More new Citizens in SG

Baal

Bo wei gong. Cock up

I don't understand why the phrase cock up implies bad?

Isn't what every man dreads is when there is no cock up?

I can well understand the phrase half past six which is the

opposite of cock up.

Don't want to start a new thread so posting it here for discussion.

What is wrong with is signage?

xd413J8.jpg

Another lack of proper vetting before publishing? 1st we have the NTU canteen incident where a staff misinterpreted a statement and added a clause (stating only sign board and menu in English allowed) in the lease agreement (since 2013!), then the special ticket price for new citizen... I would not be surprised if the signage above are created by some new citizens too.

No, please don't get me wrong, I am not against new citizen, but beside getting them to contribute "blindly", shouldn't the person in charge also do their part to provide proper supervision and guidance? Just like what a manager should do with a newly hired staff?

xd413J8.jpg

Another lack of proper vetting before publishing? 1st we have the NTU canteen incident where a staff misinterpreted a statement and added a clause (stating only sign board and menu in English allowed) in the lease agreement (since 2013!), then the special ticket price for new citizen... I would not be surprised if the signage above are created by some new citizens too.

No, please don't get me wrong, I am not against new citizen, but beside getting them to contribute "blindly", shouldn't the person in charge also do their part to provide proper supervision and guidance? Just like what a manager should do with a newly hired staff?

I think our last time practice of Check, double check, confirm, and double confirm now no more in fashion. Really KNN like that also can !

Non-local born pink ic holder... I guess only...

Or simply speak singlish with an accent lor...

I have always been wondering, where do PA fund comes from???

Where do PA funds come from?

From old citizens and new citizen of course -

$3 and $1 respectively.

Edited by Albeniz

I think our last time practice of Check, double check, confirm, and double confirm now no more in fashion. Really KNN like that also can !

Now is ownself check ownself.

I think there are many ways to phrase their intention to promote their intended activities.

They could have said," In order to attract new citizens to join our activities and forge a better relationship with their neighbours we are offering a special discount (there's no need to specify how much since existing citizens are already paying like $3)" for the new citizens. Just highlight the "special discount". This will not be seen as discrimination as previously did.

Really? this is the kind of wayang you think we like to see?

$3 and $1 respectively.

You think the 1-3 dollars is enough to cover the meal cost?

$3 and $1 respectively.

Who is PA Boss?

Must be damn rich

HQ located on the prime area near lavender mrt (ex Christ Church school)

This is still a common and well tested practice. Continue to pay foreigner school fees, from primary school to secondary school to Poly and JC then university, as long as can afford. It's only a small price to pay for NS exemption. The best part is, the guy will convert to pink IC, and his wife will continue to hold on to blue IC to enjoy cheap healthcare, labor and property in their home country. His sons will continue the cycle.

NS really that scary meh? I am also a combat soldier, 2 nights off a week (4hrs each nia), stay in, 2.5 years later still alive leh.

Sometimes I really laugh at the extend people go to siam NS. If they can siam NS, they will siam all the hurdles in life and expect somebody else to solve it for them? :slow:

xd413J8.jpg

Maybe they are eating last year dinner cos last year no dinner mar .. :slow:  

That's why dinner over 2 dates. Last year one on 5th August and this year one on the 6th August.

Most celebrations on one day and why Bukit Batok needs 2 days ?  90% of resident buy tickets for the dinner.   [sly]

I came to notice that this year ND dinner were much earlier.  :ninja:

Maybe they don't want to crash with lunar 7th month dinner where those big celebration ones will invite their MP.  :slow:

NS really that scary meh? I am also a combat soldier, 2 nights off a week (4hrs each nia), stay in, 2.5 years later still alive leh.

Sometimes I really laugh at the extend people go to siam NS. If they can siam NS, they will siam all the hurdles in life and expect somebody else to solve it for them? :slow:

It's not scary.

Just a big waste of time. It's like dying 2.5 years earlier but way worse because you are in the prime of your life and not a decrepit old man.

Edited by Kusje

It's not scary.

Just a big waste of time.

Frankly, my own personal humble opinion is that I learn a lot in NS too (yes, the mud and blood sucks).

I learn how important teamwork is and each and every soldier is regardless of how junior they are.

In life, the same thing applies. If we learn to make use of each other's strength instead of constantly harping on their weakness, we can achieve a lot more.

If we can do that, we will have a Singapore that every Singaporean will be proud of.

That's the reason why I want to defend this country.

Edited by Windwaver

Frankly, my own personal humble opinion is that I learn a lot in NS too (yes, the mud and blood sucks).

I learn how important teamwork is and each and every soldier is regardless of how junior they are.

In life, the same thing applies. If we learn to make use of each other's strength instead of constantly harping on their weakness, we can achieve a lot more.

If we can do that, we will have a Singapore that every Singaporean will be proud of.

That's the reason why I want to defend this country.

Good for you sir. They should make NS voluntary so every soldier will be like you and not like me.

I too learned plenty in NS but its plenty of useless stuff that doesn't add value to my life. The parts that added value, I'm sure I would have learned more if I had 2.5 years outside of a prison.

I'm sure if you wait outside changi prison and interview those prisoners being released, they too can tell you that they learned plenty in prison.

Maybe they are eating last year dinner cos last year no dinner mar .. :slow:

That's why dinner over 2 dates. Last year one on 5th August and this year one on the 6th August.

Most celebrations on one day and why Bukit Batok needs 2 days ? 90% of resident buy tickets for the dinner. [sly]

easy fixed. Take marker n cancel 2016. Penned 2017...n then recycle with sticker to overlay it in 2018.

It is not scary if you don't have a choice.  Muayhahaha....

I also don't underSTAND why.......

Same as the phrase " Die Cock Stand" .........I will be happy to go in that state..... :D

I don't understand why the phrase cock up implies bad?

Isn't what every man dreads is when there is no cock up?

I can well understand the phrase half past six which is the

opposite of cock up.

I also don't underSTAND why.......

Same as the phrase " Die Cock Stand" .........I will be happy to go in that state..... :D

Die cock stand means die before having a chance to release leh.

Good for you sir. They should make NS voluntary so every soldier will be like you and not like me.

I too learned plenty in NS but its plenty of useless stuff that doesn't add value to my life. The parts that added value, I'm sure I would have learned more if I had 2.5 years outside of a prison.

I'm sure if you wait outside changi prison and interview those prisoners being released, they too can tell you that they learned plenty in prison.

So what are you doing for your children?