13 Most Horrifying Incidents in Singapore

LoverofCar

60s and 70s are mainly kidnapping and fire-fights with the polis.

More happening. Remembered reading one in around Queenstown area where the fire-fight lasted for hours.

that's the reason why kidnapping and firearms offences both punishable by death in the 70s.

however people may disagree with it, there is indeed a sharp drop in such cases.

Also a young woman got shot to dead by an air rifle at the traffic circus at the Commonwealth Ave/Queensway junction (circus no more liao). There was speculation that it was a stray shot from an indoor range from a SPF facility further up Queensway (opp where SOC HQ is).

It was a sniper rifle.

Time to add the recent luggage bag murder onto this list already. [:(]

Glad that you are keeping counts.... [thumbsup]

Cable Car incident not in? Shame on Yahoo!

That one should be the most heroic rescues list so cannot be classified as horrifying.

Time to add the recent luggage bag murder onto this list already. [:(]

How about the kallang body part murder? That wan quite gruesome as the body parts were found one after another!

Another horrifying murder was

Huang Na at Pasir Panjang market case, murderer walked across causeway, return to Penang. Eventually caught and hanged.

The mother managed to build a new house back in China with all the donation, to start a new life.

Orchard tower murder, also in suit case, both escaped overseas buoy eventually caught.

Another was a Porsche was found abandoned. Owner was a key witness to a Hong Kong triad case.

Found dead in sea with gunshot to the head. Weapon and killer never found.

The Flor Contemplacion case where she murdered the employer daughter, found guilty and to hang.

Whole of Philippines started to protest, big case, Late Dr Chao was the key evident witness to the guilty verdict.

SG flags were burnt and trampled in Manila.

Bedok reservoir?

Edited by Atonchia

How about the kallang body part murder? That wan quite gruesome as the body parts were found one after another!

Leong strangled Liu, and then proceeded to chop her body into seven parts: feet, legs above the knee, lower torso, upper torso and head. He used a chopper and a rubber mallet to cut through her bones. He placed the body parts into green plastic bags and cardboard boxes.
Leong then made several trips on various modes of transportation to dump the parts of Liu’s dismembered body at different sites. He cycled to Ubi Road and dumped her clothes, shoes and feet in separate rubbish bins. He took taxis to the Singapore River and the Kallang River, where he dumped her lower legs and head, and lower and upper torso respectively. He then dumped her handbag and its contents at the rubbish bin outside Ang Mo Kio MRT on his way to work. He then reported for work as usual and denied knowledge of Liu’s whereabouts when other colleagues became worried that she was late and did not show up. Her colleagues eventually filed a missing persons report with the police.
On 17 June, the body parts that Leong had dumped into the Kallang River surfaced and drifted to the bank, where they were discovered by a cleaner. The lower and upper torso were the first parts to be discovered. The cleaner first came upon the lower torso, while the police found the upper torso further down on the river bank. The police subsequently managed to find her head and legs in bags from the Singapore River destined for the Tuas incineration plant. However, despite the best efforts of the police, her feet, clothes and belongings were never recovered.
I just read about it after you mentioned it! Either I did not read the news at all then in 2005, or I completely can't recall. I was still in secondary school I think. [laugh][laugh] wtf gruesome...

Leong strangled Liu, and then proceeded to chop her body into seven parts: feet, legs above the knee, lower torso, upper torso and head. He used a chopper and a rubber mallet to cut through her bones. He placed the body parts into green plastic bags and cardboard boxes.
Leong then made several trips on various modes of transportation to dump the parts of Liu’s dismembered body at different sites. He cycled to Ubi Road and dumped her clothes, shoes and feet in separate rubbish bins. He took taxis to the Singapore River and the Kallang River, where he dumped her lower legs and head, and lower and upper torso respectively. He then dumped her handbag and its contents at the rubbish bin outside Ang Mo Kio MRT on his way to work. He then reported for work as usual and denied knowledge of Liu’s whereabouts when other colleagues became worried that she was late and did not show up. Her colleagues eventually filed a missing persons report with the police.
On 17 June, the body parts that Leong had dumped into the Kallang River surfaced and drifted to the bank, where they were discovered by a cleaner. The lower and upper torso were the first parts to be discovered. The cleaner first came upon the lower torso, while the police found the upper torso further down on the river bank. The police subsequently managed to find her head and legs in bags from the Singapore River destined for the Tuas incineration plant. However, despite the best efforts of the police, her feet, clothes and belongings were never recovered.
I just read about it after you mentioned it! Either I did not read the news at all then in 2005, or I completely can't recall. I was still in secondary school I think. [laugh][laugh] wtf gruesome...

I cannot imagine how one have the courage and nerve to cut a body to several pieces. I dun even have the courage to chop off the neck of a cook chicken.

I guess when you are in a state of killing someone, surely you will have the courage to chop off the person into pieces. Same theory like how come a person can commit suicide by jumping off the building etc.

I just read about it after you mentioned it! Either I did not read the news at all then in 2005, or I completely can't recall. I was still in secondary school I think. wtf gruesome...

normal lar....where got student read newspaper wan unless forced to......hahaha! There was also a case in Mt Vernon in early 80s where the students from MVSS found a body while going to school. My sisters who were studying there were walking to school but was busy talking to their friends when one female student started to scream when she saw the body. Most of the student went back to see what was happening and saw the body....my sis saw the body too!