Toyota distributor Borneo quits Motor Traders Association

Darthrevan

What I hear from sources is that Borneo is in an absolute mess internally.  They brought in an Australian CEO 10 years the junior of current CEO, Koh  to lead the business, and the new incumbent's leadership is not everyone's cup of tea.

Remember that if you are number one, the only way you can go is downwards. Whereas if you are below no. 1, you can still head up.

People purchase a Toyota because of the perceived value. The Koreans are catching up fast. Look at sales of Kia in the first quarter. The Toyota killer, the Kia Cerato Forte K3 may overtake Altis sales in the coming years if the brand does not innovate and continue to sell its products at premium pricing.

Toyota might end up being the next Nokia. Toyota might say NO to KIA but Kia seems determined to push its way up.   [laugh]

Edited by Vinceng

My Regional CFO has a team of 2 persons. These 2 persons work predominantly on APAC topic with no space for other work hor.

Lucky you. My previous job i behave like a day and work like a dog. 50 percent my boss up in the air flying around like supermen. Come December disappeared for weeks. Probably in some mountain no contactab.

I did.  :D

...in a nicer way.....goodbye BM  [wave]

Come on la.. on the grand scale of things...  increasing the local costs will decrease the global costs..  from a company perspective...  its definitely not a loss situation... 

BM has every right to do what it did...  (fully legal due to the laws here.. they cant pull this stunt in other countries due to union laws.. but this debate is not for today)

And the question to Singaporeans is ..... are you going to use your wallet to proof a stand to these companies and tell them to go f**k spider?? 

I did.  :D

...in a nicer way.....goodbye BM  [wave]

I might soon be another one.... now on the verge of swaying to another camp

my heart used to lean >90% Toyota (100%BM), now has reduced to 50/50 open to other possibilities

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/more-leaving-borneo-motors

More people are quitting Inchcape's Borneo Motors after its shock retrenchment exercise in January.

This time, senior managers appointed to replace those who were laid off are leaving.

In an internal memo obtained by The Straits Times, interim chief executive George Ashford told staff that retail vehicle sales commercial director Adeline Tan will take an indefinite leave of absence from the company to "focus on her family's immediate priorities". Marketing director Tan Ching Ee has also decided to quit to focus on her family.

oth women were appointed to take over senior roles vacated after a retrenchment exercise shaved 120 jobs from one of Inchcape's most profitable units in the world.

Others who have thrown in the towel in the latest moves include Ms Justine Goh, senior manager of business strategy and key liaison manager with Toyota; and head of Lexus sales Shirley Leong.

The transfer of expatriates from Inchcape's London office to Singapore soon after the layoffs had worsened morale.

Ms Goh, who is responsible for negotiating three-year product plans with the manufacturer, is said to be leaving without a job. Ms Leong is leaving for Wearnes Automotive's Infiniti unit, a Lexus rival.

They follow a number of other employees who had quit soon after the layoffs, including Mr Melvin Low, director of after-sales.

In his memo, Mr Ashford said Mr Alex Yap has been appointed the new director of retail vehicle sales. Mr Yap was previously with Borneo Motors. He left to join BMW agent Performance Motors, but quit suddenly in 2015. His last post was chief executive of parallel importer Abwin Automotive.

Borneo Motors declined to comment when contacted, but observers said the retrenchment had created unhappiness because staff are now expected to do much more with fewer resources.

The transfer of expatriates from Inchcape's London office to Singapore soon after the layoffs had worsened morale.

Mr David Leong, managing director of PeopleWorldwide Consulting, said the latest wave of resignations "signals internal turbulence".

"Usually, it means a misalignment and unhappiness with new KPIs and strategic thrusts," he added, referring to key performance indicators.

Mr Paul Heng, founder and managing director of NeXT Career Consulting Group, said: "Because of changes in working style and culture, some people may find that they are no longer keen to continue as they are not aligned with the new culture. Some could have been poached."

Meanwhile, Inchcape is still on the lookout for a managing director for Borneo Motors.

Meaning if I buy a Toyota from the 1 inch ape from Borneo, I am supporting this kind of corporate behavior???

Pui Toyota. I won't buy T.

It's just the AD Borneo who is responsible for some toyotas and the Lexus. U can always buy from PIs who bring in wonderful cars like harrier.

Lucky you. My previous job i behave like a day and work like a dog. 50 percent my boss up in the air flying around like supermen. Come December disappeared for weeks. Probably in some mountain no contactab.

That's why he is the boss & you are worker.

:grin:

I don't report to him.  My boss (China CFO) reports to him

B4 we all throw pitchforks at Inchcape for replacing the local management, dun forget at one time many ppl kpkb abt the poor service attitude they get when visiting BM.

Remembered once I brought my used 4yr old Toyota to fix an annoying grinding sound from the front drivetrain area. The SA say my driveshafts, gearbox kaput n quoted an eye watering $6000 to repair. I refused to accept n brought it down to the nearby unker workshop at Bukit Merah.

The repair bill?.......$150 to replace a worn wheel bearing.

Knn....

This is a typical office political scene. When the management continued for too long, people gets contented and everything status quo. People thinks they are untouchable and without them, company will close down.

Then company starts to shake the old tree. Monkeys start to drop and new ones emerged. Along the way, good monkeys also get axed because they did not join a strong party.

New emerging group wants to secure position, so they start to bring in supporters and weed out those that may cause challenges. They would have to fight till finally the dust settle.

So survival of company politics, find a tree and is cooler to sit. [bigcry]

B4 we all throw pitchforks at Inchcape for replacing the local management, dun forget at one time many ppl kpkb abt the poor service attitude they get when visiting BM.

Remembered once I brought my used 4yr old Toyota to fix an annoying grinding sound from the front drivetrain area. The SA say my driveshafts, gearbox kaput n quoted an eye watering $6000 to repair. I refused to accept n brought it down to the nearby unker workshop at Bukit Merah.

Knn....

so if nothing changes after a year from now, can we dust off the pitch forks?

Knn....

This is the closest they could get to asking you to change to their new car.