Darthrevan Supercharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 While Singapore teens have been proven to do well in problem-solving, Singaporeans still fare poorly in spoken English and lack confidence in articulating their views, said Member of Parliament Hri Kumar Nair yesterday. While Singapore teens have been proven to do well in problem-solving, Singaporeans still fare poorly in spoken English and lack confidence in articulating their views, said Member of Parliament Hri Kumar Nair yesterday. Far too often, he shared on his Facebook page, he has attended meetings where Singaporeans kept silent, giving the impression they are ignorant. So, although Singapore teens scored well in the Programme for International Student Assessment (Pisa) released on Tuesday, beating students from 43 other economies in its problem-solving test, there is still room for improvement. Singaporeans he dealt with are mostly "hardworking, knowledgeable and have a deep sense of responsibility and commitment to their work", said the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC MP. "But they are often let down by their standard of spoken English and a lack of confidence to persuade or articulate their views on their feet. Many employers I know share this view," the lawyer added. These are what he considers important aspects of education which Pisa does not test. Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/singaporeans-fare-poorly-spoken-english-says-mp-hri-kumar-nair-2014040 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 (edited) i somewhat agree with him. look at hongkee and taiwanese ... anyone you pickup on the street young or old ... they can really articulate their view clearly sporean not just camera shy ... can't really speak up clearly, ask right questions, etc we need to buckle up! i don't have enough info or stats whether sporean fare poorly in english but articulation is really poor ... double confirmed! Edited April 5, 2014 by Wt_know 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 (edited) i somewhat agree with him. look at hongkee and taiwanese ... anyone you pickup on the street young or old ... they can really articulate their view clearly sporean not just camera shy ... can't really speak up clearly, ask right questions, etc we need to buckle up! i don't have enough info or stats whether sporean fare poorly in english but articulation is really poor ... double confirmed! Simi somewhat? Totally agree! But largely has to do with the submissive culture and being afraid of making mistakes. We were made and built to be this way so that it is easier.......Put an American ang moh through the exact same environment and paces over the same amount of time, and you'll see little difference in the end result. Edited April 5, 2014 by Throttle2 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 To do well in Singapore working society... Simply speak better and articulate better.. Simple if one can look above the rest Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventador 6th Gear April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 we need to buckle up! i don't have enough info or stats whether sporean fare poorly in english but articulation is really poor ... double confirmed! Its "we need to buck up" You buckle up in a car I agree with you now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 Is that Prata he's eating? What an unfortunate food choice to be photographed with! 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 True u ask people in the street about gahmen, they wont say anything. But in taiwan they will say Ma President Jiayou! Is that Prata he's eating? What an unfortunate food choice to be photographed with! It represent his ethnicity ok lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 Can't agree more. It's ingrained in the system, starting from education. It's not just English, but Mother Tongues as well. And don't blame the 2 language system in schools or start giving yourself consolation prizes that humans can only master one language well. It's a two way street. Gahment must also be prepared for more vocal, critical and passionate voices from the masses = "aggressive" (in their views) when Singaporeans start to open up. This may not be what they wish for. Merely opening up a small speaker corner with the requirement to apply permit to speak is just a small little step, but that's nothing and can do nothing much. There must be a need to tolerate diverse views and voices even if these are considered "wayward" to some. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 Is that Prata he's eating? What an unfortunate food choice to be photographed with! Prata, curry and teh tarik, is ok lah! Dont like that leh, pang chan a bit. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 Only money talks. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 Can't agree more. It's ingrained in the system, starting from education. It's not just English, but Mother Tongues as well. And don't blame the 2 language system in schools or start giving yourself consolation prizes that humans can only master one language well. It's a two way street. Gahment must also be prepared for more vocal, critical and passionate voices from the masses = "aggressive" (in their views) when Singaporeans start to open up. This may not be what they wish for. Merely opening up a small speaker corner with the requirement to apply permit to speak is just a small little step, but that's nothing and can do nothing much. There must be a need to tolerate diverse views and voices even if these are considered "wayward" to some. knn. ah beng like me. never got pang chance me go top top notch skools like our dear minister! of course lim pei no confident talk to him mah. if gimme chance go study high high. like him go priceton or oxbridge. I also will talk very the confidently like him mah. too bad I only go jalan ulu sembawang primary school so I lan lan suck thumb la! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 Is that Prata he's eating? What an unfortunate food choice to be photographed with! bro.......kopi shop.......and he Indian.........prata and teh tatik ok lah.............you want him eat roti john or murtabak ah???........ [laugh] 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 bro.......kopi shop.......and he Indian.........prata and teh tatik ok lah.............you want him eat roti john or murtabak ah???........ [laugh] can order thosai mah. or appam. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 can order thosai mah. or appam. lol than mee goreng and rojak also come to mind liao lor.............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 than mee goreng and rojak also come to mind liao lor.............. [laugh] nabei. making me hungry. suddenly got cravings for jb roti john. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 Must pay all spectrum of the society well too. Otherwise, how to have confidence when speaking to others? knn. ah beng like me. never got pang chance me go top top notch skools like our dear minister! of course lim pei no confident talk to him mah.if gimme chance go study high high. like him go priceton or oxbridge. I also will talk very the confidently like him mah.too bad I only go jalan ulu sembawang primary school so I lan lan suck thumb la! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 liddat, i jialat man, i where got tokking skills? i where tok to my patients? boohooo.... on a more serous note. I tend to agree with Hari here. Let's not even look at the kids, but even adults. Those that I ahve had conversations with, cannot get their point across without the regular 'erms, ahs, let me see' gap fillers. They are unable to construe a sentence fluidly in one go and need these fillers. I find it highly irritating. Sentence construction should be an intrinsic skill and should come out fluidly. Granted, it takes practice and confidence which i feel a lot of our folks lack. Even sending the kids for drama and speech courses, does not get much help if they do not practice. Speaking for myself, it is only in the last 5 years or so, after much contact with people from the ground to the boardroom, am i able to hold my own in an audience and command the wanted attention. No easy solution to this. Simply put, it starts at home. Our teachers should also be trained in this area so that they can also mentor and guide our youth accordingly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 nabei. making me hungry. suddenly got cravings for jb roti john. lol jam lah............by the time you reach you hungry like f**k liao................and by the time you get back hungry liao............... [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...