Dr Ng: Housing problem has been decisively tackled

Baal

Actually our MND is very efficient and kind to citizens already. If you have a job, chances you can own a flat. You compare our region countries like China and Hong Kong? The parents must take mortgage loan so that their children can buy flats for themselves. This debt is pass down from generation to generations.

yes you are absolutely right

MND is already very kind compared to other countries.

The problem is due to our greedy and ingrate mindset where we keep expecting the govt to treat us well as they have done in the generation before us.

I hope MND will continue to remind and educate us to not compare with singapore's past, but to always compare with hong kong and other cities that are worse than us.

Or buy from that guy Simon Cheong lah.

Quality guaranteed tops one!

Use Chan Soo Khian of SCDA some more - that one best lah!

;-)

Actually the workmanship of his developments is not as good as what the brand implies.

The problem is due to our greedy and ingrate mindset where we keep expecting the govt to treat us well as they have done in the generation before us.

I hope MND will continue to remind and educate us to not compare with singapore's past, but to always compare with hong kong and other cities that are worse than us.

Why do we always need to compare to the worst to justify that we are doing well?

Can't we compare against the best (in current situation) or against the better past? Logically, we can only honestly measure how well we are doing, by comparing against the best. To compare against the worst then we will always be on top... and lying to ourselves too..

Its not that we are greedy, we just want to have what we used to have before the country was messed up over these past 15 years....

sigh... always comparing with those worse of than us will not spur us to improve loh.

there will always be someone worst off than you.

the way to move forward is to compare yourself with your old self. are you better off today than you were... say... 5 years ago?

if not, what is holding you back?

if yes, is there room for improvement?

that way, we will always be looking forward for more good things to come.

if we always compare with other people who are worst off than us, we will never develop or prosper~!

maciam like, you are driving a BMW today, you compare with the one driving the Altis, you are better off.

tomolo, something happened and you downgrade to an Altis or some other BnB car, you will then compare with the one driving the Hyundai Hatch. you are still better off.

then something else happened, and you drive a Atos. you compare with the one driving the chery qq, you are still better off.

and something else happened and you downgrade to a motorbike, you compare with the fella who owns a bicycle, you are still better off... and so on and so forth.

but are you really better? THAT is the question~! [sly]

Why do we always need to compare to the worst to justify that we are doing well?

Can't we compare against the best (in current situation) or against the better past? Logically, we can only honestly measure how well we are doing, by comparing against the best. To compare against the worst then we will always be on top... and lying to ourselves too..

Its not that we are greedy, we just want to have what we used to have before the country was messed up over these past 15 years....

[laugh] you articulate it better than ahgong could [laugh]

Yes agree.

I think the MND over the last couple of years have started to pull up their socks ... compared to the MND in last decade or so.

Similarly, the MOH and MOE have made progressive, but significant policy changes over the last couple of years too, for the betterment of citizens and the next generation.

Change is there and we're seeing it also from the MOF each year, now focusing on health care and the likes.

These are all progressive and good.

I'd definitely give them a few more years to show what they're made of ...

Yes agree.

I think the MND over the last couple of years have started to pull up their socks ... compared to the MND in last decade or so.

Similarly, the MOH and MOE have made progressive, but significant policy changes over the last couple of years too, for the betterment of citizens and the next generation.

Change is there and we're seeing it also from the MOF each year, now focusing on health care and the likes.

These are all progressive and good.

I'd definitely give them a few more years to show what they're made of ...

How u know all these not just wayang to buy time , their utimate aim is all abt Money n win election. During GE say one thing ,after GE everything forgot. Instead we get 6.9M white paper, n everything go up n up. A lot of ppl actually lost thrust in them.

Why dont let their kids study in neigbourhood school since it is as good as MOE

claim ?

When MPs and gangs walkabout , do ppl free they are there to understand the ground or are there to get support for votes ?

Edited by Jasonjst

-_- uh-huh uh-huh~!

already done some DIY to fix most of the issues.

but some are really cannot be fixed DIY style.

with the kind of increasing cost these days, i am finding it harder and harder to squeeze some extra cash to engage contractors to fix some of the problems. (ie window leaks when heavy rains with wind blowing toward house direction). and this kinda leak is maciam like pails of water wan hor.

everytime i manage to lower my consumption, some blardy thing will increase again to dilute that "savings" [furious]

sux to see that HDB make flats for you and me using the poor quality materials while you go to HDB building you see the designer fixtures ?

Spend on themselves no limits, spend on your raiding-the-reserves-cannot-be-cheap-but-still-say-subsidise-flat must find ways to cut corners.

How u know all these not just wayang to buy time , their utimate aim is all abt Money n win election. During GE say one thing ,after GE everything forgot. Instead we get 6.9M white paper, n everything go up n up. A lot of ppl actually lost thrust in them.

Why dont let their kids study in neigbourhood school since it is as good as MOE

claim ?

When MPs and gangs walkabout , do ppl free they are there to understand the ground or are there to get support for votes ?

You are always entitled to your views. Others have theirs.

We're a democracy.

If they continue to deliver good, even bit by bit, they are indeed doing well.

People have eyes. We shall see.

No need for words, or bad-mouthing disclaimers - it doesn't work in a democracy.

You have your vote, if that counts!

Don;t compare with the best or the past. Situation is different. Singapore is unique ok

Times have changed, policeman dont wear shorts now.

You are always entitled to your views. Others have theirs.

We're a democracy.

If they continue to deliver good, even bit by bit, they are indeed doing well.

People have eyes. We shall see.

No need for words, or bad-mouthing disclaimers - it doesn't work in a democracy.

You have your vote, if that counts!

Yes, you're right... my vote will definitely not go to those traitors in white...

democracy is about rule of the people by the people for the people; not to serve the self-interests of select groups.... [mad]

sigh... always comparing with those worse of than us will not spur us to improve loh.

there will always be someone worst off than you.

We will keep comparing ourselves with selected cities until the time comes when we are the worst of the lot.

Then we will stop comparing and say that it's not a fair comparison.

Don;t compare with the best or the past. Situation is different. Singapore is unique ok

Times have changed, policeman dont wear shorts now.

Yes you're right that Singapore is unique... we don't need to do what others are doing the right things, so long as we are doing things to show that we are always lumber 1 ... even comparing to the bottom of the barrel also can, as long as we are shown to be better...

Last time policeman in shorts can still catch thief, nowadays policeman in long pants run away from rioters! hahahahaha.... are we better now?? [laugh]

Yes, you're right... my vote will definitely not go to those traitors in white...

democracy is about rule of the people by the people for the people; not to serve the self-interests of select groups.... [mad]

Heng ah ! Some ppl got eyes n know democracy is all about Singapore for Singaporean . Hope all Singaporean open eyes big big n see thing in bigger perspetive. Big change needed not wayang bit by bit, time is runing out. Edited by Jasonjst

But too bad, majority always wins!

More and more ppl unsatisfied with white ppl. Think next GE will be worse than last GE (majority will become minority) [:)]

indeed, this is a self-proclaimed success.

but looking at objective factors, it's apparent that even the opposition no longer takes issue with housing during this year's budget debate. instead, the focus has shifted to transport and healthcare. i think there is indeed some basis for claiming success.

just hope that they don't let this become cyclical and few years down the road find themselves with not enough flats again.

However, if our heroic comrades did not give the opposition the chance in Parliament, do you think that the housing issue can be solved "decisively"?

How many years have we been living with the high cost of housing? And they can called it a success? Politicians are really thick-skinned.

Own the original.

Sc Global pty are over hyped & over-priced...

More and more ppl unsatisfied with white ppl. Think next GE will be worse than last GE (majority will become minority) [:)]

My fav white color is ' lily white ', while the rest may agree and concur with them, we shall wait for 2016 election.

Those unhappy people say only la. When GE comes, everything will be forgotten, dont think it will be lower than 60.1%.