Mustank Hypersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 I am driving one now. is the unber rental rates more wu hua than buying a car? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 Is it worthwhile to get a vehicle like 1.6 and convert it for uber purpose? Least the cost of operating is lower. Of course, it also pose as a liability but eventually you still 'own' the car, should you don't want to do uber. Not worthwhile with the $12K/year depreciation. The commercial insurance is high and you cannot use ur NCD for it. And the mileage racked up is high. U will be seeing ur workshop mechanic quite often..haha. We got this Altis for less than a month and then mileage is almost 9000km! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 I am driving one now. OK... what your code number. Need be, key in your code to book your ride ... MCF members got discount boh ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 OK, this confirms what your said about uber buying new car. Thanks. No problem. Still can earn a bit if u have a relief driver. 2 person can share the same car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 No problem. Still can earn a bit if u have a relief driver. 2 person can share the same car. Cor blimey - so the car is doing in the range of 500km+ per day? Maintenance schedule must be a killer... in no time at all the car will be worth only paper value Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 Thought most cars used in uber are old cars? There is new altis also? This car is booked under uberX? Or higher category? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 can reset easily and cheaply one. All used cars like 10K max per year mileage only. Cor blimey - so the car is doing in the range of 500km+ per day? Maintenance schedule must be a killer... in no time at all the car will be worth only paper value 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 I am beginning to think that uber is a really good thing, create jobs and also address the taxi shortage problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 I am beginning to think that uber is a really good thing, create jobs and also address the taxi shortage problem. Only 2 parties are not happy. The government because they don't have a share in Uber and of course taxi drivers. The consumers are happy. Cor blimey - so the car is doing in the range of 500km+ per day? Maintenance schedule must be a killer... in no time at all the car will be worth only paper value Rental about $500 per week. Yes, the mileage is very high. But rental car no need worry about road tax, insurance and maintenance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 will there be any 'social' issue in the long run? many young people like to drive but can't afford, renting uber car at half the cost of owning a car get to drive around making money at the same time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 good what... Instead of still putting their hands out to ask for pocket $$$ from their parents, they earn their keep. will there be any 'social' issue in the long run? many young people like to drive but can't afford, renting uber car at half the cost of owning a car get to drive around making money at the same time. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 Rental about $500 per week. Yes, the mileage is very high. But rental car no need worry about road tax, insurance and maintenance Actually $500 per week not so bad - not for a new car, and if maintenance is covered then even better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 Only 2 parties are not happy. The government because they don't have a share in Uber and of course taxi drivers. Err... actually only taxi company not happy... Gov aka Temasek Holding had INVESTED in Grabcar so effectively having a share... Taxi drivers? maybe those stuck with taxi company due to contract e.g. signing bonus of $5k will bond them for 3 years etc... Grabcar is having promotion for drivers with TDVL gets extra $50 upon signing up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 will there be any 'social' issue in the long run? many young people like to drive but can't afford, renting uber car at half the cost of owning a car get to drive around making money at the same time. It seems from all that I've heard the insurance issue that is my biggest worry is sorted out, for other social issues - what are you thinking? Poor drivers or poor service? Would be rapists as drivers? Nothing has really surfaced along these lines so far right? The rental can never be at "half the cost of owning" - at least, not in the long term (but maybe possible over a short term) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 will there be any 'social' issue in the long run? many young people like to drive but can't afford, renting uber car at half the cost of owning a car get to drive around making money at the same time. Not that I can think of... only if those cheehong hipsters who keep calling the chiobu customers and get stomped... juz like the case of ICA misused the mobile no. in the "white" card Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 good what... Instead of still putting their hands out to ask for pocket $$$ from their parents, they earn their keep. Ya lor, instead of spending money go drinking, ktv, hang flowers they drive around to earn money. Good isn't it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 I've got a feeling, something may happened and the gahmen is not going to let uber continue this way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 Car used in uber , the car maintenance is cover by the car rental company or the uber driver? I've got a feeling, something may happened and the gahmen is not going to let uber continue this way. Confirmed gahmen would not let uber continue this way, esp if they continue to receive complaint from taxi drivers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...