Knoobie Supercharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Rain has finally came back after the long dry spell.. Giving us nice cool weathers and flowery sceneries.. But with the rain, I noticed one side of my tail light gets to trap water inside it.. not sure how it got in there in the first place.. Don't have time to actually investigate too.. So I was thinking if any bros here have a good workaround for this problem other than changing the entire assembly? I was thinking of probably drilling a small hole at the tail light so that the water will drain itself.. but doing so, I'm afraid that water may also seep into it and make matter worse.. any good suggestions?? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Ya, drill a hole at the bottom 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Use masking tape to seal off the opening in which the water can slip into the tail light assembly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bornno1 1st Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 (edited) if u wanna do a proper job, dismantle your tailights and check the rubber seals on the bulb connectors. Then buy those silicone paste from any hardware shops and go 1 round on the tail lamps seams. dont need to pry open. Edited April 11, 2014 by Bornno1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobucw 2nd Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 if u wanna do a proper job, dismantle your tailights and check the rubber seals on the bulb connectors. Then buy those silicone paste from any hardware shops and go 1 round on the tail lamps seams. dont need to pry open. ,........yah, but don't forget to put a fish inside first before you seal it up... heehee,.... plastic one hor,... dun kill a real fissh. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 (edited) Usually tail lights are held by a couple of screws. Just unscrew them and remove the tail light assembly. Find out where the leak is and seal it with silicone sealants. You can easily get them from DIY home fix stores in shopping mall. Ask the sales person for sealants to stop water leaks and they will know what to show you. Here's an example. It's not rocket science. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzbWIdQrpU0 I suggest you do not drill a hole unless you are confident. You might just create a huge crack if you suck at drilling. You are drilling acrylic and not metal, chances of the plastic giving way is high. Edited April 11, 2014 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 (edited) Masking tape ---- This will be quite unsightly. Maybe use expoxy glue to seal the crack? It lasts more than 7 years till now for my car!! For gaps between removable parts --- use silicon seal. Repeat Edited April 11, 2014 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged April 11, 2014 Author Share April 11, 2014 (edited) Use masking tape to seal off the opening in which the water can slip into the tail light assembly. No time to dismantle and check where is the leak leh.. :( Ya, drill a hole at the bottom any particular size of drill bit to recommend? Usually tail lights are held by a couple of screws. Just unscrew them and remove the tail light assembly. Find out where the leak is and seal it with silicone sealants. You can easily get them from DIY home fix stores in shopping mall. Ask the sales person for sealants to stop water leaks and they will know what to show you. Here's an example. It's not rocket science. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzbWIdQrpU0 I suggest you do not drill a hole unless you are confident. You might just create a huge crack if you suck at drilling. You are drilling acrylic and not metal, chances of the plastic giving way is high. cracking the plastic is one of the reason that is holding me back too.. but I did once a simple visual inspection and couldn't find where could be there place that water seeps in.. i've never tried using silicone before so i'm afraid the output will be disastrous too.. but seems like that is the best and safest bet I have.. Masking tape ---- This will be quite unsightly. Maybe use expoxy glue to seal the crack? It lasts more than 7 years till now for my car!! For gaps between removable parts --- use silicon seal. Repeat epoxy can also ar? I thought it's use as adhesive only. Edited April 11, 2014 by Knoobie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 (edited) Drilling a hole is not recommended as moisture and water will corrode/short circuit your electrical circuit and light bulb over time. Your circuits might just go heywire and you will have a even bigger headache. Are you using aftermarket tail lights? If you are go and change back to stock. If you are lazy just get other ppl to do it. I dunno who. Or find out where got sell cheap made in taiwan tail lights. Youtube got plenty of video demo to teach you how to use the silicone sealant to seal their headlights & tail lights. If you can't see where the leak is just go thru all the gaps. I saw some ppl use a syringe to apply the silicone in very narrow gaps. It won't dry immediately like super glue so you have no worries and take your time. Edited April 11, 2014 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Masking tape ---- This will be quite unsightly. Maybe use expoxy glue to seal the crack? It lasts more than 7 years till now for my car!! For gaps between removable parts --- use silicon seal. Repeat Sure can last >7 years anot ? Most relationships can hardly last >7 years with temptations, and lust existing in this world, you know! It is aka : "The 7 Years Itch". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 No time to dismantle and check where is the leak leh.. :( No time then find time lah. Otherwise get someone else to do it for you, maybe a WS mechanic.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Sure can last >7 years anot ? Most relationships can hardly last >7 years with temptations, and lust existing in this world, you know! It is aka : "The 7 Years Itch". Wa lao eh, patching cracks in tail light ends up a relationship problem!!! If major repairs ------> ORGY??!!! LOL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 No time to dismantle and check where is the leak leh.. :( any particular size of drill bit to recommend? cracking the plastic is one of the reason that is holding me back too.. but I did once a simple visual inspection and couldn't find where could be there place that water seeps in.. i've never tried using silicone before so i'm afraid the output will be disastrous too.. but seems like that is the best and safest bet I have.. epoxy can also ar? I thought it's use as adhesive only. I chose epoxy to seal the crack as its less visible and attracts less dirt stains than silicon. So far it's still doing it's job. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...