Benarsenal Turbocharged September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Uber cars from LCR all are new cars. But uber still able to find some 8-9 year plus cars, think these cars should be from private owner who converted their car to uber? Or they rent from other car rental company? Possible. I think got a few type of old Uber cars. - Personal car from private owner - Short term car rental (Tribecar etc) - Some used car dealers also rent out their cars for people to do Uber - LCR I think bought a few of these old cars as well (not many) for those who want really cheap rentals. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 since last week and this week uber and grab both throw in promotion, not bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 since last week and this week uber and grab both throw in promotion, not bad Think best promo is grabhitch, but not easy for rider to be successful in getting grabhitch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged September 12, 2017 Share September 12, 2017 I took GH ride from west to Dempsey, goal rode was $12.00/, Promo was $4.00 off, the rest is on Grab, Not bad deal considering the distance.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2017 Share September 12, 2017 (edited) I took GH ride from west to Dempsey, goal rode was $12.00/, Promo was $4.00 off, the rest is on Grab, Not bad deal considering the distance.... Wondering those who are driving for grabhitch, their motor insurance got cover rider who sit in their car in case anything happened to the rider? I know that all PHV their motor insurance confirmed got covered riders. Edited September 12, 2017 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Francis-jack 6th Gear September 12, 2017 Share September 12, 2017 Wondering those who are driving for grabhitch, their motor insurance got cover rider who sit in their car in case anything happened to the rider? I know that all PHV their motor insurance confirmed got covered riders. i think for grabhitch the person sitting inside is like a normal passenger the driver who fetch around which cover the original vehicle insurance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengheng450 2nd Gear September 12, 2017 Share September 12, 2017 Wondering those who are driving for grabhitch, their motor insurance got cover rider who sit in their car in case anything happened to the rider? I know that all PHV their motor insurance confirmed got covered riders.I would say that for hitches who auto sit in front will have insurance cover but hitches who don't know how to respect driver by sitting behind should not be covered as it is not covered as it is considered a transaction rewards trip and must be covered by commercial insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 12, 2017 Share September 12, 2017 I would say that for hitches who auto sit in front will have insurance cover but hitches who don't know how to respect driver by sitting behind should not be covered as it is not covered as it is considered a transaction rewards trip and must be covered by commercial insurance. Nope. They are all covered. If commercial insurance is required but the driver don't have, then they will pay out to the passenger and sue the driver for not having coverage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear September 12, 2017 Share September 12, 2017 http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/ex-tembusu-home-worker-jailed-cheating-residents-more-s250k http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/former-grassroots-volunteer-accused-cheating-14m All become PH drivers.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear September 17, 2017 Share September 17, 2017 ah gong lai liao.... http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/uber-grab-drivers-in-taxmans-sights Taxman calls on Grab, Uber drivers Ride-hailing firms working with Iras to enable those driving for them to e-file their returns Dodging the taxman will become more difficult in the gig economy, as going cashless allows for better electronic tracking of payments. And the taxman has his sights next on Uber and Grab drivers. The Sunday Times understands that the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (Iras) has approached the two ride-hailing firms, which have amassed over 40,000 drivers since arriving here in 2013, to work out an arrangement for the drivers to file their tax returns automatically. Doing so also limits their ability to underdeclare earnings. Unlike cabbies' earnings, the takings of ride-hailing drivers are captured by their respective phone apps. An Iras spokesman said: "To simplify tax filing and ease compliance for our taxpayers, Iras continually seeks ways to explore initiatives with third parties and platform providers to automate the transmission of income information directly into our tax systems." She said the authority has done the same for property and insurance agencies. "Likewise, Iras is collaborating with Uber and Grab to make it more convenient for drivers with pre-filling of their income information in their electronic tax form." When e-filing is available, the tens of thousands of Uber and Grab drivers will be unable to avoid paying taxes or under-declaring what they earn. Driver Elliot Lin, 32, said: "If you have to pay, you have to pay." Mr Lin said he is driving part-time, and the extra income he draws from driving would mean "an incremental tax increase of less than $100". Not so for others. A 50-year-old who drives for Grab and Uber and claims to be drawing around $9,000 a month said: "This is going to be a problem. Not just for me. I think a lot of drivers will have an issue. I don't think self-employed people declare their full income. "I'm very shocked. I may go back to driving taxis." While there is no similar arrangement for cabbies - who accept mostly cash fares - ST understands that once Singapore goes cashless, taxing taxi drivers according to their actual take-home pay should become more feasible. Likewise, hawkers, market stallholders and other business people may not be able to dodge the taxman once cashless payments become the norm. Iras is also reaching out to others in the so-called "sharing economy", which includes people who rent out their homes - fully or partly - via platforms such as Airbnb. Iras said it has made available information on its website on "the taxable income of those in sharing economy". As for Uber and Grab themselves, Iras said companies are liable for corporate tax on any income just like any other company operating in Singapore. Both Uber and Grab said they were working to comply with Iras' requests. Singapore University of Social Sciences economist Walter Theseira said: "It's only fair that people pay the same income taxes regardless of whether the money was earned through self-employment or wage employment." He added that it was more important to look at Central Provident Fund contributions. "Self-employment through private-hire or taxi-driving is excessively attractive financially because drivers do not have to pay CPF contributions. "This raises their take-home earnings significantly... While this may appear 'good' in the short run, it puts the drivers at risk of not being able to finance their homes, or support themselves in retirement," he said. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 17, 2017 Share September 17, 2017 When it comes to getting more money from the citizens...no one can beat Ah Gong..... First let these PHV companies whack up the CAT A COE with their market share blitz. Then allow these PHV to attract more drivers to work for them. After that, comes IRAS to clamp down on these drivers to squeeze out every single income tax dollars. ah gong lai liao.... http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/uber-grab-drivers-in-taxmans-sights Taxman calls on Grab, Uber drivers Ride-hailing firms working with Iras to enable those driving for them to e-file their returns Dodging the taxman will become more difficult in the gig economy, as going cashless allows for better electronic tracking of payments. And the taxman has his sights next on Uber and Grab drivers. The Sunday Times understands that the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (Iras) has approached the two ride-hailing firms, which have amassed over 40,000 drivers since arriving here in 2013, to work out an arrangement for the drivers to file their tax returns automatically. Doing so also limits their ability to underdeclare earnings. Unlike cabbies' earnings, the takings of ride-hailing drivers are captured by their respective phone apps. An Iras spokesman said: "To simplify tax filing and ease compliance for our taxpayers, Iras continually seeks ways to explore initiatives with third parties and platform providers to automate the transmission of income information directly into our tax systems." She said the authority has done the same for property and insurance agencies. "Likewise, Iras is collaborating with Uber and Grab to make it more convenient for drivers with pre-filling of their income information in their electronic tax form." When e-filing is available, the tens of thousands of Uber and Grab drivers will be unable to avoid paying taxes or under-declaring what they earn. Driver Elliot Lin, 32, said: "If you have to pay, you have to pay." Mr Lin said he is driving part-time, and the extra income he draws from driving would mean "an incremental tax increase of less than $100". Not so for others. A 50-year-old who drives for Grab and Uber and claims to be drawing around $9,000 a month said: "This is going to be a problem. Not just for me. I think a lot of drivers will have an issue. I don't think self-employed people declare their full income. "I'm very shocked. I may go back to driving taxis." While there is no similar arrangement for cabbies - who accept mostly cash fares - ST understands that once Singapore goes cashless, taxing taxi drivers according to their actual take-home pay should become more feasible. Likewise, hawkers, market stallholders and other business people may not be able to dodge the taxman once cashless payments become the norm. Iras is also reaching out to others in the so-called "sharing economy", which includes people who rent out their homes - fully or partly - via platforms such as Airbnb. Iras said it has made available information on its website on "the taxable income of those in sharing economy". As for Uber and Grab themselves, Iras said companies are liable for corporate tax on any income just like any other company operating in Singapore. Both Uber and Grab said they were working to comply with Iras' requests. Singapore University of Social Sciences economist Walter Theseira said: "It's only fair that people pay the same income taxes regardless of whether the money was earned through self-employment or wage employment." He added that it was more important to look at Central Provident Fund contributions. "Self-employment through private-hire or taxi-driving is excessively attractive financially because drivers do not have to pay CPF contributions. "This raises their take-home earnings significantly... While this may appear 'good' in the short run, it puts the drivers at risk of not being able to finance their homes, or support themselves in retirement," he said. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 17, 2017 Share September 17, 2017 Actually Uber already ask drivers to report income more than 2 years ago so this is definitely not something new. I also paid when I was driving for them more than 1 year ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 17, 2017 Share September 17, 2017 Not so for others. A 50-year-old who drives for Grab and Uber and claims to be drawing around $9,000 a month said: "This is going to be a problem. Not just for me. I think a lot of drivers will have an issue. I don't think self-employed people declare their full income. "I'm very shocked. I may go back to driving taxis." This guy jialat already. LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 17, 2017 Share September 17, 2017 Uber only did the mandatory "disclaimer" advisory that they are expected to by law. Did they enforce? By right with all the payment going through them, declaring the income and tax for the drivers are just a click of a button. Why was it not done? Afraid they will turn off their existing or potential drivers? I do know for a fact that if you want to part time for government or public organizations, they will declare your income to CPF and IRAS so that proper CPF contribution and tax payment can be made. Actually Uber already ask drivers to report income more than 2 years ago so this is definitely not something new.I also paid when I was driving for them more than 1 year ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 18, 2017 Share September 18, 2017 Wondering those who are driving for grabhitch, their motor insurance got cover rider who sit in their car in case anything happened to the rider? I know that all PHV their motor insurance confirmed got covered riders. i posted before https://www.grab.com/sg/insurancefaq/ only this 4 confirmed they will cover.... Update! Income, AIG , MSIG and Aviva have confirmed that personal motor insurance purchased from them will be able to cover GrabHitch rides*, as we are considered a social carpooling platform, and not for hire or reward. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 18, 2017 Share September 18, 2017 i posted before https://www.grab.com/sg/insurancefaq/ only this 4 confirmed they will cover.... Update! Income, AIG , MSIG and Aviva have confirmed that personal motor insurance purchased from them will be able to cover GrabHitch rides*, as we are considered a social carpooling platform, and not for hire or reward. Thanks for the information. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 18, 2017 Share September 18, 2017 Not so for others. A 50-year-old who drives for Grab and Uber and claims to be drawing around $9,000 a month said: "This is going to be a problem. Not just for me. I think a lot of drivers will have an issue. I don't think self-employed people declare their full income. "I'm very shocked. I may go back to driving taxis." 50 yr old still very shocked ? He thinks no need to pay tax when you're making money. Now, IRAS should go clamped down on taxi drivers. They have not been paying tax. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 18, 2017 Share September 18, 2017 50 yr old still very shocked ? He thinks no need to pay tax when you're making money. Now, IRAS should go clamped down on taxi drivers. They have not been paying tax. But he drives for grab/uber can earn around $9000, this is really high income sia. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...