Vega Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 hmmmm............ they don't work after 6.00pm ... http://www.theguardian.com/world/shortcuts/2014/feb/19/swiss-air-force-ethiopian-airlines-hijacking-office-hours The Swiss air force: armed and dangerous, but only in office hoursIt's no fly-by-night military outfit and it doesn't start work too early in the morning, either, as the recent Ethiopian Airlines hijack proved. There's something almost too civilised about a country whose fighter jets stick to office hours (note to would-be terrorists and airspace infiltrators: they also stop for an hour and a half for lunch, and there's no service at weekends). It was French and Italian jet pilots who escorted the Ethiopian Airlines plane hijacked by its co-pilot safely to Geneva airport on Monday morning – because, at 6.02am, it was still nearly two hours before the Swiss air force came to work. "Switzerland cannot intervene because its airbases are closed at night and on the weekend," spokesman Laurent Savary told AFP. "It's a question of budget and staffing." It was not always so. The Swiss air force was founded in 1914 with nine pilots. By the 1940s it was well capable of defending its neutral airspace. But in recent years military spending has decreased. Fewer jets have been bought and many of its pilots have become reservists. Now the country relies on its neighbours' military capabilities – last month the Austrian air force helped police Swiss airspace during the World Economic Forum in Davos. "The capability to provide a 24-hour response with interceptors is currently missing for financial reasons," says David Cenciotti, an Italian journalist who blogs as The Aviationist. "There are agreements with neighbouring countries – Italy and France in particular – that enable fighter jets from both air forces to enter Swiss airspace whenever needed to manage an aerial threat. So the risk is limited. Still, there is a residual risk. If a plane is hijacked over Switzerland and directed to hit a sensitive target within the country fighter jets launched from France or Italy would have little to no chance to intervene." The Swiss government now wants to spend more than £2bn on 22 new Swedish-made fighter jets. The deal will be put to a referendum in May, though according to recent polls 53% of voters are against it. If it happens, it could mean a move to round-the-clock capabilities from around 2020; bad news for the pilots enjoying those long lunch breaks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 (edited) Nobody wants to bomb them, otherwise, no more Rolex watches to buy. I suggest Singapore gets into watch making also. Have our own Singer, Merlion or Orchid brands. No more 2 years of NS. Think 2 months gao liao. They have great brands of watches .... Edited April 11, 2014 by Kangadrool 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Optramagnum 6th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 How about the brothels, pub, nightclub? All open in daytime? Haha.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Spore got Labour Union chef meh ? illegal to work after 6pm ? Hey Spore has the longest working hours in the world. It will be illegal to leave orfit by 6pm ! Now get back to work !. If you don't work and be C, B, F, your wives and daughters will be maids in other countries ! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Spore got Labour Union chef meh ? illegal to work after 6pm ? Hey Spore has the longest working hours in the world. It will be illegal to leave orfit by 6pm ! Now get back to work !. If you don't work and be C, B, F, your wives and daughters will be maids in other countries ! not under aunty lucy meh ... last time headed by Halimah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 not under aunty lucy meh ... last time headed by Halimah ... aiyah if you have labour chef, judge, Newspaper, president, PA, SWF, etc in your pocket, will you play fair ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Who the heck ask you to lick … Do you lick? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 11, 2014 Author Share April 11, 2014 Then there will be - No restaurants No pubs No taxis No buses No supermarkets No shopping malls No night football No live news and TV :huh: Worse No women [bigcry] No mcd lol Give u end work 6 pk to cook urself, walk home, and for women u have to buy a doll liao lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 11, 2014 Author Share April 11, 2014 In Switzerland, even their arm forces don't work 24/7. I know of an incident where a hijacked plane need to fly over the Swiss airspace and need their air force to do an escort but no pilot was on duty as it was a Sunday. by the time the pilot rush back to "office", the plane already gone. For your info hijackers also pangkang alreaey after 6 lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 wanted to give you points. but at the moment cannot. I share your views. no point being the Number ONE country in the world in terms of best economy if the citizens dun have the life to spend that money they earn. or worse, cannot benefit from earning/living better due to a better economy. I rather we take it a little slower, relax a bit and smell the roses once in a while. life is already tough. why make it tougher. In that view, i admire France for standing by their people. with their union so strong, i do admit there are times where services are disrupted due to worker/employer disputes. but looking at the POV from the employee, they HAVE a life after work. Pursuing hobbies and all. here... it is not impossible. but tough to balance worklife vs homelife vs pursuing a hobby. because... it will affect their quality of life... as the saying goes.. every man is for themselves.. hence.... you know i know.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Do you lick? Basket! ... Got Lick this Lick that ... Sure got you 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 (edited) ... with their union so strong, i do admit there are times where services are disrupted due to worker/employer disputes. but looking at the POV from the employee, they HAVE a life after work. Pursuing hobbies and all. here... it is not impossible. but tough to balance worklife vs homelife vs pursuing a hobby. Precisely one of the reasons why nowadays more people opt not to get married or married but opt not to have kids. So that they can work and still have some spare time to pursue their own interests and hobbies. That's why you see all these people who chiong outdoor activities, marathon, cycling, scuba diving, etc. etc. ... mostly have no kids. It's near impossible to have work + kids + own hobbies. Choose two Edited April 11, 2014 by Sosaria 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 just look at Spain as a prime example. their "siesta" really kill their economy. everyone becomes somewhat lazy after that ... I don't think siesta has anything to do with the state of economy. After siesta, they wake up at 5 and continue till late at night, e.g. dinner at 10, total hours awake probably the same. Their economy suffered partly because of over-investments and speculation in property, like many other countries. Which can happen to us too as economic growth coming from property investments is like heroin, damn shiok while the party is on, but in the end leaving the drug user is a big mess from withdrawal symptoms. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Then there will be - No restaurants No pubs No taxis No buses No supermarkets No shopping malls No night football No live news and TV :huh: Worse No women [bigcry] Don't worry, since no one is allowed to work after 6, and the government must lead by example, there is not going to be any public enforcement officer on duty after 6 to catch those who disobey the rules and stay open! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Don't worry, since no one is allowed to work after 6, and the government must lead by example, there is not going to be any public enforcement officer on duty after 6 to catch those who disobey the rules and stay open! That's a very interesting idea... So I can do anything I want after 6 pm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 That's a very interesting idea... So I can do anything I want after 6 pm In France? YES, except working.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 11, 2014 Author Share April 11, 2014 That's a very interesting idea... So I can do anything I want after 6 pm More raping case after 6pm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 be prepared for some speeches by ministars next few days on why we should continue to work long hours continuously until extended retirement age, and why retirement age must be brought even further, why we are different, why we cannot afford to be like them...................................... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...