Turning from non-turning lanes

Canisminor

Am prompted to ask since I keep having encounters with drivers like these at this particular spot . Here are 2 different drivers doing the same thing, one view from front and one from rear camera - had another similar encounter yesterday but it happened that my camera was not plugged in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=if0LVrsAr8A

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_vfbU0waYk

Note that the left lane is for both turning and going straight. Is there some sort of "understanding" that I must only take lane 1 on the slip road, even if the other lane is clear ? These drivers seem to expect cars in the left lane to use only lane 1 on the slip road and leave lane 2 for them, even though at one point they are actually cutting across the path of cars who might be going straight. Or is this just plain old queue jumping ?

If go by the book, all are queue jumpers.

But in reality, yes, drivers are expected/assumed to remain on the same lane on the slip road (right or wrong, dun flame me). Since you intend to take lane 2 most of the time, you must be prepared for such "close encounters".

Having said that, some of these vehicles "jump queue" by cutting in recklessly while others would swee swee seamlessly lane change to enter into the slip road. Likewise, those on the slip road aleady and choose to use lane 2 should be prepared to give way while it is safe to do so.

Everyone should play their part, just saying nia [flowerface]

Edited by Toothiewabbit

I don't think there is any understanding for a driver to continue keeping left. While it is not illegal to cut from the right into the slip road, if the driver cutting in hits someone in the left lane, he would be in the wrong.

You don't have to give way if you are going straight or going knto the right lane in the slip road....

They are not wrong cos the lane is a bus lane, they travel down to the slip road then make a turn or 'cut' queue, to them you are not suppose to be on the bus lane.

If go by the book, all are queue jumpers.

But in reality, yes, drivers are expected/assumed to remain on the same lane on the slip road (right or wrong, dun flame me)..

I am not changing from lane 1 to 2 after I enter the slip road - this I would say is just kiasu. If you look at the videos again, all this is happening at the point where the left lane starts to widen into 2 lanes for the slip road. At this point, I could also go straight instead of turning.

If I want to use lane 2 on the slip road I try to stay more to the right side of the lane to show my intention but people either don't notice or don't care.

They are not wrong cos the lane is a bus lane, they travel down to the slip road then make a turn or 'cut' queue, to them you are not suppose to be on the bus lane.

Just to clarify, all this takes place outside bus lane hours.

perhaps people are conditioned that bus lanes cannot be used at any time or just plain too confusing or difficult to remember the exact official operating hours.

Even on normal roads without bus lanes, people are avoiding the left most lane. [laugh]

So, it's a natural instinct here in unique Singapore. I hardly see people turning into their correct lane, rather it's always turning into another lane, i.e. on left lane turn into major road's second lane or even the right most lane.

Also, many people driving hong chias (passenger cars) thought their cars sibei BIG, so when turning left into minor road, need to swerve and eat to the right lane before piloting their BIG hong chia into minor road.

I am not changing from lane 1 to 2 after I enter the slip road - this I would say is just kiasu. If you look at the videos again, all this is happening at the point where the left lane starts to widen into 2 lanes for the slip road. At this point, I could also go straight instead of turning.
If I want to use lane 2 on the slip road I try to stay more to the right side of the lane to show my intention but people either don't notice or don't care.

Edited by Kangadrool

I believe this is the "right-lane" attitude employed by many SG drivers... Keep to the right-most possible lane(although this is not the right-most lane but still right side) and turn at last minute... Refuse to keep left....

Aiya, no matter what, if a driver signals and is faster, give way lor.. better lose out in "placing" then gwtting into accident.

I don't think this is considered as turning from non-turning lanes. If they don't change lanes recklessly then nothing wrong since they enter the slip road from the correct lane.

One thing to complaint in sg is that too many red light, ridiculous sometimes i had to stop for pedestrian crossing That turn green and more ridiculously no one was crossing. Wait for f...

I also encounter this situation on route to work everyday. So only when I required to turn right immediately then I will form up on the rightmost of left slip road. No end to this argument,if Lang gar, then more time wasted. If ppl just wanna cut in, just brake and let it be.. nobody's time is more precious. End of the day, make turns when your eyes big big and step on your brakes not accelerator. So what he/she is front when filtering? Just cut his/her lane after turning(not abruptly) if you are still pissed..

Even turning from secondary turning lanes. Two turning lanes, the one inside (turn right only) has one or no car. The one outside (straight and turn) has no car. Most traffic going straight. Die-die must be the first car and stop on the outside turn lane and block off one entire lane making other's changing out and causing the flow to slow down.

Legally right, mentally wrong, morally bankrupt.

sorry i was 'programmed' not to enter the bus lane regardless of what hour.

See......TS, we have one here already. [laugh] Sometimes, too much control/rules in this tiny is no good.

sorry i was 'programmed' not to enter the bus lane regardless of what hour.

for "insurance" purpose, people have been conditioned to stay away from trouble 24/7 365.

Always not bus lane hours, bus lane also empty