Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

The first time I used Uber I had a slight shock. Had just installed the app and keyed in credit info.

Even before I can remember clicking to ask for a cab, a non-taxi appeared and said that I had asked for him.

I was so stunned that I just couldn't bring myself to board. Needed a receipt for claims purpose, but the driver said the company will send email as receipt to me. Still I had no guts to board it. The cancellation fee is $6. I emailed the company and the rep said they will still charge the $6 and keep it in my account for my next use.

I haven't got the guts to open that app ever since.

Sentosa to Woodlands S$195.

Uber driver HUAT HUAT

after this job, can go home sleep.

==============================

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/commuters-turn-to-uber-after-mrt-breakdown-and-one-was-charged-a-whopping-230

Distance : 72.75

Time : 17.88

How to read?

72.75km and 17mins 88 seconds?

uber3.jpg

uber1.jpg

Edited by Mcf777

Uber driver HUAT HUAT

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/commuters-turn-to-uber-after-mrt-breakdown-and-one-was-charged-a-whopping-230

How to read?

uber3.jpg

uber1.jpg

72km? sure or not?

thats the distance charge, not actual distance. its called surge pricing... mite as well book hotel81 n stay overnight

After that sh*t went down in France, Uber still has the temerity to charge exorbitant fares. They're just itching for the LTA to shut them down completely, aren't they?

Uber driver HUAT HUAT

How to read?

those are charges, distant charge and time charge...

midnight surcharge x2 [sweatdrop]

72km? sure or not?

No, I think that means $72.75 for the distance travelled plus an extra $17.88 for the time.

But since the distance is something like 31.5km, that means Uber is charging something like $2.90 per km (not including booking fee).

If I'm not mistaken, our basic cab fare rate is something like 22c/400m (between 1km and 10km) and 22c/350m (after 10km). Even the highest of those comes to just about 63cents per km, making Uber almost five times as expensive per km travelled.

And this is *before* accounting for the "surge", which basically doubled the entire bill!

No, I think that means $72.75 for the distance travelled plus an extra $17.88 for the time.

But since the distance is something like 31.5km, that means Uber is charging something like $2.90 per km (not including booking fee).

If I'm not mistaken, our basic cab fare rate is something like 22c/400m (between 1km and 10km) and 22c/350m (after 10km). Even the highest of those comes to just about 63cents per km, making Uber almost five times as expensive per km travelled.

And this is *before* accounting for the "surge", which basically doubled the entire bill!

$2.9 is insane

tyaxi only charge about 0.55 per km

to be fair, uber makes sure you are aware of the surge multiplier at the moment that you are booking.

after you lock your position in via GPS and click the "book uberx" button, they will notify you of the current surge multiplier and ask you again to confirm you want a cab at the current pricing. IMHO, this is fair game since the commuter knows what he is getting himself in to.

there is hence no pity from me for those who took uber and are complaining about it now [shakehead]

to be fair, uber makes sure you are aware of the surge multiplier at the moment that you are booking.

after you lock your position in via GPS and click the "book uberx" button, they will notify you of the current surge multiplier and ask you again to confirm you want a cab at the current pricing. IMHO, this is fair game since the commuter knows what he is getting himself in to.

there is hence no pity from me for those who took uber and are complaining about it now [shakehead]

People maths fail mah. Cannot visualize the total charge

this uber thing need password one or not?

seekali A loses his phone, B picks it up, B sit uber until song song

I think primary school maths should teach these type for real life application

and also must include practical questions like:

now that you know unber costs : $x

and taking a taxi costs:$y

and taking bus and mrt cost: $z

which one will you take and why [sly][laugh]

agree, especially when that fellow is half drunk or half asleep (the picture show 6am, must be party whole night) [laugh]

i just realized the guy on stomp took uberexec; which has a base fare of $7

https://www.uber.com/cities/singapore

scroll down to the part where you can see the side profile of a car and you can see the various charges

i don't work for uber; i just don't like it when people "whack first think later" [sweatdrop]

2x already quite scary tbh.. i heard the surge went up to 6x during this year's countdown [knife]

nope, don't have to. no OTP no nothing so it is gonna be a little crappy if you lose your phone. gotta quickly cancel all cards

Very hard lah. Nowadays si ginnah a lot of money. They will take uberexec. [laugh] [laugh] Reason: wa lim peh sibeh woo lui. [sweatdrop]

this is more a dig on LTA/SMRT than to uber IMO... its coz of SMRT failure which made the consumer resort to uber...just like how URA reined in prop prices when they undersupplied d mkt in 2007... so LTA may have to regulate uber surge pricing IMO...

agree, especially when that fellow is half drunk or half asleep (the picture show 6am, must be party whole night) [laugh]

Serve him/her right [laugh] [laugh]

They should give approximate cost upon arrival lah.

Sometimes people board in a rush or with children how to calculate per km how many bucks that translate into actual cost.

72km is even more ridiculous. You only can probably near 72km if you travel from West tip to East tip of Singapore. From Sentosa is impossible, unless the passenger goes to four destinations.