Little_prince Supersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 The Ministry of Defence will be looking at a "more systematic" way to share the experiences of veterans with the younger generation, said Second Minister for Defence Chan Chun Sing on Thursday evening. This will include talks at schools and those for full-time national servicemen (NSF), for instance. Mindef is also looking at expanding the existing Veteran's League and setting up a collective memory project to document the experiences of veterans. These efforts will help the younger generation understand why they serve National Service, which is key to instilling "a sense of identity and purpose" in this group, Mr Chan said at a focus group discussion held by the Committee to Strengthen National Service at Safra Toa Payoh. "We can do everything well, but if we cannot settle this issue of why we are wearing the uniform...all the other things are meaningless," he said at the event attended by 46 veterans. Most were part of the first few batches to go through National Service (NS). http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/military-veterans-discuss-how-get-the-young-understand-why-they-serve- ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 Who's that idiot in the news screencap? He doesn't seem to know the difference between a "privilege" and an "obligation". Someone get him a dictionary, quick. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 (edited) A privilege that belongs to Singaporeans? FUBAR! . Edited April 3, 2014 by Toothiewabbit 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 3, 2014 Author Share April 3, 2014 Who's that idiot in the news screencap? He doesn't seem to know the difference between a "privilege" and an "obligation". Someone get him a dictionary, quick. this is as bad as the mp that told us to go reflect when the chinaman called us dogs.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 (edited) this is as bad as the mp that told us to go reflect when the chinaman called us dogs.... Worse. That one is just "sticks and stones" (i.e. words that can't really hurt us), whereas NS actually robs the lives of a not inconsiderable number of our young sons year after year. "Privilege", indeed! Edited April 3, 2014 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hibeam2 4th Gear April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 Who's that idiot in the news screencap? He doesn't seem to know the difference between a "privilege" and an "obligation". Someone get him a dictionary, quick. Bro, He's Lim Wee Kiak, eye surgeon. With SNEC long time ago but now in private practice - Eagle eye centre. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 With globalization, mass immigration and mobility of our own talents, the concept of "Homeland" is becoming more and more abstract. Our "home" can be for anyone (esp those with $$), and anywhere can be our "home" too! Just look at Crimea - The ethnic Russian "Ukrainians" welcomed Putin's troops with open arms. Will our new immigrants do the same? And will our own sons in NS feel the same as the Ukrainian soldiers in Crimea? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 Brainwashing session? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 Bro, He's Lim Wee Kiak, eye surgeon. With SNEC long time ago but now in private practice - Eagle eye centre. fark! another eye surgeon?!! they sure do speak the same nonsense 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 Who's that idiot in the news screencap? He doesn't seem to know the difference between a "privilege" and an "obligation". Someone get him a dictionary, quick. Access to Singapore education system qualifies more as a privilege. So why are PRs given pretty much the same access level as Singaporeans? 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 With globalization, mass immigration and mobility of our own talents, the concept of "Homeland" is becoming more and more abstract. Our "home" can be for anyone (esp those with $$), and anywhere can be our "home" too! Just look at Crimea - The ethnic Russian "Ukrainians" welcomed Putin's troops with open arms. Will our new immigrants do the same? And will our own sons in NS feel the same as the Ukrainian soldiers in Crimea? coincidently, I started to read the book by LKY 'Hard Truth'. he touches on the importance of NS and why we need it more than any other country. from his angle, I have to agree on the NS duty. the bottomline is our neighbors are not as friendly as we think they are. And we can't depend on others to save us. the young generation needs to realise this part about our neighbors To me, even if we cannot have a really good gung ho army with massive firepower to destroy any enemy, at least we have to make others think that they can't just walk in and take over without getting shot at. the whole idea of NS and.army is to deter any potential threats. from his book, I only realise we have 400 planes protecting 720 sq.km of land. this makes our enemy to think twice before walking in. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 (edited) coincidently, I started to read the book by LKY 'Hard Truth'. he touches on the importance of NS and why we need it more than any other country. from his angle, I have to agree on the NS duty. the bottomline is our neighbors are not as friendly as we think they are. And we can't depend on others to save us. the young generation needs to realise this part about our neighbors To me, even if we cannot have a really good gung ho army with massive firepower to destroy any enemy, at least we have to make others think that they can't just walk in and take over without getting shot at. the whole idea of NS and.army is to deter any potential threats. from his book, I only realise we have 400 planes protecting 720 sq.km of land. this makes our enemy to think twice before walking in. Huh we got 400 planes? Really? Thought 200 plus? Liddat need many pilots and more runways cos got 400 planes no use if not enough runway to let them fly Having NS is important indeed but people maybe looking at the term of serving NS. Some may agree 2 years is good and enough to cover basic military training but some say one year is good cos 2 years too long, waste of resources and opportunities, etc. Some even says need more than 2 years Access to Singapore education system qualifies more as a privilege. So why are PRs given pretty much the same access level as Singaporeans? Just google out the answers. Miw has been answering this questions countless tes though some answer are not satisfying enough. I remember a point they said they tried to make it same or equal cos to attract PR to apply for citizenship. Some MIW also said that citizen and pr arent equal. E.g healthcare citizens charged cheaper than PR so as for school fees Edited April 3, 2014 by Thaiyotakamli 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 The gov should only allow pr who has served ns the privilege of buying a home in sg. If dowan to serve u can just rent...private or hdb! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 I told my ang moh boss I need to go back army...he "arm chio"... Then I told my clients I need to go back army...he asked me if I can get him another sales representative... Then I talked to my ang moh and prc colleague...they laughed at me for wasting 2 years of life, and still counting. I then looked around my office, FML, I am the only one who served army and yet, most of us are drawing the same pay, same benefits, and some even same citizenship. So, this is my unique privilege? The government still does not understand that you do not ask your guys to serve 2 years army on the pretext of "not letting the foreigners come here to rob our land, and f**k our woman again", but yet open the door wide wide like a prostitute to welcome any foreigner, then give blue and pink IC like tissue paper for free. 18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 Huh we got 400 planes? Really? Thought 200 plus? Liddat need many pilots and more runways cos got 400 planes no use if not enough runway to let them fly Having NS is important indeed but people maybe looking at the term of serving NS. Some may agree 2 years is good and enough to cover basic military training but some say one year is good cos 2 years too long, waste of resources and opportunities, etc. Some even says need more than 2 years Just google out the answers. Miw has been answering this questions countless tes though some answer are not satisfying enough. I remember a point they said they tried to make it same or equal cos to attract PR to apply for citizenship. Some MIW also said that citizen and pr arent equal. E.g healthcare citizens charged cheaper than PR so as for school fees 1 thing that comes to this point is that citizens get free vaccinations for their babies at polyclinics... FREE!!! ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 LoL... Ppl dun know exactly what to comment on NS. The honest truth....NS is done out of necessity. We can't rely on others to help defend our land. Good eg. chao British ang mohs fail to defend Sgp & Malay in WWII. And we know exactly why they fail, complacency, lack of intel, arrogance etc. If you have foreigners like chao ang moh laugh at us coz we have to do what is necessary cite this example and point out their failure boldly. It's becoz of their failure that the great BS empire had been defeated by the Japanese(an Asian country) that we have to rethink on depending on others to defend our land. (just kidding, but it doesn't harm to use it on chao ang moh if they got too arrogant). One thing for sure it's not a privilege. No one likes regimental lifestyle and the lack of freedom for that fact. Why do you think most say it's a "waste of time"? IMO tell the young this truth rather dan tell them what BS privilege. It never is, it never was and it never will be. I will tell my sons the same thing I type here today when they are ready to go serve NS. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 poo bor kiah kong si mi kkj? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 LoL... Ppl dun know exactly what to comment on NS. The honest truth....NS is done out of necessity. We can't rely on others to help defend our land. Good eg. chao British ang mohs fail to defend Sgp & Malay in WWII. And we know exactly why they fail, complacency, lack of intel, arrogance etc. If you have foreigners like chao ang moh laugh at us coz we have to do what is necessary cite this example and point out their failure boldly. It's becoz of their failure that the great BS empire had been defeated by the Japanese(an Asian country) that we have to rethink on depending on others to defend our land. (just kidding, but it doesn't harm to use it on chao ang moh if they got too arrogant). One thing for sure it's not a privilege. No one likes regimental lifestyle and the lack of freedom for that fact. Why do you think most say it's a "waste of time"? IMO tell the young this truth rather dan tell them what BS privilege. It never is, it never was and it never will be. I will tell my sons the same thing I type here today when they are ready to go serve NS. my son will be enlisting within these few months and he wants to serve in the army but i prefer him to serve in the police force....but we actually know its not a choice we can make. So i just told him ehatever it is treat it like its just ns....dont be a rambo and a hero. Just serve his 2 yrs and be done with it. Hope that he follows my advice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...