StefanK Supercharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 (edited) On 3/16/2014 at 12:46 PM, Eviilusion said: of course lar...u had hamburger for breakfast.....hahaha! How about lunch dinner and supper? weiiii...ts say 200+ bhp....why u increase to 300+bhp? to be fair. TS said 'over 200bhp'. technically, it can be 300bhp. Maybe he humble leh! Oh by the way, for everyone's info: http://www.moe.gov.sg/schools/terms-and-holidays/2014/#pri-sec-sch-term Edited March 16, 2014 by StefanK ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 7:27 AM, Gonefishing said: I drive a over 200bhp V engine and tend to leave many cars behind at traffic lights even when I am NOT driving fast... is my car more powerful by engine type. Seems like a self-fulfilling thread. How is going faster defined as 'better'? My inline-4 52bhp machine can eat your 234843bhp car for breakfast lunch and dinner, and have spare room for dessert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 (edited) On 3/16/2014 at 1:17 PM, StefanK said: to be fair. TS said 'over 200bhp'. technically, it can be 300bhp. Maybe he humble leh! ok lar...dont suan liao...gibe him benefit of the doubt! But if i drive V6 over 300+ bhp i tell u i will be kaykiang as hell......hahaha! On 3/16/2014 at 1:17 PM, Nullifi3d said: Seems like a self-fulfilling thread. How is going faster defined as 'better'? My inline-4 52bhp machine can eat your 234843bhp car for breakfast lunch and dinner, and have spare room for dessert. sound like Honda CB 400 Super 4 nc23! Edited March 16, 2014 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 9:23 AM, Eviilusion said: V engines are said to have better pickup.....the V is the trick. The rise and fall of the piston is very different from a straight lined engine. And the engine can be made smaller to the V configuration if u compare a V6 and a straight 6. Maybe some brothers with automotive knowledge can put more lights on this and as always google is our best friend! Not really the case coz got to look at the angle of the V design. IIRC VW used to have a narrow angle 3.2L V6 in the Golf R. The angle so narrow it's almost an inline-6. I think it's like 5 degrees apart. For example Audi's V6 engines the pistons are positioned at 60 degrees apart. I dunno about motorbikes V2 though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 12:23 PM, Vid said: Chey... I thought what powerful car [laugh] powderful lah. tear normal cars more than enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 1:50 PM, Vega said: powderful lah. tear normal cars more than enough. Aiyo... many in-line 4 will tear it apart. Hamburger already eaten it for breakfast Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 1:46 PM, Watwheels said: Not really the case coz got to look at the angle of the V design. IIRC VW used to have a narrow angle 3.2L V6 in the Golf R. The angle so narrow it's almost an inline-6. I think it's like 5 degrees apart. For example Audi's V6 engines the pistons are positioned at 60 degrees apart. I dunno about motorbikes V2 though. 1st time i hear of V engine with with so little angle...but good info nonetheless! The audi one sounds just ride. I used to ride an RVF with 4 cylinders in a V configuration. Good pickup but if ride maciam racer the fc very cialat! Full tank can go 180km maciam 2 stroke sportbike! There is a V2 bike though...smaller cc! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 9:00 AM, Davidtch said: No. IL6/V12 is d best. V8 i happy leow [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 9:23 AM, Eviilusion said: V engines are said to have better pickup.....the V is the trick. The rise and fall of the piston is very different from a straight lined engine. And the engine can be made smaller to the V configuration if u compare a V6 and a straight 6. Maybe some brothers with automotive knowledge can put more lights on this and as always google is our best friend! V is used because it is more compact. Pick up/acceleration has nothing to do with engine configuration. It has everything to do with torque and weight of the vehicle. On 3/16/2014 at 2:10 PM, Yeshe said: V8 i happy leow [laugh] Then you wanna happy with me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 (edited) On 3/16/2014 at 9:00 AM, Davidtch said: No. IL6/V12 is d best. Thats what I read online in terms of smoothness / least vibes, due to the inherent design. And may I add, "most lao chap" sound ? Edited March 16, 2014 by Baal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gonefishing 1st Gear March 16, 2014 Author Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 9:36 AM, Octopus said: My car below 110 bhp also tend to leave many cars behind at traffic lights.... I guess speed is relative to the object in comparison. I'm not fast, its just that others vehicle moving off slower so I appear to be faster.... its rare to find under 110bhp these days... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 2:27 PM, Porker said: V is used because it is more compact. Pick up/acceleration has nothing to do with engine configuration. It has everything to do with torque and weight of the vehicle. Then you wanna happy with me? yours is v12, laggi happy [bounce1] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs_1984 1st Gear March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 7:27 AM, Gonefishing said: I drive a over 200bhp V engine and tend to leave many cars behind at traffic lights even when I am NOT driving fast... is my car more powerful by engine type. Nowadays still got cars in v engines with so little bhp? I think the current market trend is around 300bhp for a small v6 engine. If you can find anything lower than 250bhp in a v6, I think you are running on technology that are around 10 years old. So if you are trying to Hao Lian, please at least make sure your stuffs got something to see. Don't take old things and try to show off leh, very dis-tasteful.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 (edited) On 3/16/2014 at 7:27 AM, Gonefishing said: I drive a over 200bhp V engine and tend to leave many cars behind at traffic lights even when I am NOT driving fast... is my car more powerful by engine type. Its just the layout of the engine... the V8, V12 engines is design to be in such a layout mainly due to space limitation. . The "V" type engines is more compact, and much "shorter" and normal straight engines. This allow the manufacturer to produce lower profile cars and at the same time, shorter car length without sacrifying passenger room. Usually, V shape engines is use when there are 6 or more cylinders, otherwise, straight in line would be simpler, more cost efficient, and fuel efficient due to its lightweigh construction. The straight in line engines are not generally thought to be as smooth as the V type engine designs. especially in lower revs, but work well for smaller cars and do respond well to Tuning Edited March 16, 2014 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 2:27 PM, Porker said: V is used because it is more compact. Pick up/acceleration has nothing to do with engine configuration. It has everything to do with torque and weight of the vehicle. Then you wanna happy with me? i said my RVF 4 cylinder V engine was smaller than my previous CBR 4 cylinder in line what! But one thing though i always thought torque=acceleration (pickup)....my bad though. But one thing i hate about my RVF was the sound....maciam weak as though got not enough cylinder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 3:34 PM, Tigershark1976 said: Its just the layout of the engine... the V8, V12 engines is design to be in such a layout mainly due to space limitation. . The "V" type engines is more compact, and much "shorter" and normal straight engines. This allow the manufacturer to produce lower profile cars and at the same time, shorter car length without sacrifying passenger room. Usually, V shape engines is use when there are 6 or more cylinders, otherwise, straight in line would be simpler, more cost efficient, and fuel efficient due to its lightweigh construction. The straight in line engines are not generally thought to be as smooth as the V type engine designs. especially in lower revs, but work well for smaller cars and do respond well to Tuning ya....wanted to write about the smoothness of the V engine.....but scared i was wrong. I think 4 ylinder V engine now is overkill.....the whiny sound in low rev sounds like someone vomitting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 I think this is the most power V shaped engine. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 On 3/16/2014 at 3:34 PM, Tigershark1976 said: The straight in line engines are not generally thought to be as smooth as the V type engine designs. especially in lower revs, but work well for smaller cars and do respond well to Tuning Inline 6 engines are naturally balanced. Look at the Youtube animations below - the straight six pistons movement and positions are symmetrical about the centre line. V engines require balance shafts. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2y77vEKorI http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=SG&hl=en-GB&v=NNqmNqaZlKA ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...