Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

airbnb lor can even rent out your store room for piak session :ph34r:

Haiz but airbnb is still illegal in Singapore, those who rent out their private apt is taking a risk of being charged under Planning Act...

More than 10 yrs ago, i got this idea to set Mobile Hotel 81.

Book the uberexec large lo. Should be big enough. Lol.

airbnb lor can even rent out your store room for piak session :ph34r:

Airbnb got hourly rate meh?

Book the uberexec large lo. Should be big enough. Lol.

You mean piak while driver driving?

My idea is driver will pick customers & leave them at location of choice. 2 hours later, driver will pick up the car & customer again.

that's decent... sometimes i am tempted to get out of the nonsense, stress and mess at work and do something like this. [thumbsup]

wah lao drive Merc one also want to do unber.Looks like must try also.Afterall i alrdy retired.At 40+ [:p]

Airbnb got hourly rate meh?

You mean piak while driver driving?

My idea is driver will pick customers & leave them at location of choice. 2 hours later, driver will pick up the car & customer again.

Can ask the driver park one side let the customers do what they want ma. I'm sure the driver won't mind if the customers tip them abit. Plus the uber fare is quite affordable when the car not moving compared to hotel 81.

wah lao drive Merc one also want to do unber.Looks like must try also.Afterall i alrdy retired.At 40+ [:p]

Lol..If I really do that the merc will have to go.

Imo life and family takes priority after we reach a certain age. Maybe getting too stressed at work and want a change.

Or perhaps andropause coming early for me lol

So many discussion on uber, but until now i still have not try uber yet. Lol.

Try it la, not bad, cashless, enter this code 96T78UE and you get $20 credit for your first ride. Do use for longer trip ya, as it is for first time use.

At least not need to pay for advance booking fee. 👍

Then you can post your first hand experience mah ..,.

Try it la, not bad, cashless, enter this code 96T78UE and you get $20 credit for your first ride. Do use for longer trip ya, as it is for first time use.

At least not need to pay for advance booking fee. 👍

Then you can post your first hand experience mah ..,.

just curious.....can this code be use again and again?

I mean I use different credit cards and different mobile no to register the accounts?

Actually alot of Merc and BMW owners driving for uber. So many driving as the uberexec. But now they only accept black cars right?

Can appreciate your POV. Put it this way. How often do we extend rides in our private vehicle to others as oppose to vehicles as taxi (which is OBLIGED to accept all paying passengers). Obviously the risk is very much higher.

A private transport can often be strictly for family only - at least for many who choose not to give rides to any Tom, Dick or Harry.

If I had provided a lift to a stranger or an acquaintance for some reasons, there is a high chance I will clean up and fumigate my vehicle each time it happens however such a practice is not practical for vehicles as taxis.

This will be the case if there is a outbreak like SARS... normal taxi are also used like family transport that's why during CNY and long public holidays, taxi are so hard to find... Your scenario will also happens with our own private car, how sure are we that the colleagues, the relatives, the friends we know are free of infectious disease? Will they tell everyone in the world that they had the disease?

You dad must be one very hard working and disciplined cab driver to be able make that kind of income. Good for him so long as his health is not sacrificed for wealth. I wish him well and may he always be in the best of health! [sunny]

Taxi drivers used to prefer cash. But anything that can help them earn more they will pick up sooner or later one la. My dad used to say he don't want to use uber because only CC. Now he use uber cuz he realise the incentives very good. As soon as he used uber, he boosted his income from 5-6k to about 7k a month driving the same hours. From 6am to 4pm.

I guess it's one of the few occupational hazards faced by driving instructors.

Ssdc instr ever tell me....peeps say their job easy n lepak. But forget that they are sick quite often as they often catch the cold, cough n flu from students.

Good example of a more economical ride since there is unlikely to be mid-nite surcharge except for other unknown risks that MAY come along with it as a non registered taxi.

As in from Changi Airport to Woodlands at 2am?

just curious.....can this code be use again and again?

I mean I use different credit cards and different mobile no to register the accounts?

likely yes coz its prob tied up w CCs or mobile#s.. just like how many pple abuse online discounts by creating clone accts

Can appreciate your POV. Put it this way. How often do we extend rides in our private vehicle to others as oppose to vehicles as taxi (which is OBLIGED to accept all paying passengers). Obviously the risk is very much higher.

A private transport can often be strictly for family only - at least for many who choose not to give rides to any Tom, Dick or Harry.

If I had provided a lift to a stranger or an acquaintance for some reasons, there is a high chance I will clean up and fumigate my vehicle each time it happens however such a practice is not practical for vehicles as taxis.

Taxi drivers / Uber drivers are responsible for their vehicles. For those who used it as family transport, they will definitely take care of the vehicle like their own. For me, I do send my colleague back to his apt every Monday and offer rides to fellow colleagues as much as I can especially when my office is around Tuas area... And I wash the interior once a week and fumigate once a month...

There is no reason why taxi drivers can't do the same since it is their vehicle to use. I see alot of taxi drivers going to the petrol kiosk cleaning their taxis. But I do agree that for public transport, it depends on individual to maintain their vehicle. I had seen a uber driver driving a car which is like [furious] super super dirty...

So yah take at your own risk :grin:

For someone who is willing to work hard and smart although such driving job (which comes with a greater risk to being exposed to the hazards on the roads as well as higher exposure to collecting demerit points and driving tickets if one is not careful enough to avoid unsuspecting situations) is not meant for everyone.

While few can achieve such a target, I find it difficult to believe that everyone can achieve such targets despite being willing to work hard and 'smart'. Otherwise, such income will probably be willingly taken up by those (eligible) who need 'big' $$$ badly.

Often such people are more than willing to do anything legal to resolve their $$$ problems.

Therefore, believe me when I say that it's not meant for everyone eligible and who has the WILL and determination to drive for BIG $$$.

Thats pretty good income

Edited by Neutralsg

Many taxi drivers do not bother to clean their vehicles thoroughly as one would to own private vehicle let alone fumigate their vehicles even for their own sake. Being in a(n) dirty / unhygienic vehicle is akin to being in an unhealthy building aka 'sick' building.

Taxi drivers / Uber drivers are responsible for their vehicles. For those who used it as family transport, they will definitely take care of the vehicle like their own. For me, I do send my colleague back to his apt every Monday and offer rides to fellow colleagues as much as I can especially when my office is around Tuas area... And I wash the interior once a week and fumigate once a month...

There is no reason why taxi drivers can't do the same since it is their vehicle to use. I see alot of taxi drivers going to the petrol kiosk cleaning their taxis. But I do agree that for public transport, it depends on individual to maintain their vehicle. I had seen a uber driver driving a car which is like [furious] super super dirty...

So yah take at your own risk :grin:

Edited by Neutralsg