Vulcann 6th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 8 town councils to increase service & conservancy charges Eight town councils will increase their service and conservancy charges from April 1. The town councils are Ang Mo Kio, Jurong, Marine Parade, Moulmein-Kallang, Nee Soon, Pasir Ris-Punggol, Potong Pasir and Sembawang. File photo: Blocks of HDB flats in a neighbourhood. By Dylan Loh POSTED: 27 Feb 2014 17:15 SINGAPORE: Eight town councils will increase their service and conservancy charges (S&CC) for flats, shops/offices and market/cooked food stalls, with effect from 1 April. They are Ang Mo Kio, Jurong, Marine Parade, Moulmein-Kallang, Nee Soon, Pasir Ris-Punggol, Potong Pasir and Sembawang town councils. Sembawang Town Council, which announced the increase in a statement, cited rising costs and inflation as reasons for the revision. It said: "In order to keep S&CC charges as affordable as possible for residents, the town councils have been making a conscious effort to control costs to avoid increasing the S&CC rates, despite rising inflation every year. "The town councils have succeeded in resisting S&CC increases for the last 10 years, even when the inflation rate hit a high of 6.6 per cent in 2008. "However, with current cost increases, it is becoming increasingly difficult to continue operations at current S&CC rates, with several town councils running into operating deficits." The statement cited electricity as one of the biggest contributors to cost increases for the town councils. Maintenance costs have also gone up, due to most towns having successfully undergone the Lift Upgrading Programme. The S&CC increase will be phased over two years. The first-tier increase on 1 April this year ranges from S$0.50 per month for those living in HDB's one-room flats to S$8.50 per month for executive flat home owners. Commercial property owners and tenants will see an increase ranging from S$0.10 to S$0.21 per psm/month while the increase for most cooked food stalls is between S$9.90 and S$15.83 per month. The second-tier adjustment will be effected on 1 April 2015. The S&CC increase will range from S$0.50 for HDB's one-room to S$6.50 per month for executive flat home owners, depending on the type of flat. Commercial property owners and tenants will see an increase ranging from S$0.07 to S$0.11 per psm/month while the increase for most cooked food stalls is between S$9.50 and S$12.00 per month. According to the statement, the last S&CC revision by the majority of these town councils was 10 years ago, in 2004. The last time there was an S&CC revision was in September 2012, when seven town councils -- Bishan-Toa Payoh, Chua Chu Kang, East Coast, Holland-Bukit Panjang, Tanjong Pagar, Tampines and West Coast -- raised their charges. - CNA/xq (source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/8-town-councils-to/1014402.html ) ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 lai liao lor...already knew they preparing the senior citizen package, the $$ sure have to come back from somewhere... 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 2-tier increase somemore ... this year and next year 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Heng my side dun have Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 HDB season parking also very long never increase liao hor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Wow, just last week announced goodies leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 HDB season parking also very long never increase liao hor. Choy! Choy! Choy! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 (edited) Heng my side dun have KNN my side got highest votes for PAP yet they keep on increasing fees but not facilities , no MRTs stations, ulu ulu .... opposition walks got MRTs , no increase of fees . You say what should we do ? Edited February 27, 2014 by Jasonjst Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Another ammo for the opposition to fire for the next rally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 27, 2014 Author Share February 27, 2014 KNN my side got highest votes for PAP yet they keep on increasing fees but not facilities , no MRTs stations, ulu ulu .... opposition walks got MRTs , no increase of fees . You say what should we do ? Continue to vote for More Good Years? Heng my side dun have Not yet bro. Not yet 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Coe up, inflation up, conservancy also up, liquor tax, smlj also up. come 2016, pappy also up 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Coe up, inflation up, conservancy also up, liquor tax, smlj also up. come 2016, pappy also up lorry Continue from where you left off... The last word... Hehehe... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Maybe its also to help soften coe from 2015 ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Don't worry, April Fool's joke only. KNN my side got highest votes for PAP yet they keep on increasing fees but not facilities , no MRTs stations, ulu ulu .... opposition walks got MRTs , no increase of fees . You say what should we do ? Err . . . move house? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Already one minster of state hinting increase GST. In today's Zaobao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 KNN my side got highest votes for PAP yet they keep on increasing fees but not facilities , no MRTs stations, ulu ulu .... opposition walks got MRTs , no increase of fees . You say what should we do ? Highest mean you all are very supportive, must show good example to the rest that you all are willing to pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Heng my side dun have You no need to worry. They will come after you soon KNN my side got highest votes for PAP yet they keep on increasing fees but not facilities , no MRTs stations, ulu ulu .... opposition walks got MRTs , no increase of fees . You say what should we do ? That is the problem. They got a good percentage of buffers. Lose another few percent of voters also no scare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Wtf is this man, they just increase not long ago leh! My place from 65 to 69, not a lot of money but it's getting dirtier than ever...... Charges almost on par for those that own cars compare to staying at condo. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...