Angcheek Hypersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 As I mentioned the Banks (there only 3 of them allowing opening of SRS accounts and they are in cahoots) Current SSB tranche pays 2.18 % average if you hold to 10 years, shorter perioid might be only 1.95% which is still not bad Whenever the 3 Banks offer any FD promo they will always put an exclusion that SRS funds are not entitled for the promo rates, only their regular rates which are pathethic Hence if you dont want to dabble in stocks then the SSB Bonds provide quite a relief to otherwise pathetic savings account interest Also SSB minimum is only 2K Of course CPF will give you minimum 3.5% upto 5%, depending how you juggle and apportion the funds Choice is yours If you still not happy with interest rates come to BanKCoe 10% ; interest guaranteed on SGD....... principal ...... ahem ..... alamak I read as have simple wife BankCoe give 10% ayam ? ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 (edited) U mean hitting the 22% bracket ? that is very high salary liao lor .... I think 15.3K is peanut to them . Anyway , talk about Income tax , I noticed in 2018 my income tax increased quite alot although my salary only up by 3% . ehammm, that means someone must be 160k and above type, the tax rate for this bracket and above increased by 1%. plus if your 3% increment pushes you into the next higher bracket, then you got to pay even more. This is a good problem. and for those 320k and above , the monthly tax installment around 4k, can be painful for them. Edited February 14, 2019 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 Just put it all in gold. All currencies will be decimated by inflation and competitive devaluation. All countries want to have a competitive advantage and the easiest way is to devalue the currency. So only gold will be a hedge against inflation and devaluation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 I forgot to add Only gold will be as good as gold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 Just put it all in gold. All currencies will be decimated by inflation and competitive devaluation. All countries want to have a competitive advantage and the easiest way is to devalue the currency. So only gold will be a hedge against inflation and devaluation. Gold price shot up already ? Gold has weird movement ... sometimes it doesnt follow the economic rules. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 U mean hitting the 22% bracket ? that is very high salary liao lor .... I think 15.3K is peanut to them . Anyway , talk about Income tax , I noticed in 2018 my income tax increased quite alot although my salary only up by 3% . wah... u win liao lor 2018 bonus gao gao.... 18 months bonus si bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 Gold price shot up already ? Gold has weird movement ... sometimes it doesnt follow the economic rules. Gold trades inversely to the US$. $ goes up gold comes down. and the worse the economy the better gold does. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 wah... u win liao lor 2018 bonus gao gao.... 18 months bonus si bo? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic February 14, 2019 Share February 14, 2019 Gold trades inversely to the US$. $ goes up gold comes down. and the worse the economy the better gold does. Thats the normal character . But in some years , it goes inline with US$ ... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged March 1, 2019 Share March 1, 2019 I investing in UOB income focus trust and JP Morgan equity. I get about $350 monthly in dividends. I don't believe in rollovers hahaha but topping up as I have the money for it. I hope to hit $500 monthly before I decide if I can change cars. Right now I am investing whatever I have put aside for a new car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic April 7, 2019 Share April 7, 2019 I investing in UOB income focus trust and JP Morgan equity. I get about $350 monthly in dividends. I don't believe in rollovers hahaha but topping up as I have the money for it. I hope to hit $500 monthly before I decide if I can change cars. Right now I am investing whatever I have put aside for a new car. Using ur srs ? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 7, 2019 Share April 7, 2019 (edited) Using ur srs ?Unit trusts can lah , Gold ( or precious metals) not sure as what @jamesc said can or not but gold lost its lustre more 7 years ago when its peak was like usd1600 now having difficulty already at usd1300 level , a lot of people burnt their hands back then ( though USD was like all time low of 1.25 against sgd as opposed to current 1.35 ) Also gold you cannot get monthly or yearly dividends or interest unlike shares / unit trusts / bonds though it’s always good to keep a % in precious metals Edited April 7, 2019 by BanCoe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 7, 2019 Share April 7, 2019 Unit trusts are very good. For the bank and the funds managers selling it to you. Every year take 1.5% from you whether or not they make or lose your money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic April 7, 2019 Share April 7, 2019 Unit trusts can lah , Gold ( or precious metals) not sure as what @jamesc said can or not but gold lost its lustre more 7 years ago when its peak was like usd1600 now having difficulty already at usd1300 level , a lot of people burnt their hands back then ( though USD was like all time low of 1.25 against sgd as opposed to current 1.35 ) Also gold you cannot get monthly or yearly dividends or interest unlike shares / unit trusts / bonds though itâs always good to keep a % in precious metalsI know UT n some Stocks can ... just not sure whether can earn or not over 10 yrs ... from what i know those using cpf to invest in UT , most lost money . 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged April 7, 2019 Share April 7, 2019 (edited) Unit trusts are very good. For the bank and the funds managers selling it to you. Every year take 1.5% from you whether or not they make or lose your money. This one not bad and compared to 4% annual interest. All over ten years. https://www.dollardex.com/sgn/?current=investUTgraph/home&previous=investUTgraph/homelanding&nodelevel=child Oops didn't show. Edited April 7, 2019 by Neutrino Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged April 7, 2019 Share April 7, 2019 (edited) Using ur srs ?Cash. So my dividends are in cash also. Not sure it's unit trusts. It's more like a fund. Uob income focus trust and JPMORGAN fund. Something like that. Edited April 7, 2019 by Philipkee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 7, 2019 Share April 7, 2019 I know UT n some Stocks can ... just not sure whether can earn or not over 10 yrs ... from what i know those using cpf to invest in UT , most lost money . ð so ot sure UOB got BS or not when they told me ave 5% ... ð Ya .. like Temesak ma ... doesnt matter earn or lose , all still get paid thick thick ð They get very high commissions of around 2.5-4% depending on relationships and all this 4-5% might be true but you also have to see what is the fund price over the years historically as they always never seem to go up after buying ( maybe it’s just my bad luck ) 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 7, 2019 Share April 7, 2019 Unit trusts can lah , Gold ( or precious metals) not sure as what @jamesc said can or not but gold lost its lustre more 7 years ago when its peak was like usd1600 now having difficulty already at usd1300 level , a lot of people burnt their hands back then ( though USD was like all time low of 1.25 against sgd as opposed to current 1.35 ) Also gold you cannot get monthly or yearly dividends or interest unlike shares / unit trusts / bonds though it’s always good to keep a % in precious metals Jamesc says put all your money in banks. Not current n savings account but buy bank shares. Just wait for next stock market crash before going in. Stock markets will always crash every 10 to 12 years. Last one was 2009 so next one will be between 2019 and 2021. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...