Suicide AGAIN

Duckduck

I ever once talked to a close relatives why she is not taking care of her loving mother, her answer to me is "financial difficulties", I told her if it's me that ran into bankruptcy and become pennyless, I will be a begger on the street to beg food for parent without hesitation.

Beg on street need license anot? Wait tei gu come and catch if no license how...

Most importantly is emotional support... no emotional support see psychiatrist or phsychologist also no use...

I seriously don't understand how medical could be so important in helping one that attempted suicide... medicine can change the way he/she thinks meh..

positive encouragement to in this case should be above everything else..

Yes, emotional support is important. Hence, 1st level is family support. Including going for counselling together with a counsellor, psychotherapist.

When its insufficient, next comes medication as it alters the chemical make up within the brain. Eg, increase the levels of chemicals that can provide feelings of well being and/or nerf the feelings of depression.

somebody i am close is in the same situation you mentioned but this one both parents left them high and dry! Both sibling treat their mom fairly....give her money and the brother even took her in. Good thing is they dont bring in the past but sometimes i can see they are hurt previously. The son even gave the father pocket money when he comes visiting. This 2 siblings spent their childhood days broke with no money even for school....both dropped out of school but the brother is doing rather well through perseverence and they never look down on their parents....i respect them for that!

I'm with Vega on this. some parents really don't deserve nothing.

"financial difficulties" could be just an excuse. The real reason could be in their relationship.

unless we live and grow up with her family, we will never how is her relationship with her mom.

Have seen such situations. Being lich is of irrelevance in this case. I know of people whom live in property costing at least 5 mill or perhaps near 10 mill, drives a car that cost easily 0.4 - 0.5 million + a couple of entry level conti makes. But when it comes to funding for a retirement home that cost 2k/mth, it was taiji(ed) on the basis that it would be a financial strain...

That's how the rich gets richer.....

I'm with Vega on this. some parents really don't deserve nothing.

ya i also thought that way...but if the siblings abandon their parent as a kind of payback....the whole epidode will never ends. They have their own children now and if they do that dont u think its a bad way of teaching their own. The parents most prob regretted what they had done in the past and its not the children duty to punish them. Let bygone be bygone, like they did. There was a time when the brother cried in front of me...chiding his father for what he had done to them.....but they still visit him and gives him pocket money. Life is not a circle of endless revenge.....and i am sure they are better for that!

Yes, emotional support is important. Hence, 1st level is family support. Including going for counselling together with a counsellor, psychotherapist.

When its insufficient, next comes medication as it alters the chemical make up within the brain. Eg, increase the levels of chemicals that can provide feelings of well being and/or nerf the feelings of depression.

is there any such medicine available? I doubt so leh..

probably the doctors in MCF can clarify!!

your pussy can help enlighten me a bit?

is there any such medicine available? I doubt so leh..

probably the doctors in MCF can clarify!!

your pussy can help enlighten me a bit?

Most commonly prescribed in Sin

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fluoxetine (Prozac)

fyi, understand its also used for men suffering from pre-eject.....due to the numbing effect... [sly]

But can take 4-8 weeks before efficacy is evident.

There are many more, but above is very commonly prescribed here & around the world.

Edited by Baal

somebody i am close is in the same situation you mentioned but this one both parents left them high and dry! Both sibling treat their mom fairly....give her money and the brother even took her in. Good thing is they dont bring in the past but sometimes i can see they are hurt previously. The son even gave the father pocket money when he comes visiting. This 2 siblings spent their childhood days broke with no money even for school....both dropped out of school but the brother is doing rather well through perseverence and they never look down on their parents....i respect them for that!

I think it is ok if the parents are poor to begin with and don't have much luxury for the children (my siblings and I come from such family) but it is another story if the children are ill treated. that will cast a "dark shadow" on the child's up bringing.

heard on 938 live this morning that this could be one of the contributing factor to bullying at a later stage of life. and then the vicious cycle repeats itself. [shakehead]

not poor de! the father left the mom for another women...then the mother left them to 'enjoy' life. Both suffered as a result and both didnt complete formal education. Lucky their grandparents took them in....but the emotional scar remains. The girl even said to his father...she was lucky as their grandparent took care of them and said to him sarcastically 'A big thank you'! That really hurt the old fella deeply! But they still gibe them money!

Whoa. The old lady can hang there for more dan an hour? Quite steady.

During my NS some guys train for chin up can't even hang on the chin up bar for 2mins.

"financial difficulties" could be just an excuse. The real reason could be in their relationship.

unless we live and grow up with her family, we will never how is her relationship with her mom.

My basic fundamental 2 terms gratitudes for parent are, gratitude for being born and gratitude for bringing up, without these parental givings ? Be it rich or poor, I wouldn't be here living as what I am.

My own personal interpretation in chinese term for above gratitudes are known as, 生 育 之 恩 如 深 海, 养 育 之 恩 如 高 山。

Always two sides to the story. Some elderly people want to still be like the "boss" in the house, even when they are actually living with and dependent on their adult children.

They want attention and for people to listen to their "advice", which is sometimes not possible as the working children have their own family matters to attend to, and have their own views and life experiences.

I think for such elderly, they really got to look at the big picture and feel grateful that at least they are not out there collecting cardboard or wiping tables. Life is already very good! But of course, people always hanker after something better...

Edited by Sosaria

Whoa. The old lady can hang there for more dan an hour? Quite steady.

During my NS some guys train for chin up can't even hang on the chin up bar for 2mins.

she was standing on the concrete slab outside the window lah 。

My basic fundamental 2 terms gratitudes for parent are, gratitude for being born and gratitude for bringing up, without these parental givings ? Be it rich or poor, I wouldn't be here living as what I am.

My own personal interpretation in chinese term for above gratitudes are known as, 生 育 之 恩 如 深 海, 养 育 之 恩 如 高 山。

I am adopted. I only care for my adopted mum.

I will never acknowledge my birth parents. I do not know who they are and will not bother to find out who they are. They have abandoned my bro n I in a rubbish bin since birth. [shakehead]

It is really not easy to forgive or forget such abandonment. :angry: