samsarae 1st Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 to bros who are new to nissan cvt, your acceleration style does make a difference to your fc. my current car is a cvt latio and i have over the last 10 years adapted to its quirks when accelerating from standstill. might not apply to QQ (tested the1.2 and 2l and find a slightly diff feel). you might want to try: don't press pedal to metal from standstill. it does not help in acceleration to 60km/hr. the cvt needs coaxing. depress pedal slowly. once it hits around 40km/hr, release pedal a bit, then depress pedal again and it will zoom up to 60km/hr much quicker than if you had just continued to depress pedal and wait for rpm to shoot up. it works on my latio. maybe it'll work for your qq. don't treat it like an at car. not sure if hard pedal depression from standstill is also the reason for the delayed response some forumers might have experienced earlier in the thread. also read a bit about engine brakes not working??? no opportunity to try during the test drive but my old cvt latio's engine brake definitely works. everyday when i cruise down sheares bridge into marina. most times, i do not even have to apply brakes from the start as the engine roars to slow down the car. therefore not sure why this feature is brought to a later model. enjoy your ride. whatever ride it is. i am still loving my lousy latio even though some parts (impacting ride comfort) should have been changed years ago. will be sad to let her go. Coming from ex Honda AT, concur with how you described one having to adapt and drive with QQ CVT as I have been for the past yr. Maybe TC needs throw in new QQ owner CVT driving crash course techniques. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
haronkr 4th Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 ä¸æ©å«æ© still on this.... I am super sick on this. Move on hor.... Shit...i wasn't aware of the downside. Can i return my turtle to TC??? Cannot? Ok then lan lan ah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MikeTan_164557 April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 You have a damn shortlived memory... Meemee: "If you got more constructive information to share..." If I am not sharing, what you think I am doing? If you don't like to hear something doesn't mean it is not constructive to others. What is shit to you may not be shit to others, get my point? Not this shit again...... Move on bro You are almighty right .... No one is more right then you You make a very wise judgement Very fair comment and review ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 (edited) To those 1.2 QQ drivers out there that are not happy with my view of your car, sorry to disappoint you. I am discussing the car and not attacking any person. This thread is for sharing about QQ good and bad, so I am just sharing my views. You can give me all the negative dislikes it doesn't bother me. Other readers who are contemplating on buying a 1.2QQ would have already benefited from my sharing. If you just want to hear all the good stuff about your car, you can visit the showroom and have your ego boosted by the SE, this is a forum not the car showroom. Bro..i like your persistence. But you do sound like you been "f@&6" by Ah Seng... Edited April 9, 2016 by BenTong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hd2004 2nd Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 (edited) Lousy things about qashqai - manage 1/2 tanks 300 odd km ...... 90% highway I think you should write 1/2 tank after traveling 427.5km (from your picture) This is because one might interpret wrongly using the highly estimated value of 300km left for 1/2 tanks which is based on your current short trip which says 5.8km/l. Your FC is considered good. Edited April 9, 2016 by Hd2004 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meemee 5th Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 (edited) Who let the dog out ... Woof Woof..... Woof...... can the supplied GPS connect to your new HU?Will try using the stock can bus decoder later Hope it's solve the steerling controls:) You have a damn shortlived memory... Meemee: "If you got more constructive information to share..." If I am not sharing, what you think I am doing? If you don't like to hear something doesn't mean it is not constructive to others. What is shit to you may not be shit to others, get my point? Very hard to please you leh ----- Say you right also like cannot Say you wrong also like cannot ........ See bay jiat liat ...... Edited April 9, 2016 by Meemee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Since you want constructive comments on the 1.2 QQ, I shall deliver that. The car is an under 1.2 Litre engine that delivers below 100hp without the turbo. The addition of a small turbo is basically just to increase low end torque. However, turbochargers are generally not as effective at very low engine speeds in high traffic conditions. In addition, the presence of a turbocharger puts back pressure on your exhaust system, forcing your cylinders to work harder. Can you imagine an already puny 1.2 litre engine working beyond its already limited capacity? Taking almost 13 seconds to reach 100km/h despite having a turbocharger speaks a great deal about how the engine is straining to keep up with the weight of the car. I know many 1.2 QQ buyers are won over by the aesthetics of the car and the electronic features, so to each their own. As for fuel economy, despite having only a 1.2 litre engine, it is not fantastic. As a 1.2 QQ driver had commented that the car does 300km on half tank, that is terrible fc coz it equates to just 10.9km per litre (half tank for QQ is 27.5 litres. Much heavier SUVs are already doing better than that. To me a car is primarily about how the engine performs, so if one can get an NA engine that delivers better efficiency and performance than a small turbo engine, why even consider the latter? Again, the above is just my objective view if the 1.2 QQ dig-T, not bashing, just sharing, since you asked for constructive comments. Bro, you really barking up the wrong tree la. The ppl usually are the converted ones. Already bought their QQ. As to whether you are objective or not, that's quite subjective la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meemee 5th Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 (edited) I think you should write 1/2 tank after traveling 427.5km (from your picture) This is because one might interpret wrongly using the highly estimated value of 300km left for 1/2 tanks which is based on your current short trip which says 5.8km/l. Your FC is considered good. Ops my typo But 1/2 400km is achievable And 1/4 for me is avg 200 odd Don't need to prove what right or wrong What matter most is share and have fun Edited April 9, 2016 by Meemee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
razor54 3rd Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 When I was testing my shortlisted cars in early February this year, Nissan QQ was one on my list. Heard a lot from friends driving the QQ and went down to Ubi for a test drive. Drove a 2L SUV and was familiar of what to expect from a car with a higher CG. Rolled the QQ out of the Ubi showroom and along the designated road by the SE. Power from the 1.2L turbo-charged engine was adequate to move a SUV like the QQ. It would be unrealistic to expect the 'stuck to your seat' boost like driving a WRX and I'm in line with what to expect during the test drive. Delivery was smooth and despite the engine being 1.2L, the turbo does help in the lower end of the rev range when moving off. Flooring the pedal to the metal does not help much except maybe increase the excellent FC of the car. CVTs need to be coaxed and the linear power is there. Test car was loaded with 4 adults and 1 child. I did not feel the car dragging with the weight but of course I also don't expect tyre screeching acceleration from the lights. Interior was nice and classy at this price point, with all the usual bells and whistles in any modern car now. Looks are subjective and I felt the QQ looks imposing for a compact SUV on the road with its bold bonnet design (good looks inherited from the current Xtrail)? One thing I noted was the sloping rear roof design. My son, who was 1.85m, had limited head space from the roof at the rear. On the way back to the showroom, it started to pour heavily. Auto wipers worked perfectly, varying the speed with the intensity of the rain. Here's one compliant from my wife. The rain pounding on the roof created a din that made hearing the SE or radio almost impossible. I did not experience such issue with conversation during downpours with my previous Korean SUV. I'm sure it has to do with the insulation on the roof of the QQ. Overall, a good test drive in the QQ. Engine performance was not heart-racing despite the presence of a turbo but adequate to smoothly power the car along. That is the reason buyers are looking for when they choose the QQ. Not outright power but rather for the engineering feat that a 1.2L could produce such performance with the addition of a small turbo. No one in their right mind will be talking about top end performance expected from a 1.2L engine in a big car. Sat in friend's QQ during a short trip to Malaysia and it took quite a while to hit 150km/hr. But that should not be any concern with most of the QQ owners because if living in the 120-200km/hr is your 'zone', then maybe it's better to look elsewhere. Many other advantages I can see from owning the QQ...the road tax is ridiculous! Hahaha...I mean in a good way. If owners are able to relax their right foot further, I believe the petrol companies will dislike QQ owners. Well made car for the price in car/COE crazy Singapore. Made in UK, so quality should be expected. All the above are my experience with the Nissan QQ and hope it helps those contemplating on the car or going to test drive the car. Manage your expectations accordingly to reality and you might find a gem in the Qashqai. PS: I did not choose the QQ in the end because of other considerations and also I got a good deal from Subaru. Enjoy your car, Qashqaians! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MikeTan_164557 April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 This is your constructive input? lol.... Another clown Who let the dog out ... Woof Woof..... Woof...... Will try using the stock can bus decoder later Hope it's solve the steerling controls:) Very hard to please you leh ----- Say you right also like cannot Say you wrong also like cannot ........ See bay jiat liat ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
derron0102 1st Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 in city driving, 0-100 and even bhp specs are not so important. priorities are given to comfort of cabin, how each like their cabin interior etc. even in highway driving, to the moderate driver, keeping up with lane speed, and the occasional overtaking of road hogs, an na car with higher bhp need not necessarily have any advantage over a fi engine. Without flooring the accelerator, as long as you are at good rpm with optimal torque, the car with fi engine should have an easier time overtaking compared to a na car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meemee 5th Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 This is your constructive input? lol.... Another clown Ok lar --- you win ...... You win Tolong ah 饶了我们 师傅.....别念了 徒儿知错了 ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hd2004 2nd Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 I have learnt a lot about my elephant from this forum, having been driving a AT car previously. One needs to get use to CVT before appreciating QQ. As what the Latio driver and many drivers have said in this forum, one cannot step hard on the pedal to achieve fast acceleration. You need to step light first to reach around 50 before letting go and step on the gas pedal again (double taps). Once you get the hold on this, you are able to drive smoothly with reasonable acceleration after finding the sweet spots. During the days which you need the "song ness" to drive like a responsive car, no problem... Just shift to sports drive mode and bingo.. You have a responsive car but the FC is no good as the rev is high. Some say that the stress on the small engine might cause it to fail early... Some also say that Singapore would make it but we did :).. My point is, let's don't make baseless assumptions. Technology has indeed advances and people are coming up with smaller powerful engine and that is the facts. Comparing the same size engine with the ones in the 80's, it is more powerful now but one cannot say that the current powerful engines are bound to be problematic.. As I only heard of problematic gearbox which is also improving due to more researches. My elephant is heavy but 1. it provides protection to my family as I cannot drive too fast and the metal is thick and heavy. 2. I have bought furniture from ikea and it is very handy. 3. It looks good on the inside and muscular on the outside 4. It has all the features of the higher end car... Keyless entry, cruise control, speed limiter, controls on steering wheel, auto rain sensor wipers, auto light sensor, stop/start engine, leather seats, navigation and many others.. Which suv in this price range has all these features and running on a reasonable good small engine? If someone says that this small engine would not last, prove to me then else please wait for 10 years to let me prove to you 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mh23 4th Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 This is your constructive input? lol.... Another clown Bro, can stop and move on???? Another clown??? You look more like a clown to me! Been barking for the past 3 days.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
krazyguy08 2nd Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Ok lar --- you win ...... You win Tolong ah 饶äºæ们 å¸å.....å«å¿µäº å¾å¿ç¥éäº ........ Newbie, not enough points to praise but I like this post! Whahhaa Pls dun flame me.. I am currently driving a gd1. ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meemee 5th Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Newbie, not enough points to praise but I like this post! Whahhaa Pls dun flame me.. I am currently driving a gd1. ;) 下雨了 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Credor Twincharged April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 (edited) A new name for my car ... Ninja QQ :)) Bros.... Enjoy the coolness of the weather cos of the rain. Just like we enjoy OUR NiNJA QQ. Believe every owner brought their car with their eye open. Buy liao... Like it..... Enjoy Buy liao ... Dun like it .... Change it if you are loaded.... Else suck thumb and move on. Haven't buy yet ... Make your choice wisely. cheers .... Have a nice weekend. Let move on :)) Edited April 9, 2016 by Credor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricChan 5th Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 保持冷静,继续前进 Keep calm carry on ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...