Jubilong 2nd Gear April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 Forummers in his constituency please take note and bring what he said to task. The government should ensure that 2nd gen PR do not give up their status to avoid NS else these milk and run PR should be banned from seeking employment here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 1:27 AM, Eviilusion said: hope so too. After he got his o level he was dissappointed and he changed a lot and always tries his best ineverything he was involved.....thats why i remind him ns is just to serve and be done with. I even told him off for trying to get and army scholarship for his pily....told him i can affird his poly....why neewant to sign on for something he may dislike in the future! Some of his course mate and hid peers regretted taking up a scholarship.....he was thankful for my advicr! secali he become high flyer and the next MP leh?? don't forget us peasants hor!!! On 4/4/2014 at 2:49 AM, Jubilong said: Forummers in his constituency please take note and bring what he said to task. The government should ensure that 2nd gen PR do not give up their status to avoid NS else these milk and run PR should be banned from seeking employment here. they can easily go back their country, change name, come back again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 1:09 AM, Knoobie said: However, it is totally unfair that new citizens can siam such responsibilities and enjoy our benefits which turn most younger generations frustrated about NS and blinded by such "equality". The greatest travesty is many new citizen "families" have the parents take on citizenship and the father as first generation NC does not need to serve NS. But they keep their kids on PR status and leave them an escape route. Then before enlistment time, the kids will go off to another country, having enjoyed all the benefits of their parents' citizenship status. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 3:22 AM, Knoobie said: secali he become high flyer and the next MP leh?? don't forget us peasants hor!!! they can easily go back their country, change name, come back again.. hahaha...wishful thinking nia! if he becomes 1 i think my tune here will be different liao! On 4/4/2014 at 3:22 AM, Knoobie said: secali he become high flyer and the next MP leh?? don't forget us peasants hor!!! they can easily go back their country, change name, come back again.. other countries with vast hinterland makes certain criteria making it difficult to get their pr/ citizenship. Ours limited land space can give like no tomorrow.....nb! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianake 2nd Gear April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/3/2014 at 5:23 PM, Donut said: coincidently, I started to read the book by LKY 'Hard Truth'. he touches on the importance of NS and why we need it more than any other country. from his angle, I have to agree on the NS duty. the bottomline is our neighbors are not as friendly as we think they are. And we can't depend on others to save us. the young generation needs to realise this part about our neighbors To me, even if we cannot have a really good gung ho army with massive firepower to destroy any enemy, at least we have to make others think that they can't just walk in and take over without getting shot at. the whole idea of NS and.army is to deter any potential threats. from his book, I only realise we have 400 planes protecting 720 sq.km of land. this makes our enemy to think twice before walking in. is there anything in Singapore that is worth invading by our neighboring countries? by open the flood gate for foreigners is already conflicting with the need for NS to defend our home On 4/4/2014 at 12:39 AM, Eviilusion said: my son will be enlisting within these few months and he wants to serve in the army but i prefer him to serve in the police force....but we actually know its not a choice we can make. So i just told him ehatever it is treat it like its just ns....dont be a rambo and a hero. Just serve his 2 yrs and be done with it. Hope that he follows my advice. and try to get downgraded before complete NS. so no need to go back for the stupid reservist. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 1:20 AM, Eviilusion said: lala81 also wears white in his course of work lei! and i doubt his eq and iq dropped...for him it should increaee right? You mean as a doctor? Or is he an MIW? LOL if you think doctors still routinely wear white. Trust me, I'm a doctor, and I don't. Medical students - yeah, they HAVE to. Ditto for some allied health pros, like physios and radiographers. So if you see someone wearing white with a stethoscope around their neck, they're very likely not a qualified doctor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 What are all these people thinking? First of all, from hearing "GST is to help the poor" to "ERP is to help more ppl own car", and now this "Serving NS is a privilege". Knn, si beh kiang. Don't know what is going thru their mind. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 (edited) On 4/4/2014 at 3:50 AM, Loki said: The greatest travesty is many new citizen "families" have the parents take on citizenship and the father as first generation NC does not need to serve NS. But they keep their kids on PR status and leave them an escape route. Then before enlistment time, the kids will go off to another country, having enjoyed all the benefits of their parents' citizenship status. therefore I say, first generation or what not.. make it mandatory for them to serve the nation some form or another.. with regards to the PR "running away" just before his duties, it's going to be though call.. even some locals are running away to siam their son from doing NS.. On 4/4/2014 at 4:04 AM, Tianake said: is there anything in Singapore that is worth invading by our neighboring countries? by open the flood gate for foreigners is already conflicting with the need for NS to defend our home and try to get downgraded before complete NS. so no need to go back for the stupid reservist. even we do not have any natural resources, we still have to defend our home right? in fact, we are even vulnerable since we do not have natural resources... if any country not happy, send in a fleet of fighters and bomb our CBD buildings... we'll be very bad shape already.. i would say, one thing we must uphold is the low crime rates in Singapore that is so attractive comparing to other countries... (provided our home team don't sleep on it lah~ recently like complacent liao...) Edited April 4, 2014 by Knoobie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 4, 2014 Author Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 4:04 AM, Tianake said: is there anything in Singapore that is worth invading by our neighboring countries? by open the flood gate for foreigners is already conflicting with the need for NS to defend our home and try to get downgraded before complete NS. so no need to go back for the stupid reservist. downgrade still need to serve lor. unless you can get PES F. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 4:19 AM, Turboflat4 said: You mean as a doctor? Or is he an MIW? LOL if you think doctors still routinely wear white. Trust me, I'm a doctor, and I don't. Medical students - yeah, they HAVE to. Ditto for some allied health pros, like physios and radiographers. So if you see someone wearing white with a stethoscope around their neck, they're very likely not a qualified doctor. alamak...u arrr! Burst my bubble siak! I talked to my son and anaesthician came to mind. Whats the requirement for this field...can ggibe me headup! Thank you in advance. On 4/4/2014 at 4:04 AM, Tianake said: is there anything in Singapore that is worth invading by our neighboring countries? by open the flood gate for foreigners is already conflicting with the need for NS to defend our home and try to get downgraded before complete NS. so no need to go back for the stupid reservist. i am not worried of foreign enemies....more afraid of the domestic kind. The one that can ruin the country without taking up arms! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 4:04 AM, Tianake said: is there anything in Singapore that is worth invading by our neighboring countries? by open the flood gate for foreigners is already conflicting with the need for NS to defend our home and try to get downgraded before complete NS. so no need to go back for the stupid reservist. i am not the kind to ask for downgrade unless really got a medical prob. I went through army (active and reservist) with a broken ulna joint and only got downgraded 1 yr before i MR and due to the surgery done to the ulna joint. I do not want him to keng ns....but do what is necessary without sacrificing too much. Hope he understand that. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 (edited) On 4/4/2014 at 4:19 AM, Turboflat4 said: You mean as a doctor? Or is he an MIW? LOL if you think doctors still routinely wear white. Trust me, I'm a doctor, and I don't. Medical students - yeah, they HAVE to. Ditto for some allied health pros, like physios and radiographers. So if you see someone wearing white with a stethoscope around their neck, they're very likely not a qualified doctor. now the in thing is scrubs. NUH only wear scrubs to work. The only doctors to wear white labcoats to work are those hire from USA very gilat type hehe Their initials embossed on their labcoats Why can't they just say ... NS is like eating your vegetables. You hate it when you are young, but you have to do it anyway. Later in life, u will realise the benefit of eating those vegetables (ok very small benefit of $1500 tax relief for income tax) Edited April 4, 2014 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianake 2nd Gear April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 (edited) http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/dj-chris-ho-mocks-saf-poster-ad-and-says-he-wants-to-join-foreigners-and-kill Edited April 4, 2014 by Tianake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/3/2014 at 11:48 PM, Zyklon said: I told my ang moh boss I need to go back army...he "arm chio"... Then I told my clients I need to go back army...he asked me if I can get him another sales representative... Then I talked to my ang moh and prc colleague...they laughed at me for wasting 2 years of life, and still counting. I then looked around my office, FML, I am the only one who served army and yet, most of us are drawing the same pay, same benefits, and some even same citizenship. So, this is my unique privilege? The government still does not understand that you do not ask your guys to serve 2 years army on the pretext of "not letting the foreigners come here to rob our land, and f**k our woman again", but yet open the door wide wide like a prostitute to welcome any foreigner, then give blue and pink IC like tissue paper for free. I wanted to give you my whole daily 50 points power On 4/4/2014 at 12:27 AM, Mrmilktooth said: 1 thing that comes to this point is that citizens get free vaccinations for their babies at polyclinics... FREE!!! ... where got FREE??? Discounted abit but still need to pay hor..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 (edited) On 4/3/2014 at 3:58 PM, Turboflat4 said: Who's that idiot in the news screencap? He doesn't seem to know the difference between a "privilege" and an "obligation". Someone get him a dictionary, quick. same guy who says we need to pay ministers million $ paycheck so that they will feel confident sitting at the same table with MNC CEOs Edited April 4, 2014 by Xefera Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 8:18 AM, Xefera said: same guy who says we need to pay ministers million $ paycheck so that they will feel confident sitting at the same table with MNC CEOs Like dat our NSF sure no confidence when having exercises with other armies.... cos they are paid peanuts allowance. "Boost our NSF Confidence, Up their allowances to level of the US Army!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 7:22 AM, Mr_b20 said: I wanted to give you my whole daily 50 points power where got FREE??? Discounted abit but still need to pay hor..... I was told it is free during 80s... till now .. still free.. went private clinic, pay $300 for jab. Waited 1.5 hrs!!! Might as well go polyclinic, wait 2 hrs, save 300 a jab... Offer only valid for singaporeans... and the no. Of jabs they have to take... zzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 On 4/4/2014 at 8:25 AM, Volvobrick said: Like dat our NSF sure no confidence when having exercises with other armies.... cos they are paid peanuts allowance. "Boost our NSF Confidence, Up their allowances to level of the US Army!" Eh not sure leh, with the recent adjustments, they maybe better paid than some of our neighbours. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...