Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:04 AM, Tianmo said: jam lah............by the time you reach you hungry like f**k liao................and by the time you get back hungry liao............... [laugh] hungry like f**k or hungry for f**k? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:04 AM, Tianmo said: jam lah............by the time you reach you hungry like f**k liao................and by the time you get back hungry liao............... [laugh] and you ah, knn, supposed to catch up after my op, now coming 1 yr still no meet....knn.. i give u invite to my funeral lah, then u meet me....kekekekekeek 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 The reason why I can't articulate my views confidently is because of LIM KOPI. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:09 AM, Tigerwoods said: The reason why I can't articulate my views confidently is because of LIM KOPI. let's not go that area about lim kopi matters. Even in certain areas where views are needed, i find that most, perhaps by virtue of indoctrination in school, never speak up nor offer their alternative views. The modus operandi amongst these fellas is that they cannot be seen as wrong. How to air views if that inherent fear is there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:07 AM, Little_prince said: hungry like f**k or hungry for f**k? both lah........lol.... On 4/5/2014 at 11:08 AM, RadX said: and you ah, knn, supposed to catch up after my op, now coming 1 yr still no meet....knn.. i give u invite to my funeral lah, then u meet me....kekekekekeek knn....you the cb busy one....dare say.....when when....you put time put place.....I put my leg there.....hahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:12 AM, RadX said: let's not go that area about lim kopi matters. Even in certain areas where views are needed, i find that most, perhaps by virtue of indoctrination in school, never speak up nor offer their alternative views. The modus operandi amongst these fellas is that they cannot be seen as wrong. How to air views if that inherent fear is there? Yes mine is pun intendedAnd yes I too find Sporean young man unable to articulate what they want to say very well. The reason is bcz of the poor command in English. Many tend to stay away from the limelight, and those who like the limelight... CMI . But at least they try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakkwylde 5th Gear April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 With platforms like Stomp where people just hide behind the keyboards and air their views or rather shame others, no wonder they fail spectacularly when doing it 'live'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:19 AM, Tigerwoods said: Yes mine is pun intended And yes I too find Sporean young man unable to articulate what they want to say very well. The reason is bcz of the poor command in English. Many tend to stay away from the limelight, and those who like the limelight... CMI . But at least they try. yes, perhaps the proper use of the language and the ability to concatenate thoughts to the verbal ouput. Many do not have enough vocabulary perhaps to accurately articulate their thoughts when you put the part abt those who like limelight, immediately, i think of that private tutor who runs for every GE and PE....hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:22 AM, RadX said: yes, perhaps the proper use of the language and the ability to concatenate thoughts to the verbal ouput. Many do not have enough vocabulary perhaps to accurately articulate their thoughts when you put the part abt those who like limelight, immediately, i think of that private tutor who runs for every GE and PE....hahahaha My staff speaks singlish during official duties. They only know this lingo. How sad.As for our generation (you too ok), we do have better command of English but poor in Mandarin but today's gen, both are half bucket of water. Frankly even our Parly guys aren't good speakers. The pronunciation of words like APPORTunity. Is the classic word that identify you as a Sporean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:57 AM, Tigerwoods said: My staff speaks singlish during official duties. They only know this lingo. How sad. As for our generation (you too ok), we do have better command of English but poor in Mandarin but today's gen, both are half bucket of water. Frankly even our Parly guys aren't good speakers. The pronunciation of words like APPORTunity. Is the classic word that identify you as a Sporean. Very true! When I hear them speak, I cringe Save for Tharman!!! Believe he had training. The rest, no comment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 He spoke about how singaporeans fare poorly in spoken English but does he have a solution to that? No. He's just saying that sinkies need to buck up. The root of the problem was not tackled. It is to do with how we were raised up and the education system we went through. On top of that, the punishment and shaming system adopted in schools made everybody scared of raising their hands to speak. We are also more self-aware and afraid of doing or saying something wrong in front of others. Without so much of an environment to speak up, over time, it created a devastating effect where sinkies are meek and not out spoken. To overcome this problem, it must be addressed first in our children and in the education system. To simply say Singaporeans do not have good spoken english is absolutely irresponsible. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 (edited) On 4/5/2014 at 11:08 AM, RadX said: i give u invite to my funeral lah, then u meet me....kekekekekeek And you'll be like Tom Sawyer, making a grand entrance at your own funeral. Or maybe Huck Finn. Although in your case I think of you as Fu** Hinn (say it fast). Edited April 5, 2014 by Turboflat4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 My company will send them to courses. But, all come back still the same. The gahment, the system and environment don't change, individuals won't change also. It's just a reflection of themselves. Many don't realize it. Easy to spew out all the motherhood statements........ On 4/5/2014 at 12:41 PM, Vid said: He spoke about how singaporeans fare poorly in spoken English but does he have a solution to that? No. He's just saying that sinkies need to buck up. The root of the problem was not tackled. It is to do with how we were raised up and the education system we went through. On top of that, the punishment and shaming system adopted in schools made everybody scared of raising their hands to speak. We are also more self-aware and afraid of doing or saying something wrong in front of others. Without so much of an environment to speak up, over time, it created a devastating effect where sinkies are meek and not out spoken. To overcome this problem, it must be addressed first in our children and in the education system. To simply say Singaporeans do not have good spoken english is absolutely irresponsible. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 10:37 AM, Tianmo said: than mee goreng and rojak also come to mind liao lor.............. [laugh] Putu mayam. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 11:01 AM, RadX said: liddat, i jialat man, i where got tokking skills? i where tok to my patients? boohooo.... on a more serous note. I tend to agree with Hari here. Let's not even look at the kids, but even adults. Those that I ahve had conversations with, cannot get their point across without the regular 'erms, ahs, let me see' gap fillers. They are unable to construe a sentence fluidly in one go and need these fillers. I find it highly irritating. Sentence construction should be an intrinsic skill and should come out fluidly. Granted, it takes practice and confidence which i feel a lot of our folks lack. Even sending the kids for drama and speech courses, does not get much help if they do not practice. Speaking for myself, it is only in the last 5 years or so, after much contact with people from the ground to the boardroom, am i able to hold my own in an audience and command the wanted attention. No easy solution to this. Simply put, it starts at home. Our teachers should also be trained in this area so that they can also mentor and guide our youth accordingly. You command attention simply because of the big owl eyes and gaping mouth. I'm outside and don't have the fav pic with me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 On 4/5/2014 at 1:36 PM, Porker said: You command attention simply because of the big owl eyes and gaping mouth. I'm outside and don't have the fav pic with me What are fiends...I mean friends for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 Who say one? Where god? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 5, 2014 Share April 5, 2014 (edited) Don't watch much current affair shows, but I do watch alot foodie show. When come to giving their view on the food, it's usually the same old standard answers. Noodle is QQ, soup is thick. absence of muttom flavor (gamey), the taste is just right...etc.... They should learn from Axian Food Adventure from Malaysia on how to do a good foodie show. Edited April 5, 2014 by Ender ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...