Voodooman Supersonic June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Any proposal to increase public spending has to be balance by deeping into other pockets. There is no free lunch, and considering that they are running a tight ship ( a generally more acceptable term than deficit), no MIW will dare to undertake such a move unless he/she has a backup plan to equalize or improve on his/her own KPIs MIW is known for fiscal prudence, it runs a super tight ship as the budget excludes all revenue from land sales (which is replenished every 30, 60 or 99 years) and investment income from past reserves, I think. We have been living in unnecessary austerity for too many years, too few hospital beds, too few rail lines, too few buses, etc. While I don't encourage profligacy and this stingy culture is somewhat good, the massive reserves and low govt spendings should benefit more, via lower taxes (exempt food and medicine from GST, remove maid levy for working parents with small kids, for examples) or more spending on required infrastructure or education on locals. Can squeeze doesn't mean you should. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 But certainly all around us we see great wastage of spending, on many "beautification" projects that are neither requested nor truly must-have. Some examples are the grand buildings and facilities being constructed in our educational institutions, together with the latest electronic gadgets (these all really needed or will be wastage down the road?), the projects at nature reserves, e.g. bukit timah, and along canals (people like these natural surroundings to stay truly "natural", wouldn't they?), grand attractions like super-tree, super-wifi and whatnot. And around us we see a lot of wastage under guise of upgrading (really necessary??), e.g. replacement of void deck furniture that's still serviceable, re-painting blocks that are still in pretty good shape, etc. If they really cut down on all the waste, then there'll be enough left for the really important things. Like free education. In functional schools, and no need the fancy gadgets and trimmings. Don't forget the $300M simi children games and $4Bn underwater carpark. Replacing serviceable benches are not even small change in compraison. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 MIW is known for fiscal prudence, it runs a super tight ship as the budget excludes all revenue from land sales (which is replenished every 30, 60 or 99 years) and investment income from past reserves, I think. We have been living in unnecessary austerity for too many years, too few hospital beds, too few rail lines, too few buses, etc. While I don't encourage profligacy and this stingy culture is somewhat good, the massive reserves and low govt spendings should benefit more, via lower taxes (exempt food and medicine from GST, remove maid levy for working parents with small kids, for examples) or more spending on required infrastructure or education on locals. Can squeeze doesn't mean you should. I think money for SERS is also not part of the budget Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 *put two cherries* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 I think money for SERS is also not part of the budget Maybe but they then build new flats/EC on vacated land and sell them at subsidised prices, I bet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 SERS is bao earn one. Imagine a big plot of land with low-rise flats, they moved them all to new smaller plot of land with higher density. How can this not make $$$$ Then, the old plot sold at sky high price. If never make $$$$ means something is wrong de. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 SERS is bao earn one. Imagine a big plot of land with low-rise flats, they moved them all to new smaller plot of land with higher density. How can this not make $$$$ Then, the old plot sold at sky high price. If never make $$$$ means something is wrong de. That is not true, after mark to Raffles Place land price, lose until lao sai.... LOL.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged June 22, 2014 Share June 22, 2014 The fact that Lien Foundation still stands today speaks volumes. Anyway, why would free education not result in equal opportunities? If we look at free education and ensuring that everyone will be given an equal opportunity to step into the working world with a degree in hand, aren't we granting equal opportunities to all? I think the Scandinavian and Denmark's model of education is much better than ours. Govt Concerned kena burden w too high cost. First, medishield life now free education. Who's gonna pay the teachers, principals, om, lecturer, professors $$$? Later in another speech will tell u projected national budget eat into reserves due to all these welfare over years n end up like many 1st world angmo countries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged June 22, 2014 Share June 22, 2014 Frankly speaking, our education is almost free.. Basic fees less than $10/mth for JC, even cheaper for Secondary and Pri school. Only thing is the misc fees, which is around S$10+.. Might as well make it totally free.. Only gist is, why can't they do it for poly and uni too? And limited to citizens nia. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic101 6th Gear June 22, 2014 Share June 22, 2014 But certainly all around us we see great wastage of spending, on many "beautification" projects that are neither requested nor truly must-have. Some examples are the grand buildings and facilities being constructed in our educational institutions, together with the latest electronic gadgets (these all really needed or will be wastage down the road?), the projects at nature reserves, e.g. bukit timah, and along canals (people like these natural surroundings to stay truly "natural", wouldn't they?), grand attractions like super-tree, super-wifi and whatnot. And around us we see a lot of wastage under guise of upgrading (really necessary??), e.g. replacement of void deck furniture that's still serviceable, re-painting blocks that are still in pretty good shape, etc. If they really cut down on all the waste, then there'll be enough left for the really important things. Like free education. In functional schools, and no need the fancy gadgets and trimmings. And not forgetting the Audi and Merces etc for army generals and spf comm who are already paid very high salary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 22, 2014 Share June 22, 2014 Frankly speaking, our education is almost free.. Basic fees less than $10/mth for JC, even cheaper for Secondary and Pri school. Only thing is the misc fees, which is around S$10+.. Might as well make it totally free.. Only gist is, why can't they do it for poly and uni too? And limited to citizens nia. Our gahmen mental model is "If it is free, people will over consume." Perhaps it is reflected in the behavior of some of them ( "free" toothpicks in restuarantm they start to "ta bao" the toothpicks). So if Uni & Poly free, they are afraid people go poly then Uni or the other way round, just study study and not working! Or worse, keep repeating same level! Medical care/medicine also same. perhaps there can be a compromise like first 3 years free. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged June 22, 2014 Share June 22, 2014 (edited) Our gahmen mental model is "If it is free, people will over consume." Perhaps it is reflected in the behavior of some of them ( "free" toothpicks in restuarantm they start to "ta bao" the toothpicks). So if Uni & Poly free, they are afraid people go poly then Uni or the other way round, just study study and not working! Or worse, keep repeating same level! Medical care/medicine also same. perhaps there can be a compromise like first 3 years free. The infamous demo on maximising enjoyment of free takeaway ie toothpicks free gift shows they preach one thing ( not to take advantage of freebies) but doing the opposite!! Edited June 22, 2014 by Super7 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 23, 2014 Share June 23, 2014 Frankly speaking, our education is almost free.. Basic fees less than $10/mth for JC, even cheaper for Secondary and Pri school. Only thing is the misc fees, which is around S$10+.. Might as well make it totally free.. Only gist is, why can't they do it for poly and uni too? And limited to citizens nia. Of course it can be done for tertiary level... but to avoid wastage and abuse of system, there has to be strict standards in place, both for entry and also for passing, and no chance of repeating. How? Western countries can accept a certain failure rate because there are other streams and avenues for career if one is not so academically inclined. In fact, you'll notice that in countries with free tertiary education, e.g. germany, not everybody goes for it. Why? Maybe entry is restricted, or not everyone likes to study. I think it's more because they have more choices for career/life success, e.g. somebody who likes hands-on work can freely choose to take up vocational education without losing out too much in the $ stakes with his peers who opt for university education. Thus university education can be free of charge without fear of being swamped by KS people. But our system cannot accept this yet, so... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 23, 2014 Share June 23, 2014 Of course it can be done for tertiary level... but to avoid wastage and abuse of system, there has to be strict standards in place, both for entry and also for passing, and no chance of repeating. How? Western countries can accept a certain failure rate because there are other streams and avenues for career if one is not so academically inclined. In fact, you'll notice that in countries with free tertiary education, e.g. germany, not everybody goes for it. Why? Maybe entry is restricted, or not everyone likes to study. I think it's more because they have more choices for career/life success, e.g. somebody who likes hands-on work can freely choose to take up vocational education without losing out too much in the $ stakes with his peers who opt for university education. Thus university education can be free of charge without fear of being swamped by KS people. But our system cannot accept this yet, so... cannot remember liao.. I talked to a german friend. I think the blue collar jobs have vocational training and OJT and strong unions and the pay is not low compared with Degree holders. education is free for both vocational and tertiary levels but blue collar OJT gets paid. blue collar job is harder to train for because of the many years from apprentice to master craftsman. and not many want to choose this because there is no job flexibility. once in, hard to change line and hard to progress. the opportunity cost is high. degree more flexible in career options but less job security, you don't earn a whole lot more, and not many jobs for degree holders really. the vocational jobs are very knowledgeable and well trained. I suppose a degree (like in sciences, law, accounting, computing etc) more for the cognitive edge. but that's another story. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 23, 2014 Share June 23, 2014 cannot remember liao.. I talked to a german friend. I think the blue collar jobs have vocational training and OJT and strong unions and the pay is not low compared with Degree holders. education is free for both vocational and tertiary levels but blue collar OJT gets paid. blue collar job is harder to train for because of the many years from apprentice to master craftsman. and not many want to choose this because there is no job flexibility. once in, hard to change line and hard to progress. the opportunity cost is high. degree more flexible in career options but less job security, you don't earn a whole lot more, and not many jobs for degree holders really. the vocational jobs are very knowledgeable and well trained. I suppose a degree (like in sciences, law, accounting, computing etc) more for the cognitive edge. but that's another story. Good points you make regarding the "craftsman" thing. Even if a skill is well-paid, there's really a price to pay as well, as in, very hard to switch careers later on. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 23, 2014 Share June 23, 2014 Good points you make regarding the "craftsman" thing. Even if a skill is well-paid, there's really a price to pay as well, as in, very hard to switch careers later on. I remember asking my friend also if can mix trade.. like I do carpenter and electrician together? he said something like take too long and cannot apprentice 2 trades and so on... he degree one so not very sure on this. and union can only join one trade. haiz... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear June 23, 2014 Share June 23, 2014 i normally try to stay on topic and not make off-tangent remarks, because it makes the discussion very meaningless. just like how any serious discussion on government policy can end with minister pay and then the conversation can't carry on. today, i won't even try. just let the picture speak for itself. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 23, 2014 Share June 23, 2014 Free education? Later someone come out to say we are raiding national reserve again. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...