Jman888 Moderator March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 See......TS, we have one here already. Sometimes, too much control/rules in this tiny is no good. this is call gracious behavior ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 Bus lane normally for me is monkey see monkey do hehehe just follow the crowd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 Am prompted to ask since I keep having encounters with drivers like these at this particular spot . Here are 2 different drivers doing the same thing, one view from front and one from rear camera - had another similar encounter yesterday but it happened that my camera was not plugged in. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=if0LVrsAr8A http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_vfbU0waYk Note that the left lane is for both turning and going straight. Is there some sort of "understanding" that I must only take lane 1 on the slip road, even if the other lane is clear ? These drivers seem to expect cars in the left lane to use only lane 1 on the slip road and leave lane 2 for them, even though at one point they are actually cutting across the path of cars who might be going straight. Or is this just plain old queue jumping ? Can you show both front and rear for both incidents? Quite hard to tell whether they are queue-cutters. Maybe a misjudgement of those drivers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 Can you show both front and rear for both incidents? Quite hard to tell whether they are queue-cutters. Maybe a misjudgement of those drivers? isn't both the video link showing front and back? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 TS, you see... every damn morning at rush hour... I come across such junction where it is similar to in your video.. the queue was damn from that turn till another traffic light farther back.. but.. no one is interested in moving to the right lane of the slip road.. I have no idea why... so I also like those people in the video.. go straight from lane 2.. then cut in last min sui sui... why spend 10 mins stuck in the queue when I can just get pass it in 1 min.. the only reason I can think of is these people want to keep left after the slip road.. but unfortunately.. most of them didn't.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 (edited) isn't both the video link showing front and back? I thought two different drivers doing the same time but at different time. No? Let me see it later again (Watched again.... I believe these are two different timings) Edited March 24, 2014 by Fireball0088 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 isn't both the video link showing front and back? The video links are showing 2 different occasions, not same date/time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 I have wondered about this before and the only conclusion that I could come to is that the kiasu mentality has pervaded all aspects of living in Singapore including driving. Kia-su, kia-si, kia-lao-kui Singapore is a very small place, but people find it difficult to go 200 or 300 meters further to take a U-turn when they miss a turn. Why ? Save 2 minute is bigger than $2M, even it means danger to other road users. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 I thought two different drivers doing the same time but at different time. No? Let me see it later again (Watched again.... I believe these are two different timings) oops! i thought i saw the black suzuki swift on both video Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 For me I avoid bus lane because I want to save my suspensions and teeth. They use concrete for some parts of the bus lanes and my teeth and the car rattles like crazy when I drive there, cannot tahan. perhaps people are conditioned that bus lanes cannot be used at any time or just plain too confusing or difficult to remember the exact official operating hours. Even on normal roads without bus lanes, people are avoiding the left most lane. So, it's a natural instinct here in unique Singapore. I hardly see people turning into their correct lane, rather it's always turning into another lane, i.e. on left lane turn into major road's second lane or even the right most lane. Also, many people driving hong chias (passenger cars) thought their cars sibei BIG, so when turning left into minor road, need to swerve and eat to the right lane before piloting their BIG hong chia into minor road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 Note that the left lane is for both turning and going straight. Is there some sort of "understanding" that I must only take lane 1 on the slip road, even if the other lane is clear ? These drivers seem to expect cars in the left lane to use only lane 1 on the slip road and leave lane 2 for them, even though at one point they are actually cutting across the path of cars who might be going straight. Or is this just plain old queue jumping ? TS, no. U can take that lane (going straight or left turn). From 1st vid, we can't tell if you have signaled to indicate you are turning left instead of going straight. For a rational driver, one will not attempt what the Lancer driver did as it is very reckless. On your part, you could drive defensively since you know you are on a lane where one can turn or go straight. You could always check and see your rear or side mirror if there's any car coming 2F2F and gravitating to your lane. As for second vid, the Nissan March is quite a distance away for the car to signal and change lane without causing anyone to jam brake. As for the short horn probably from the bemeer, driver could probably just be alerting the honda. Cutting queue or not to me is secondary. If I can give way even though I might have right of way, I would provided I could do it without endangering everyone. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 For me I avoid bus lane because I want to save my suspensions and teeth. They use concrete for some parts of the bus lanes and my teeth and the car rattles like crazy when I drive there, cannot tahan. For me I always use bus lane when its not in operation. Always the fastest lane cuz alot of people avoid it all the time. I don't notice any difference in terms of the road condition on the bus lane or other lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 Am prompted to ask since I keep having encounters with drivers like these at this particular spot . Here are 2 different drivers doing the same thing, one view from front and one from rear camera - had another similar encounter yesterday but it happened that my camera was not plugged in. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=if0LVrsAr8A http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_vfbU0waYk Note that the left lane is for both turning and going straight. Is there some sort of "understanding" that I must only take lane 1 on the slip road, even if the other lane is clear ? These drivers seem to expect cars in the left lane to use only lane 1 on the slip road and leave lane 2 for them, even though at one point they are actually cutting across the path of cars who might be going straight. Or is this just plain old queue jumping ? camera don't tell everything. a sunny was signaling wanting to filter in. you did not give way and he gave up, moved up to the car infront of you who gave way to him. did you also not give way to the Mit hence his stun? many times, we just need to let go the accelerator. most of the time we don't even have to brake to give way but many just choose to blast their honk instead. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canisminor 1st Gear March 24, 2014 Author Share March 24, 2014 camera don't tell everything. a sunny was signaling wanting to filter in. you did not give way and he gave up, moved up to the car infront of you who gave way to him. did you also not give way to the Mit hence his stun? many times, we just need to let go the accelerator. most of the time we don't even have to brake to give way but many just choose to blast their honk instead. The moment the Sunny put on his indicator, the car in front started braking and he decided to move in front instead. I did not speed up to close the gap if that's what you are implying. As for your speculation that I did not give way to the Mitsubishi earlier, look properly at the video. Do you see him anywhere at all ? I don't know where he came from - my guess is that he turned out from AMK Industrial Park and immediately wanted to keep left to enter the expressway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canisminor 1st Gear March 24, 2014 Author Share March 24, 2014 TS, no. U can take that lane (going straight or left turn). From 1st vid, we can't tell if you have signaled to indicate you are turning left instead of going straight. For a rational driver, one will not attempt what the Lancer driver did as it is very reckless. On your part, you could drive defensively since you know you are on a lane where one can turn or go straight. You could always check and see your rear or side mirror if there's any car coming 2F2F and gravitating to your lane. As for second vid, the Nissan March is quite a distance away for the car to signal and change lane without causing anyone to jam brake. As for the short horn probably from the bemeer, driver could probably just be alerting the honda. Cutting queue or not to me is secondary. If I can give way even though I might have right of way, I would provided I could do it without endangering everyone. If I am taking the 2nd lane slip road I don't indicate left as that might confuse other drivers into thinking that I am using the 1st lane. And as the video shows, I usually try to stay more to the right of the lane, so it looks like I could be actually going straight instead. If people think it is faster to not form up in the left lane to enter the expressway and to try to turn from the next lane that is for going straight only, they should exercise greater care and not assume everyone in that lane is turning into the 1st lane and not observe what other cars are doing. By the way, the horn you hear in the 2nd video is actually from the Civic and it looks like he flashed his lights at me too, which is why I wondered who is at fault here. The BMW was quite far back so the Civic could have easily entered the correct lane for turning if he wanted to. Maybe to drive defensively I should signal right instead as a form of warning if I want to use the 2nd lane ? Hmmmm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 24, 2014 Share March 24, 2014 By the way, the horn you hear in the 2nd video is actually from the Civic and it looks like he flashed his lights at me too, which is why I wondered who is at fault here. The BMW was quite far back so the Civic could have easily entered the correct lane for turning if he wanted to. Maybe to drive defensively I should signal right instead as a form of warning if I want to use the 2nd lane ? Hmmmm.... I dono, maybe, I old school, taught to use signal when turning. Based on this incident, I won`t speculate whether my signal will confuse drivers and at the same time, I will make it a point to check mirrors to pre-empt drivers like Lancer. And also to accelerate instead of taking own sweet time turning into CTE. I don't want to AssUme u r a slow poke hence the Civic driver horn u but i've seen my fair share of Lancer n Civic pulling such stunts. If I am not an observant n tolerant driver, i wld hv probably not njoy driving. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic March 25, 2014 Share March 25, 2014 (edited) Am prompted to ask since I keep having encounters with drivers like these at this particular spot . Here are 2 different drivers doing the same thing, one view from front and one from rear camera - had another similar encounter yesterday but it happened that my camera was not plugged in. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=if0LVrsAr8A http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_vfbU0waYk Note that the left lane is for both turning and going straight. Is there some sort of "understanding" that I must only take lane 1 on the slip road, even if the other lane is clear ? These drivers seem to expect cars in the left lane to use only lane 1 on the slip road and leave lane 2 for them, even though at one point they are actually cutting across the path of cars who might be going straight. Or is this just plain old queue jumping ? TS, this is along amk ave 3 right? i drive along the same route frequently. i have been on both sides of the fence depending on the situation. when traffic is relatively smooth, i'll just change to the left-most lane earlier and follow the queue to enter CTE. sometimes when the left-most lane is jammed up all the way to the previous traffic light, i'll go further up the road and signal left to enter CTE using the right lane of the slip road. from my observation, the left lane of that slip road is usually filled up with queuing cars whereas the right lane of the slip road will at most have one or two cars. when i was driving my previous 1.6 car, i always queued up early at the left-most lane as i know it was difficult for my car to accelerate faster than other cars. but there will be those who overestimate their car's performance, and end up like the Lancer in your first video, causing danger for others and themselves. it's easier for my current 2L car to do what the civic had done in your second video. it's a safe manuveur as long as it doesn't cause other cars to have to brake or perform evasive action. Edited March 25, 2014 by Jellandross Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear March 25, 2014 Share March 25, 2014 If I am taking the 2nd lane slip road I don't indicate left as that might confuse other drivers into thinking that I am using the 1st lane. And as the video shows, I usually try to stay more to the right of the lane, so it looks like I could be actually going straight instead. If people think it is faster to not form up in the left lane to enter the expressway and to try to turn from the next lane that is for going straight only, they should exercise greater care and not assume everyone in that lane is turning into the 1st lane and not observe what other cars are doing. By the way, the horn you hear in the 2nd video is actually from the Civic and it looks like he flashed his lights at me too, which is why I wondered who is at fault here. The BMW was quite far back so the Civic could have easily entered the correct lane for turning if he wanted to. Maybe to drive defensively I should signal right instead as a form of warning if I want to use the 2nd lane ? Hmmmm.... why TS you never reply to my post? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...