Nissan Qashqai 2014

Thaiyotakamli

On 12/2/2015 at 2:29 AM, Forte3737 said:

Weird? Just because I do not conform?

Forte3737

Bro, I don't think Weezersg used the word "weird" in any negative way...maybe more like "strange" of you to make statements such as "1.2 is just too unreliable". 

I'll just state my personal view since I have owned and driven the 1.2T since end Jan 2015 and I have enjoyed every moment of it.  It's a great car to drive....good FC, nice power when cruising (esp'ly along NSHW), comfortable cabin filled with wonderful features...so there's plenty to like about the QQ 1.2T.

But just like in life, nothing is perfect and even the nice QQ 1.2T also got some "issues" here and there la.  I note the comments made by some bros here... and I respect their views and opinions... but in the end, that's what they are, i.e. views and opinions.

So let's just maintain some perspective when we pass comments about the car coz there are thousands of QQ 1.2Ts out there and only a handful of us here chatting about it.

This is just my view la...weird or otherwise

On 12/1/2015 at 3:45 PM, Kohanson said:

Guys, just want to share this door sill plate which cost less than $100 with shipping and is from UK. Have sold more than 500 pieces. Anyone have bought from him and any reviews?

http://www.ebay.com.sg/ulk/itm/191381977110

Group buy? [laugh]

Just saw that the QQ list is now 118k... compare to 113.8k just a few weeks back. :huh:  

Edited by Voxy28

On 12/2/2015 at 1:44 AM, jg2000 said:

Agree that generally, the engine block and piston itself usually don't fail.

However, one of the most common failures nowadays is in the auto transmission - again due to too many demands placed on it to be as light and small as possible and yet provide as many gears as possible (8 gears / 9 gears) and to allow shifting to be seamless as possible (e.g. DSG or CVT). They now become very delicate and complex.

Hence, all the reports about CVT and DSG failures (famous ones are Nissan and VW). Worse thing is some of these failures may happen after the 3 or 5 year warranty (and if you read the fine print of the car warranties, not sure if all of them will cover the full auto-transmission or only some of the parts in it for the warranty period).

The new transmissions are getting better but inherently, they will never be as reliable as manual or simpler 3 or 4 gear auto-transmissions with heavier/stronger parts and lesser moving parts.

With regard to catastrophy, depends whose perspective it is. For the car company, not catastrophic to fix a program bug but that bug may already have killed some people because the car suddently stopped in high speed traffic or suddenly verred off its lane (remember, it is the computer now controlling your acceleartor, brakes and steering - all your control actions are just suggestions to the computer - it will decide what it wants to do with it). See below article:

http://www.economist.com/blogs/babbage/2010/05/techview_cars_and_software_bugs

The article is 2010 and by now, the computerisation of the car is even more than then (in the article, at that time only some car brakes were controlled by computer - nowadays it is probably all the models because it is cheaper to the manufacturer as the brakes already need to be built with computer control for ABS and Vechical Stability Control / Traction Control so it is a redundant extra cost component to have manual control components from brake pedal to the brakes. To save money, they just run a sensor wire from the brake pedal to the computer and the computer can then do all the control whether based on manual human input or other inputs that trigger off ABS, VSC etc.

In cars that now have electric hand-brake, you even lose the final human-controlled brake that was the hand brake.)

The point was about the 1.2 engine reliability so in a way we are now digressing . If we consider the other parts, software, mechanisms and systems , this is a far far more complex and debatable area. Obviously here there are very valid reasons in favoring one brand over another, continental vs Japanese vs Korean argument, and those based on reputation eta, since reliability differences among brands do exist. While they are good historical background to make some inference, one should be careful not to make a sweeping judgment that A brand software system is always consistently more reliable than B brand software system nor one brand gearbox is better than another make's . Edited by EricChan

why UK made a 1.2L cc car? Thought western country like big cc car instead.

If they put a 1.5 or 1.6L cc turbo for this car, it may be the best of both world.

On 12/1/2015 at 4:32 PM, Nissan833 said:

My experience with them last time was positive. Fast to respond if you have questions via email. Able to give discount if you tell them you are gonna order a few items together.

I got the chrome cover for 4 door handles and a few others, couldn't remember.

The set of door sills plate I currently have (bought from Aliexpress), looks exactly like the one in your link, they are all the same actually.

Thanks for the review! Still deciding..

On 12/1/2015 at 4:43 PM, Chrispie said:

dont buy from Ebay or ang mor site..

they basically buy from China at a fraction of the cost and sell it to you at insane prices.

Visit Taobao or aliexpress for the same stuff.

Ok, will look around first. Thanks!

On 12/2/2015 at 1:38 AM, Mh23 said:

Sidesteps must buy from UK sites. Dont need drilling and sealing. Just bolt in can already....

Well said....

Ohh thats nice. I heard from my friend driving vezel that his car need drilling, maybe he look at aftermarket side steps.

Hi all,

Back again with more of my whinning nonsense on my QQ 1.2 DIG-T.

Day3/4

Engine

On the morning of day 3, I did a cold start of the car and the engine shook quite violently while starting. Monitored for all the other cold start on day 3 and 4, but it did not happen again. Any experts to share their knowledge what happened?

Rims

Day 4 of driving and I find a lot of black particles on the rims. Much more on the front two than the back. Someone said it is from the disc brakes? Somehow I never had it on a Toyota or Honda... or the Nissan Sunny I drove more than 10 years ago...

HU/Speakers

Resolve the Vol 1 to Vol 2 huge jump in volume by setting the sound to focus more on the rear. Sound still sounds like crap compared to what I am used to. Someone here said he posted something about making it better without spending money, will have to look into that for sure.

Shift stick

It did not really occur to me that the labels on the shift stick are on the right, but the stick is on the left. Labels does not light up when headlights are turned on so when driving off from a dark car park, have to check the screen to make sure it is on Drive mode. No big deal but expected a little more from that.

Aircon

Seems like the UK made car inherit the weak aircon of most continental cars?Not that it is a problem since I drive only early in the morning and late at night. Might have to turn it up a few notches when driving on a hot afternoon. Disclaimer: I have never owned a continental car but I have sat in many and every single one of them have pretty weak aircon on level 1 compared to a Japanese car. If I am wrong, apologies in advance.

FC

Decent. 1/4 usage on the fuel guage after driving for about 230km. Could be too early to tell though since I hardly accelerate beyond 2000rpm.

Door locks

No auto door locks upon driving off. Locks on the driver and passenger side will "lock" all the doors. When the doors are "locked", it cannot be opened from the outside, but you can still open from it inside without unlocking - unless you set the child lock catch. This, I really do not get. How is a door locked when I can still open it without unlocking? Bah QQ.

Conclusion

A really nice decent car. It's far from perfect but it suits most of my needs. From all the conversations going on, it's too early for me to say if the new engine is reliable or it's better than the Vezel. Planning to do the Ceramic Pro treatment soon. If anyone is interested on the reivew of that treatment, will post some feedback after that.

On 12/2/2015 at 3:25 AM, Voxy28 said:

Group buy? [laugh]

Just saw that the QQ list is now 118k... compare to 113.8k just a few weeks back. :huh:

Not buying yet leh.. see first haha.

On 12/2/2015 at 6:03 AM, Kohanson said:

Not buying yet leh.. see first haha.

This shops products are different from those from Aliexpress....  not bad. I need the one for the boot as well.  [laugh]

  On 12/1/2015 at 11:53 AM, Poopular said:

Have you made payment? I am making payment tomorrow, only collecting on Tues...guess will lugi few days from registration to collection time

Speaking of lugi, delivery for our side is postponed to friday instead, they say there's a stock take.

i wonder when are cars really registered, on delivery date or before....

maybe we can catch up as fellow qq buyers, might see u guys there on collection day, hehe pm me leh, haha....

what colors u guys chose?

On 12/2/2015 at 5:55 AM, kumquat said:

Hi all,

Day3/4

Engine

On the morning of day 3, I did a cold start of the car and the engine shook quite violently while starting. Monitored for all the other cold start on day 3 and 4, but it did not happen again. Any experts to share their knowledge what happened?

Rims

Day 4 of driving and I find a lot of black particles on the rims. Much more on the front two than the back. Someone said it is from the disc brakes? Somehow I never had it on a Toyota or Honda... or the Nissan Sunny I drove more than 10 years ago...

HU/Speakers

Resolve the Vol 1 to Vol 2 huge jump in volume by setting the sound to focus more on the rear. Sound still sounds like crap compared to what I am used to. Someone here said he posted something about making it better without spending money, will have to look into that for sure.

Shift stick

It did not really occur to me that the labels on the shift stick are on the right, but the stick is on the left. Labels does not light up when headlights are turned on so when driving off from a dark car park, have to check the screen to make sure it is on Drive mode. No big deal but expected a little more from that.

Aircon

Seems like the UK made car inherit the weak aircon of most continental cars?Not that it is a problem since I drive only early in the morning and late at night. Might have to turn it up a few notches when driving on a hot afternoon. Disclaimer: I have never owned a continental car but I have sat in many and every single one of them have pretty weak aircon on level 1 compared to a Japanese car. If I am wrong, apologies in advance.

FC

Decent. 1/4 usage on the fuel guage after driving for about 230km. Could be too early to tell though since I hardly accelerate beyond 2000rpm.

Door locks

No auto door locks upon driving off. Locks on the driver and passenger side will "lock" all the doors. When the doors are "locked", it cannot be opened from the outside, but you can still open from it inside without unlocking - unless you set the child lock catch. This, I really do not get. How is a door locked when I can still open it without unlocking? Bah QQ.

Conclusion

A really nice decent car. It's far from perfect but it suits most of my needs. From all the conversations going on, it's too early for me to say if the new engine is reliable or it's better than the Vezel. Planning to do the Ceramic Pro treatment soon. If anyone is interested on the reivew of that treatment, will post some feedback after that.

Looks like your brake is engaged during some part of your drive if you are finding dirt on your front brake . Lock from outside is to prevent car jacking, openable from inside is to escape in case of emergency. Am interest to do a ceramic coating as well, don't know where to go yet
  On 12/2/2015 at 6:12 AM, Steve99 said:

Speaking of lugi, delivery for our side is postponed to friday instead, they say there's a stock take.

i wonder when are cars really registered, on delivery date or before....

maybe we can catch up as fellow qq buyers, might see u guys there on collection day, hehe pm me leh, haha....

what colors u guys chose?

You Should have the car plate details already unless you opted to retain existing number. Am collecting on afternoon Leng Kee. Colour diamond silver.

On 12/2/2015 at 6:55 AM, EricChan said:

Looks like your brake is engaged during some part of your drive if you are finding dirt on your front brake . Lock from outside is to prevent car jacking, openable from inside is to escape in case of emergency. Am interest to do a ceramic coating as well, don't know where to go yet

You Should have the car plate details already unless you opted to retain existing number. Am collecting on afternoon Leng Kee. Colour diamond silver.

I also choose diamond silver @ BK TC

On 12/2/2015 at 7:02 AM, Cashcow007 said:

I also choose diamond silver @ BK TC

Nice. Here's how my car back camera looks like with the lane marker on (sc sent me to confirm it was part of the HU).Which reminds me that I need to get 4d today for the new plate. Huat arr.

post-165672-0-30315100-1449041759_thumb.jpeg

Edited by EricChan

On 12/2/2015 at 5:55 AM, kumquat said:

Hi all,

Day3/4

Engine

Rims

HU/Speakers

Shift stick

Aircon

FC

Door locks

Conclusion

Engine

Read from previous threads, some Bro's SE advise them to let the car idle for 1 - 2 min before shutting down.

Do feedback.  Think I did encountered once or twice but thereafter no more.

HU

Did you play around with the equaliser?  You can use the preset or adjust your preferred setting. Unless my stock speaker is not the same as yours, which I do not think so. I think it's not that bad.

On 12/2/2015 at 5:45 AM, Kohanson said:

Thanks for the review! Still deciding..

Ok, will look around first. Thanks!

Ohh thats nice. I heard from my friend driving vezel that his car need drilling, maybe he look at aftermarket side steps.

Interesting I may bite (after I see my car)

On 12/2/2015 at 7:34 AM, Candilious said:

Engine

Read from previous threads, some Bro's SE advise them to let the car idle for 1 - 2 min before shutting down.

Do feedback.  Think I did encountered once or twice but thereafter no more.

HU

Did you play around with the equaliser?  You can use the preset or adjust your preferred setting. Unless my stock speaker is not the same as yours, which I do not think so. I think it's not that bad.

Modern engine need to idle 1-2min? I think no need lah.

must finish 1 ciggy first before drive off ... lol

On 12/2/2015 at 8:47 AM, Voxy28 said:

Modern engine need to idle 1-2min? I think no need lah.