Carfreakz Clutched April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 Hi all, need your views! is it worth it to change to a older car with a higher OMV. my current is 2007, with a omv of 23K. after coe finish estimate $ back is about 14-15K including body, now i gt dealer offer which aft bank outstanding i still hv 10K, based on 15K aft coe ends, every yr is abt 1.6K more so if i buy a 2006 car with omv abt 40-45K, is it worth it to change? thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 I dont really understand the logic? Driving a 2007 car but change to a 2006 car? But 2006 car only left about 2 years only le?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 (edited) Higher OMV car likely higher cc = higher road tax, petrol consumption, maintenance and insurance. You don't know the condition of the 2006 car (already 8 years old), and may end up spending the "savings" on hefty repair bills. It's your call, but I would stick with your existing 2007 car. Edited April 9, 2014 by Vinceng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carfreakz Clutched April 9, 2014 Author Share April 9, 2014 I dont really understand the logic? Driving a 2007 car but change to a 2006 car? But 2006 car only left about 2 years only le?! Well bro, my idea is based on the current measures, after coe ends, i will hv abt 15K back, wif 15K, i need to top up at least another 15-20K to buy another used car, if i change to a car wif high omv, i only need to top up only abt 10K, based on a 45K omv...so..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 Just drive ur existing car, sure more sense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 Just drive ur existing car, sure more sense I 2nd that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 if exisitng car no problem, woon woon jiak bee hoon, why kar zhng itchy change it? Not as if the car with higher OMV is selling at lelong price right? It's LPPL lah. Well bro, my idea is based on the current measures, after coe ends, i will hv abt 15K back, wif 15K, i need to top up at least another 15-20K to buy another used car, if i change to a car wif high omv, i only need to top up only abt 10K, based on a 45K omv...so..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deividz 5th Gear April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 If you can share what's yr current car model and the models you are looking at, we can probably make a better comparison. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carfreakz Clutched April 9, 2014 Author Share April 9, 2014 thanks everyone! the direction is clearer nw....current car serve me well, 2L pure NA power... hopefully by 2016-2017...restriction is removed...COE drop til 30-40K i more than happy liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 Higher OMV car likely higher cc = higher road tax, petrol consumption, maintenance and insurance. You don't know the condition of the 2006 car (already 8 years old), and may end up spending the "savings" on hefty repair bills. It's your call, but I would stick with your existing 2007 car. This is the biggest concern for 2nd hand cars. Since TS have 3yrs left & if car has no issues, best not to rock the boat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 If you can share what's yr current car model and the models you are looking at, we can probably make a better comparison. My guess, 2007 20k+ OMV. CIVIC 2.0L? 2006 $40-45k OMV, BMW. 320i? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carfreakz Clutched April 9, 2014 Author Share April 9, 2014 My guess, 2007 20k+ OMV. CIVIC 2.0L? 2006 $40-45k OMV, BMW. 320i? Hi bro, is a euroR, and yes u r right, is a beemer, but 323 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 (edited) I still think unless you are changing to a newer car, maybe like after 2009 onwards car. If not might as well continue driving the current car?! Edited April 9, 2014 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 Hi bro, is a euroR, and yes u r right, is a beemer, but 323 How much dealer offering you? I might up the dealer's offer for your Euro R. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 Hi bro, is a euroR, and yes u r right, is a beemer, but 323 06 = 8yo beemer... I would encourage u to enjoy ur ride if its problem free other than fair wear & tear issues. Unless u need to upgrade swop to a 7-8 seater due to family obligations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deividz 5th Gear April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 BMW=Bring More Worries. Go to the BMW forum and you'll know how the owners CPCB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 How much dealer offering you? I might up the dealer's offer for your Euro R. don't snatch leh.... i about to say the same haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 9, 2014 Share April 9, 2014 (edited) don't snatch leh.... i about to say the same haha My car balance 14 months, scrap now $21k, scrap at end $18k.Cheap then can buy. Gov tell us not to anyhow spent money. Edited April 9, 2014 by Vhtfhwlego ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...