 plan share with several devices ie: 2 x iphone, 2 x ipad, etc like a wireless devices for rent in japan and korea? Just back from Great Ocean Road. Got Pajero from Avis after comparing several options. Try to book via Qantas website as they have special prices sometimes. Double check the rental firm global and local website for promotions.I would recommend get a big CC V6 car like SR6 since the difference is one or two hundred dollars but you will enjoy the drive much better, and it is something we cant do in Sillypore without paying thru our noses.Not sure about Tiger but Qantas checks in child seat for free. I brough mine along. Navigated using aGoogle maps with 2 dollar per day mobile plan. Edited June 18, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 i used bayswater car rental. they got a new fleet of toyota cars. Their standard insurance limits you to $400 excess. They got additional insurance of $6/day which limits your excess to $50. I used their new Tarago for a week. Cheapest among the bunch, and no complaints. They're not at the airport though. Got a cab from the airport ($30), pick up the car at bayswater 10km away, and fetched the family. Saved $300 over the week. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 what plan do you use. can 1 plan share with several devices ie: 2 x iphone, 2 x ipad, etc like a wireless devices for rent in japan and korea? http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/australia-trial-317/prepaid-data-plan-australia-3251747-63.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 what plan do you use. can 1 plan share with several devices ie: 2 x iphone, 2 x ipad, etc like a wireless devices for rent in japan and korea? It was Optus pre-paid. $2 per day (starts midnight) capped at 500MB per day. If you exceed, another $2 gets deducted I think. The SIM sells for $10 with $10 credit. You can top up or just buy an additional SIM. Somehow I got 6 days of usage for $10. To share I activated the mobile phone hot spot so my lap top/other phone(s) could surf too. Very straight forward. And take extra caution when parking in the city as the info signs are quite complicated. This is the consequence of parking violation: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 Just back from Great Ocean Road. Got Pajero from Avis after comparing several options. Try to book via Qantas website as they have special prices sometimes. Double check the rental firm global and local website for promotions. I would recommend get a big CC V6 car like SR6 since the difference is one or two hundred dollars but you will enjoy the drive much better, and it is something we cant do in Sillypore without paying thru our noses. Not sure about Tiger but Qantas checks in child seat for free. I brough mine along. Navigated using aGoogle maps with 2 dollar per day mobile plan. I also just got back from Aus, but from Perth, got free up grade from Nissan Xtrail to Pajero Diesel. Thought very happy, until 1) Diesel is more expensive than Petrol in Aus 2) Mileage is only 8000km plus, started to rattle and engine noise is noticeably loud. 3) Not as stable as Nissan Xtrail 4WD ( Driven ADL to MEL last year ) Much stable ride than Pajero and handle the bends better because of size, weight & height Nonetheless, Yes TS should get a ride that never driven before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 I also just got back from Aus, but from Perth, got free up grade from Nissan Xtrail to Pajero Diesel. Thought very happy, until 1) Diesel is more expensive than Petrol in Aus 2) Mileage is only 8000km plus, started to rattle and engine noise is noticeably loud. 3) Not as stable as Nissan Xtrail 4WD ( Driven ADL to MEL last year ) Much stable ride than Pajero and handle the bends better because of size, weight & height Nonetheless, Yes TS should get a ride that never driven before. Agreed Pajero not a very good car (Prado Diesel I drove in NZ was much, much more refine), but I needed the space for 5 person's luggage and it was the biggest I could find. However with the low top 100km/hr limit in Australia, the Pajero was adequate and prevented me from speeding! I did feel like a taxi driver... A big Australian wagon could have been an alternative as there is really not "off-road" places to go during my trip. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 You mean what, Airport is expensive is it? ... But I got no choice leh ... My first place to go is the Freaking Farm ... If I got no Data Card will die one you know ... I must catch Pigeons to send messages to MCF ... I also got 3 kids in tow ... Come back I give you feedback ... They also tell me to go there ... But Old Folks & young kids not so suitable right? Quite OK From Perth, 2hrs there 2hrs back. My Mum, wife and 13mth baby with me. Just get sufficient rest stop or meal breaks for old pple to stretch a bit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 Agreed Pajero not a very good car (Prado Diesel I drove in NZ was much, much more refine), but I needed the space for 5 person's luggage and it was the biggest I could find. However with the low top 100km/hr limit in Australia, the Pajero was adequate and prevented me from speeding! I did feel like a taxi driver... A big Australian wagon could have been an alternative as there is really not "off-road" places to go during my trip. True, I was speeding quite often in some of the ulu stretches in Sth Australia with the Xtrail Pajero is spacious and more rugged feel though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 i used bayswater car rental. they got a new fleet of toyota cars. Their standard insurance limits you to $400 excess. They got additional insurance of $6/day which limits your excess to $50. I used their new Tarago for a week. Cheapest among the bunch, and no complaints. They're not at the airport though. Got a cab from the airport ($30), pick up the car at bayswater 10km away, and fetched the family. Saved $300 over the week. Depends on the time of your flight really. It's limited by time of pick up. Max 530pm. Have to return the car by 12pm. That plus the additional cab x 2 trips required turned me off. Doesn't go well with scoot timing which lands only at 515pm and departs at 6pm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 Depends on the time of your flight really. It's limited by time of pick up. Max 530pm. Have to return the car by 12pm. That plus the additional cab x 2 trips required turned me off. Doesn't go well with scoot timing which lands only at 515pm and departs at 6pm one good thing about Hertz (or any car rental at airport) is you can drop key at wee hour, but make sure you take photo of the car from every angle to prove no damage upon return if there is any dispute. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sozo 2nd Gear June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 one good thing about Hertz (or any car rental at airport) is you can drop key at wee hour, but make sure you take photo of the car from every angle to prove no damage upon return if there is any dispute. Agree. After last December Perth holiday, I received additional charge to my Citibank card from car rental company , call Citibank n the customer service help me to follow up. Guess what, the rental co. sent a accident report that was not my name n they withdrew the extra charges. But was glad that Citibank to extend their good service to communicate the other party on my behalf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 Depends on the time of your flight really. It's limited by time of pick up. Max 530pm. Have to return the car by 12pm. That plus the additional cab x 2 trips required turned me off. Doesn't go well with scoot timing which lands only at 515pm and departs at 6pm yes you're right. Depends on timing. Not suitable for all flights. It was Optus pre-paid. $2 per day (starts midnight) capped at 500MB per day. If you exceed, another $2 gets deducted I think. The SIM sells for $10 with $10 credit. You can top up or just buy an additional SIM. Somehow I got 6 days of usage for $10. To share I activated the mobile phone hot spot so my lap top/other phone(s) could surf too. Very straight forward. And take extra caution when parking in the city as the info signs are quite complicated. This is the consequence of parking violation: Capture2.JPG how much was the fine? did you waste lots of time? that's why i avoided the cbd. Some got $ sign, some got red box, some got P sign.... dunno can park or not. Just dropped off the wife and kids and parked further at the very expensive multistoreys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 what does flashing orange traffic lights (before it goes to green) means? go or prepare to go or what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 Hmmm wonder should i downgrade to hyundai elantra. The difference is quite a lot between elantra and a corolla. I dunno why a hyundai elantra costs $372. But a Corolla costs $425. And a camry only costs $439... I mean elantra and corolla really minimal difference lah. i think all their midsize sedan cars should be 1.8L bro, go for 4.0L falcon XR sport lah. forget another corolla (dun u drive one already?). go holiday gotta try new things. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...