35 and flat broke!

Whether it's $50k or $5k monthly salary, if one choose not to spend within one's means or does not have a savings habit and always drawing on credit or overdraft, debts will come knocking on the door sooner than realised.

Unfortunately, wisdom is not automatically gotten as one gets older hence, there are broke, flat broke people of all ages.

If can, dun gamble. If can't, set a limit and never cross it. If can, dun smoke. If can't, limit the number of packs or sticks. If can, dun drink. If can't, limit the number of glasses or bottles. Best is, dun become an addict to these because money got a way of flowing out very fast if no limit set.

Credit cards. Meant to be a convenient way especially for travels. These days, it has become the stepping stone to a broke future if one is not prudent.

Always have a choice. Learn to live within one's means and dun fall for green eyes syndrome. It's ok to live a simple life. Even the richest man can only eat so much at a meal and at any one time, can only drive an exotic car or yacht or plane.

Enjoy life by not being in debt. It's a priceless freedom and one can sleep so much better each night. It's your own life, dun let others dictate what happiness is.... It's definitely not in possessions. Otherwise, one need not keep having to buy possessions and yet still never feel satisfied.

Dun worry what people think of you. If they look at you only from your appearance or things you have, they are not the type of people you need to

keep as friends anyways.

Just personal thoughts. It's better to sleep well each night than fear the knock on the door at night...from debt collectors or ah longs.

If one has the means and will not lose sleep over repayment the following month or year, please spend

and help the economy. Hehe.......I am not against being rich and successful..... But one need be prudent and not get into money trouble to upset one's future. Enjoy now suffer later is reality on hold.

Safe ride

Whether it's $50k or $5k monthly salary, if one choose not to spend within one's means or does not have a savings habit and always drawing on credit or overdraft, debts will come knocking on the door sooner than realised.

Unfortunately, wisdom is not automatically gotten as one gets older hence, there are broke, flat broke people of all ages.

If can, dun gamble. If can't, set a limit and never cross it. If can, dun smoke. If can't, limit the number of packs or sticks. If can, dun drink. If can't, limit the number of glasses or bottles. Best is, dun become an addict to these because money got a way of flowing out very fast if no limit set.

Credit cards. Meant to be a convenient way especially for travels. These days, it has become the stepping stone to a broke future if one is not prudent.

Always have a choice. Learn to live within one's means and dun fall for green eyes syndrome. It's ok to live a simple life. Even the richest man can only eat so much at a meal and at any one time, can only drive an exotic car or yacht or plane.

Enjoy life by not being in debt. It's a priceless freedom and one can sleep so much better each night. It's your own life, dun let others dictate what happiness is.... It's definitely not in possessions. Otherwise, one need not keep having to buy possessions and yet still never feel satisfied.

Dun worry what people think of you. If they look at you only from your appearance or things you have, they are not the type of people you need to

keep as friends anyways.

Just personal thoughts. It's better to sleep well each night than fear the knock on the door at night...from debt collectors or ah longs.

If one has the means and will not lose sleep over repayment the following month or year, please spend

and help the economy. Hehe.......I am not against being rich and successful..... But one need be prudent and not get into money trouble to upset one's future. Enjoy now suffer later is reality on hold.

Safe ride

nicely said. The old days are the best, where we save until we can buy what we want......now, is like what lala said, instant gratification.

Wah $17k per month household is a lot a lot of money leh, dont like that leh you fellas.

yah lah

HDB already clarified that the $10K income ceiling represents 80% of singapore population

$17K is like maybe top 5% already

yah lah

HDB already clarified that the $10K income ceiling represents 80% of singapore population

$17K is like maybe top 5% already

so little needed to be the 5% meh??? i am shocked!!! :blink:

on the bright side, the more debts people accumulate, the better for savers to benefit when the cards come falling down

It's not a big deal. It all boils down to personal expectations and lifestyle. One can live on $3 per day or one can live on $300 per day.

The one who lives a simple and frugal lifestyle that costs only $3 daily need not be any less happy than the one who has a $300 daily budget for spending.

There are real-life examples where folks from the first category could in fact be happier than the ones from the second group.

However, there is constant pressure by society and from society that drives the individual into trying to keep up with the Joneses. In time, this conspires with envy and jealousy to invoke in a significant percentage of society general unhappiness and severe discontent.

it is always comforting to read your post, than constantly being called poor by a table wiper [blush]

so little needed to be the 5% meh??? i am shocked!!! :blink:

i anyhow guess one lah

i wont know since i belong to working class

it is always comforting to read your post, than constantly being called poor by a table wiper [blush]

u hv to understand, one is actualised, one is action only, in current use of terminology, EQ challenged.

As i mentioned to the folks on Saturday, it is but a cry for attention, since that individual could be lacking it (attention)in the real world. Thus achieving that mental state here online is sufficient to sooth the soul. Evident from the pompous posting of appendages with some form of metal attachd to it, giving references to some sheet of 'processed wood' ad nauseum.

So be kind ok

u hv to understand, one is actualised, one is action only, in current use of terminology, EQ challenged. As i mentioned to the folks Saturday, it is but a cry for attention, since that individual could be lacking it in the real world. Thus achieving that mental state here online is sufficient to sooth the soul. Evident from the pompous posting of appendages with some form of metal attachd to it, giving references to some sheet of 'processed wood' ad nauseum.

So be kind ok

now i even more broke, cos i dun understand what you trying to say [bigcry][bigcry]

muahahahahahah...knn...pardon the euphemisms. I moody today lah

alamak. cannot chochok you like that le.

on the bright side, the more debts people accumulate, the better for savers to benefit when the cards come falling down

Actually, there is a possibility for the savers to have to bail out the banks if this happens... ie, the spenders will benefit in this scenario... [thumbsdown]

earn $5k and allocate $3k for rent, phone and utility bill.

like that ... if no broke ... i chop ar ... wahahaha

The banks & the credit companies will be very happy that there are still many of these less prudent people around... else where can they earn their high interest...

I'm always amused that the banks are giving freebies such as watch, tablets, cameras etc when people take up their loans... these people need to take loan means already facing some financial issue... so why need to entice them with these unnecessary gimmicks which adds to the cost of the loans (nothing is free lah...) No $$$ still want to have another fanciful watch/tablet for Fxxx -_-

It's not a big deal. It all boils down to personal expectations and lifestyle. One can live on $3 per day or one can live on $300 per day.

The one who lives a simple and frugal lifestyle that costs only $3 daily need not be any less happy than the one who has a $300 daily budget for spending.

There are real-life examples where folks from the first category could in fact be happier than the ones from the second group.

However, there is constant pressure by society and from society that drives the individual into trying to keep up with the Joneses. In time, this conspires with envy and jealousy to invoke in a significant percentage of society general unhappiness and severe discontent.

The pressure to keep up, to conform is there.

I try to counter this by looking as lum nua as possible everyday [grin]

Singapore hard to live on $3 a day lah (transport and meals). But simple simple, $10-15 a day is enough. And hawker food better than restaurants, know why? When hungry, restaurants must Q, order wait. Hawker, order chai png pay and eat. Fast fast fill tummy.. Hahahaha..

Whether individual want to keep up with "society" and in doing so, bankrupt himself, his choice lah. There are people I know, don't really chase similar material possessions, though they spend on their own hobby. As long as happy, don't go out molest / rape / kill / steal, ok liao..

The other exotic cars should loan out to people like me to love the car... Anyone got a Gallardo Spyder I can love? =D I'll settle for a Z4 or MR-S even..

Whats with all the show off-ing in this thread???

my parents are 60 plus and also broke. they didnt gamble, spend on expensive things....does it mean anything?

now my brother and me are supporting them.

Edited by comegetme