Is V shaped engine better than normal ones?

Gonefishing

On 9/8/2014 at 5:05 AM, Ake109 said:

It is something that can never be proven lor. V or Inline better. Too many variables at play.

V would give you shorter block for better weight distribution if you are going to mount it longitudinally for RWD/AWD. But V also means for a DOHC head, you have to have 4 cams, longer timing belts/chains etc compared to 2 cams for a inline.

In the end, it is the overall engine design which matters. There have been excellent I6s and V6s produced, and lousy I6s and V6s produced.

hmm when you say variables can I understand what do you mean?

true that V engine require longer belt/chains and cams and thus more weight? but then again since the engine is likely to be in cube shape so it's easier to design engine bay.

I do agree that there are bad IL6 and V6 engineered. The reason why I started asking question because I noticed there are some people that makes V type engine sounds so good. (e.g. V6 leh~)

so I was just checking out but realised that being V6 doesn't mean anything.. of coz V8-V12 can be smoother on the torque since more piston at work and it is not achievable by an Inline engine?

On 9/8/2014 at 5:58 AM, Knoobie said:

hmm when you say variables can I understand what do you mean?

true that V engine require longer belt/chains and cams and thus more weight? but then again since the engine is likely to be in cube shape so it's easier to design engine bay.

I do agree that there are bad IL6 and V6 engineered. The reason why I started asking question because I noticed there are some people that makes V type engine sounds so good. (e.g. V6 leh~)

so I was just checking out but realised that being V6 doesn't mean anything.. of coz V8-V12 can be smoother on the torque since more piston at work and it is not achievable by an Inline engine?

Variable meaning no one has produced 'identical' I6 and V6 to compare which one better. All theoretical.

Yes, V6 doesn't mean anything. So many magnificent I6s made, from RB26 to the long running BMW I6 family.

Only time you definitely have to go 'V' is after 6 cylinders I guess. I8 would need too long a crank, block etc etc.

Dunno about V8/12 etc, I driving F4 now so anything with 5 or more cylinders be it I or V or W to me is very smooth.

On 9/8/2014 at 6:20 AM, Ake109 said:

Variable meaning no one has produced 'identical' I6 and V6 to compare which one better. All theoretical.

Yes, V6 doesn't mean anything. So many magnificent I6s made, from RB26 to the long running BMW I6 family.

Only time you definitely have to go 'V' is after 6 cylinders I guess. I8 would need too long a crank, block etc etc.

Dunno about V8/12 etc, I driving F4 now so anything with 5 or more cylinders be it I or V or W to me is very smooth.

I do agree that even with modern technology, there may be slight variance and thus not a good comparison.

In fact, I was just trying to find out on a theoretical standpoint exactly what are the pros and cons of IL6 and V6 engines should they be the same CC. Assuming all else that can be equal are equal.

Like you said, 8 cylinders have to go for V or W configuration if not it will be too long. Smoothness is one benefit for more cylinders but would there be tradeoff probably like lower torque on low RPM?

BTW, thanks for all the info thus far!

On 9/8/2014 at 6:50 AM, Lydiachristopher said:

As long as the car give you joy and fun when driving , it will be a good car.

No matter IL6, V8, V12 blah blah.

I also drive IL3 kancil, it does give me fun too.

well, true that one just need to do what he loves most..

I enjoy driving at the same time enjoy understanding how things works mah!

if just drive end up like some drivers, know how to drive don't know how to pump petrol/tyre how! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 9/8/2014 at 7:01 AM, Knoobie said:

if just drive end up like some drivers, know how to drive don't know how to pump petrol/tyre how! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Correct, like someone ads for E60 525 in sgcarmart stated powerful and smooth V6 engine.....

V6 on E60 525?

On 9/8/2014 at 7:05 AM, Lydiachristopher said:

Correct, like someone ads for E60 525 in sgcarmart stated powerful and smooth V6 engine.....

V6 on E60 525?

hmm.. I am not guru yet.. so I assume E60 525 is not V6? hahaha.. but then again, pop the bonnet and remove engine cover can tell from one look.

On 9/8/2014 at 7:15 AM, Knoobie said:

hmm.. I am not guru yet.. so I assume E60 525 is not V6? hahaha.. but then again, pop the bonnet and remove engine cover can tell from one look.

hurrr??? shd be IL6 lah....BMW whr got V6?

On 9/8/2014 at 7:05 AM, Lydiachristopher said:

V6 on E60 525?

well, you know not to buy fr them lo...they dun even know the prdt

On 9/8/2014 at 2:53 AM, Lydiachristopher said:

I am using IL6 now, my boss car was V6.

So far i do not feel any special between two of them.

Still stuck in traffic jam, still consume petrol, still need to pay COE, Roadtax and saman......

take it to the NSHW and rev to over 9k..,,,u will not hear the cat screeching...beautiful linear and sweeeet note!

On 9/8/2014 at 7:16 AM, RadX said:

When you pop up the bonnet on that 525, it was V6 from nissan...... who knows?

Like alot car in MY, saga also B16 engine......

On 9/8/2014 at 7:17 AM, RadX said:

take it to the NSHW and rev to over 9k..,,,u will not hear the cat screeching...beautiful linear and sweeeet note!

My car rev limit at near 7k nia........ anyway, 7k also roar like siao lang liao.

Real sweet rhythm to ear on IL6, V6.

On 9/8/2014 at 7:17 AM, RadX said:

screeching sound you mean from the IL6 or V6? 9k RPM like not much cars got so huge rev range

On 9/8/2014 at 7:24 AM, Knoobie said:

screeching sound you mean from the IL6 or V6? 9k RPM like not much cars got so huge rev range

il6, when i had my E39, the high revs, sweet noted. and the pull is great. V6 on the cefiro was what i sat in, so cannot compare as diff cars, but notably, higher pitch..

On 9/8/2014 at 7:21 AM, Lydiachristopher said:

When you pop up the bonnet on that 525, it was V6 from nissan...... who knows?

Like alot car in MY, saga also B16 engine......

lol thats why must learn more! arbo gong gong tio smoke..

On 9/8/2014 at 7:26 AM, RadX said:

il6, when i had my E39, the high revs, sweet noted. and the pull is great. V6 on the cefiro was what i sat in, so cannot compare as diff cars, but notably, higher pitch..

hmm.. then its weird because I remember people saying they love the sound of V-engine..

probably everyone got their own sweet note.

then again, we can't really compare a E39 to cefiro considering there are many other variables like GB, weight blah blah etc.

seems like the comparison between a IL6 or V6 will assuming both developed at its best, still hard to tell who's the winner or most beneficial.

Different sound effects appeals to different people loh.......some people like V-tech sound, some boxer, some V6 sound.........

due to the high COE now all also no sound.....still waiting for it to drop and get a good and comfy MPV for comfort~~~~

I wonder why no one mentioned rotary engines? :D

Smaller displacement than other engines, higher overall output. Eg: 1.3L RX-8, 200+hp(?) , 2.5 V6 X 204hp. Of course, the rotary needs more attention to take care of it and tends to sip more fuel but the power delivery is most likely smoother than the counterparts.

20B/26B is the way to go! (though engine would cost a bomb and it's illegal here -_- )

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=722739857763453&set=vb.185851534785624&type=3&theater

Aiya, any engine is ok as long it suits the person driving it.

On 9/8/2014 at 7:42 AM, ChickenMob said:

Different sound effects appeals to different people loh.......some people like V-tech sound, some boxer, some V6 sound.........

due to the high COE now all also no sound.....still waiting for it to drop and get a good and comfy MPV for comfort~~~~

I also same same lah ~ poor man here.. but no harm learning new things mah!

  On 9/8/2014 at 7:01 AM, Knoobie said:

Reminds me of a friend that has been driving his car for more than 1 yr already don't even know his car is a FWD. Keep telling me is a RWD until I show him the spec.