35 and flat broke!

Whats with all the show off-ing in this thread???

my parents are 60 plus and also broke. they didnt gamble, spend on expensive things....does it mean anything?

now my brother and me are supporting them.

its a ritual here

peasant bashing is also part of the ritual

you are new we forgive you

T2 will say full cash please, thats why T2 bro cut his credit cards to limit his spending and only keep his Amex Platinum

I only have three cards and its sufficient. I wont sign up more and i wont cut any.

Actually i wouldnt mind spending $50k $100k using credit card if it was a budgeted purchase.

For example, if i buy furnitureand sign off $80k, the only thing is that when the bill comes i will just fully settle it with cash, ahahahahahahahah.

Edited by Throttle2

It's the evil thing called Credit Card. It's the devil the size of a card, tempting ppl to spend more. Haha...

In the distant future I will limit my Adult children to just one card. Cannot have more. LoL...

Bro...realistically, I don't think you can control your adult son/daughter on the number of CC they can hold especially if they earn those money themselves.

But I think you are just kidding with your statement above. [laugh]

Edited by Icedbs

T2 will say full cash please, thats why T2 bro cut his credit cards to limit his spending and only keep his Amex Platinum

Wah lau. Say pple platinum.

It's Centurion lah.

The other day I was having a meal: home-made sandwich that consisted of two slices of bread with a single sunny side-up egg. It triggered a mental calculation of how much it would cost if I lived minimally by having the same food for my meals everyday: $2 x 3 meals/day x 30 days = $180.

This is of course just theoretical but in practice if one is truly driven to desperation to cut costs, he could have food for less than $200 per month without depending on charity.

About a few months ago I met at a cafe a man who had just been released from prison. He had approached me to buy a keychain, saying that it would help to create rehabilitation opportunities for him.

I invited him to sit down and got him a cup of coffee so that we could talk.

His primary worry was how no one was willing to hire him and that he could not make enough to survive, having an aged mother to take care of at home.

I asked him how much he and his family needed per month to survive. He replied, "$750".

There was smell of cigarette smoke on his heavily tattooed body (arms and legs fully decorated) so I asked him how much he spent per month on cigarettes.

His answer was that as a heavy smoker, he spent about $350 per month on that.

There were two things that I suggested to him:

a. remove his tattoos - I offered to sponsor the cost of laser removal of tattoos for him

b. reduce or if possible cut totally his smoking habit

To these two suggestions the man replied:

a. he loved the tattoos in spite of the fact that would-be employers frowned upon and likely discounted him due to them

b. he has been smoking since he was a teenager and he did not feel it was necessary to cut his smoking habit

We spent about an hour talking and he shared with me his life-story, of how he had got into the wrong company and dabbled in drugs and gang-fights. More than three-quarters of his life of fifty-odd years had been spent behind bars.

At the end of our conversation, he said to me "Brother, I know I need to change but I am too old to change."

I gave him my number and told him "Brother, if one day you want to change and need help to change, call me. But the desire to change is the first step and it must come from you of your own accord".

The reason why I have brought this up is to highlight this point - at the end of it all, the onus to better one's life depends on oneself. Much as others can and would like to help, the first step - the desire to seek improvement - has to be taken by the individual.

Singapore hard to live on $3 a day lah (transport and meals). But simple simple, $10-15 a day is enough. And hawker food better than restaurants, know why? When hungry, restaurants must Q, order wait. Hawker, order chai png pay and eat. Fast fast fill tummy.. Hahahaha..

Whether individual want to keep up with "society" and in doing so, bankrupt himself, his choice lah. There are people I know, don't really chase similar material possessions, though they spend on their own hobby. As long as happy, don't go out molest / rape / kill / steal, ok liao..

The other exotic cars should loan out to people like me to love the car... Anyone got a Gallardo Spyder I can love? =D I'll settle for a Z4 or MR-S even..

• Praise 10

The other day I was having a meal: home-made sandwich that consisted of two slices of bread with a single sunny side-up egg. It triggered a mental calculation of how much it would cost if I lived minimally by having the same food for my meals everyday: $2 x 3 meals/day x 30 days = $180.

This is of course just theoretical but in practice if one is truly driven to desperation to cut costs, he could have food for less than $200 per month without depending on charity.

About a few months ago I met at a cafe a man who had just been released from prison. He had approached me to buy a keychain, saying that it would help to create rehabilitation opportunities for him.

His primary worry was how no one was willing to hire him and that he could not make enough to survive, having an aged mother to take care of at home.

I asked him how much he and his family needed per month to survive. He replied, "$750".

There was smell of cigarette smoke on his heavily tattooed body (arms and legs fully decorated) so I asked him how much he spent per month on cigarettes.

a. remove his tattoos - I offered to sponsor the cost of laser removal of tattoos for him

a. he loved the tattoos in spite of the fact that would-be employers frowned upon and likely discounted him due to them

b. he has been smoking since he was a teenager and he did not feel it was necessary to cut his smoking habit

We spent about an hour talking and he shared with me his life-story, of how he had got into the wrong company and dabbled in drugs and gang-fights. More than three-quarters of his life of fifty-odd years had been spent behind bars.

At the end of our conversation, he said to me "Brother, I know I need to change but I am too old to change."

I gave him my number and told him "Brother, if one day you want to change and need help to change, call me. But the desire to change is the first step and it must come from you of your own accord".

The reason why I have brought this up is to highlight this point - at the end of it all, the onus to better one's life depends on oneself. Much as others can and would like to help, the first step - the desire to seek improvement - has to be taken by the individual.

you are indeed a good man my friend! Blessings be upon you always! [thumbsup][thumbsup]

everyday eat bread and sunny-side up will probably get cancer also [sweatdrop]

old habit die hard, it is always a comfort zone that they would like to fall back on rather than have everything gone overnight (tattoo & smoking).

Thanks for your kind words but I was just doing what I could. Many blessings upon you as well and have a great day ahead!

you are indeed a good man my friend! Blessings be upon you always! [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Take Stephanie*, 33, who is single and still lives with her parents. Though she's an art director at an ad and marketing agency and earns a decent $4,000 a month, she's mired in credit card debt totalling $15,000, which she's amassed since 2007.

- I like being generous and I feel bad because my friends don't earn as much as I do," she explains.

art DIRECTOR 4k a month and she feels bad her friends dont earn as much as her..

i do feel bad if i had a director title and earns only 4k each month.....she should find friends who are earning more than her so next time they can treat her instead.

btw..some old news report that dishwasher already earn more than 3K in Singapore...

Edited by KumarB

art DIRECTOR 4k a month and she feels bad her friends dont earn as much as her..

i do feel bad if i had a director title and earns only 4k each month.....she should find friends who are earning more than her so next time they can treat her instead.

btw..some old news report that dishwasher already earn more than 3K in Singapore...

Dont you know a tablewiper here earns many times that and pays everything in cash?

u had to rub it in ah...kekekekeke

rub what in? Aint that the truth? [laugh]

lol...the whole truth and nothing but the truth!! [:p][:p]

My bad, maybe let me rephrase what I said. I can't survive on $3 a day, and would find even the $5 / day challenge extremely tough, though there are others out there doing the same. I haven't had the misfortune to suffer at that level, and hopefully I never will, but I don't look down on those who are.

[thumbsup] You're a good man to give him that offer, but the change, both the willingness and determination has to come from him.

Why you so buay song? Tablewipers offend you ah??

Pay with credit no crime, pay with cash got crime ah?

Dont play judge if got double standard lah...

Heeeehhhheeeeeee

lol...the whole truth and nothing but the truth!! [:p][:p]

And the truth will set you free !

Muayahahahah

SoTake Stephanie*, 33, who is single and still lives with her parents. Though she's an art director at an ad and marketing agency and earns a decent $4,000 a month, she's mired in credit card debt totalling $15,000, which she's amassed since 2007.

"I go to the spa every week for massages, mani-pedis and hair treatments; I take cabs everywhere; I eat at expensive restaurants twice a week; and I'm always treating friends to drinks when we go out - I like being generous and I feel bad because my friends don't earn as much as I do," she explains.

These people should not be condemned. These are the nice people I would like to make friends with.

yah, and they prolly desert you as soon as you smell like a run down rat.

I really didn't know women can be so addicted to rolling over their credit card bills to buy expensive

handbags. Can you imagine how much the roll over interest would be?

I wonder which bank has the most credit card loans to these women, I would really like to buy shares in

that bank and also buy some shares in those expensive handbag makers.