Big fire at Balestier Rd coffeeshop!

Stooky

Yes. Thats the shop.

No leh. Never went over to makan before. Me poor boy then. Behind the sec school, was a huge open field with a heli pad in the middle for TTSH. Used to go there to fly kite during the sch holidays. Now no more liao, all fully build up with condo.

Yah. I remember cycling up there to watch the helicopters come and go during hotel new world incident. Thinking back, it was so nearby, wouldn't it be faster by road?

Wow, u manage to see so many times. I managed to see only once, a Super Puma land n take off.

But now every sunday, I see r/c heli land n take off. [grin]

Kin Kin Ker Poh Mata :o

Uncle Fong, you naber learn lah...

What's the point po mata???

All they do is to hold the line and watch the fire nia nia.

They are not trained to fight fire you know?!! [rolleyes]

A well written blog entry (well taken pictures too) down the memory lane of balestier road.
When an area rots, it has reasons, whether external or self induced.
Some followup thoughts from the former URA boss, Liu Tai Ge
http://wen.nfdaily.cn/content/2013-11/20/content_85040710.htm

正如一个人没有记忆就没有了生存的意义,
历史街区是有独特性的 ...
如果老建筑在今天的城市发展中不在了,那就等于它们从来没有存在过。

http://gujian.cila.cn/gujian-8427.html

保护历史街区,保护古建筑,
这些东西相当于城市的记忆,就好像我的皱纹是我的记忆,
另外是保护历史,保护自然环境应该是城市的,
如果把这些毁掉整个城市既没有灵魂也没有记忆..

haha, today first time I passed there and saw this blackened building.

5 months already passed and it is still in the same blackened state . . . could it be insurance issues haven't wrapped up?

U geena before? Was it called temasek then? 😮

That was my dad, should be police wear short :D

Tangling Hat will be gone soon, many nice good old food still there, have been going back for past few weekends before they are gone.